things that Kitty likes

Milani Neon Swatches

Let me start off by saying that neon shades aren’t ones that I rush out to try when I see them in retail or drugstores. With that said, I had the opportunity to try some neon shades from Milani. As far as I know, Milani’s Neon line is part of their core collection. I have spotted it often at CVS, but I always went to ooh and ahh at the 3D Holographic shades and paid no attention to the neons. But after trying these out, I’m beginning to develop a soft spot for neons.

First up is Totally 80’s. The name says it all. Very vibrant and bright, this shade reminds me of a yellow highlighter that have been slightly used over time. Fresh yellow highlighter is very bright and blinding, but after some use the brightness is cut slightly and continues on over time. That is what this shade reminds me of, which is not a bad thing. What I think of neon yellow is just so blinding and annoying that I don’t think I’d want that as a nail polish shade. This neon yellow shows a good balance in terms of brightness. 🙂 Shown in 2 thin coats with no top coat.

Milani Neon Totally 80's

Milani Neon Totally 80's (in shade)

Milani Neon Totally 80's (direct sunlight)

Milani Neon Totally 80's (close-up)

Next, we have Awesome Orange. This is a bright orange jelly shade. It actually made me think of my little brother, as orange is one of his favorite colors. Shown is 2 thin coats with no top coat.

Milani Neon Awesome Orange

Milani Neon Awesome Orange (in shade)

Milani Neon Awesome Orange (direct sunlight)

Milani Neon Awesome Orange (close-up)

Milani Neon Awesome Orange (truer color)

Now we have my all time favorite color, red! I love reds of all kind and this is no exception. This one’s called Techno Red. This is an orangey red that is bold and bright. Shown is 2 thin coats with no top coat.

Milani Neon Techno Red

Milani Neon Techno Red (in shade)

Milani Neon Techno Red (direct sunlight)

Milani Neon Techno Red (close-up)

Milani Neon Techno Red (truer color)

Next up is a very pretty pink. How can you not think of pink when you mention neons? This one’s called Pink Rocks! and it’s very true! Pink has always been associated with being a female color. Light, subtle pinks echoes gentleness and femininity while bright, bold pinks scream girl power. Shown is 2 thin coats with no top coat.

Milani Neon Pink Rocks!

Milani Neon Pink Rocks! (in shade)

Milani Neon Pink Rocks! (direct sunlight)

Milani Neon Pink Rocks! (close-up)

The next shade we have doesn’t really make me think of neon colors. I guess I’m not used to thinking that there could be a neon purple, but here it is! This one’s called Rad Purple. The shade when applied on the nail is quite different from what the bottle color looks like. Shown is 2 thin coats with no top coat.

Milani Neon Rad Purple

Milani Neon Rad Purple (in shade)

Milani Neon Rad Purple (direct sunlight)

Milani Neon Rad Purple (close-up)

The next shade I have is called Dude Blue. The name made me smile as people do say “Dude” a lot back then. I thought the name of this shade was quite quirky and clever. This shade is a bit brighter than what it makes you think when looking at the bottle. Formula for this one is creamy and thicker compared with the ones featured above. Shown is 2 coats with no top coat.

Milani Neon Dude Blue

Milani Neon Dude Blue (in shade)

Milani Neon Dude Blue (direct sunlight)

Milani Neon Dude Blue (close-up)

Last but not the least is the green one in this collection, Fresh Teal. This does not reflect what I think of when someone mentions neon green. Neon green, to me, is a blinding green. Kind of like what I think of what neon yellow is. This one is a much muted and dusty version of that. This shade is pretty opaque and the formula for this one is smooth and creamy, just like Dude Blue. Shown is 2 thin coats with no top coat.

Milani Neon Fresh Teal

Milani Neon Fresh Teal (in shade)

Milani Neon Fresh Teal (direct sunlight)

Milani Neon Fresh Teal (close-up)

All in all, a great collection offered by Milani. I am missing 1 shade from the whole Neon line, a bright pink one, so I’ll have to look which one that is and hopefully feature it later on. The formula for these run on the thin side, which can make application slightly streaky, except for the last 2 shades. Those 2 were just a dream to apply on. The formula for those is buttery smooth. The bottles are fun and bright. Take note though that some shades are not what they seem by the bottle color. With the exception of the last 2 shades, all needed another thin coat or so (or apply thicker coats) for it to be opaque on the nail. I prefer applying thin coats, since it dries faster.

You can find Milani’s Neon shades in various retail and drugstores such as ULTA, CVS, Walgreens, and Rite Aid. There are several places to get them online as well. So what do you think? Which neon shade can you see yourself sporting on your nails?

*Products in this review have been provided by the PR company or manufacturer for an honest opinion.*

9 responses

  1. Wow, I’m stunned at how warm that purple is once you apply it! They’re gorgeous, though… I’m really dying to try some of those shades! I love Milani polishes!

    November 18, 2010 at 12:14 AM

    • I love them too! They all applied nicely but the blue and green applied so creamy like spreading perfect butter!

      November 18, 2010 at 12:55 PM

  2. im not a big fan of neon polish but i love thos color…specially the green one..

    November 18, 2010 at 6:27 AM

    • I wasn’t a big fan of neon too until I tried these. WOW! They aren’t highlighter neon bright but they’re bright enough to be called neons!

      November 18, 2010 at 12:54 PM

  3. Rad Purple is one of my favorites. I really don’t like opaque bottles like these–wish companies would stop doing that.

    November 18, 2010 at 7:31 AM

    • The opaque bottles are sometimes misleading. It doesn’t exempt the non-opaque ones though….we know of ltos of shades that look different on the nail than on the bottle for those!

      November 18, 2010 at 12:53 PM

  4. Pingback: Polish Project #3

  5. Pingback: Finger Paints Palette Of Petals Swatches | kittypolishnbags

  6. Pingback: Finger Paints Palette Of Petals Swatches | kittypolishnbags

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.