things that Kitty likes

Milani Color Statement Lipstick Naturals & Browns

Hey guys! This is the last set of shades I have for review. I actually ended up liking this set the most (as do my man’s dog!) cause there are a few that are quite flattering against my skin tone when I thought none would work on me. Read on for my review and swatches on the Milani Color Statement Lipstick Natural & Brown shades.

Milani Color Statement Lipstick Naturals & Browns

Milani Color Statement Lipstick Naturals & Browns (direct sunlight)

These are described as:

  • One stroke, full coverage application
  • Lightweight, creamy formula
  • Contains Vitamins A, C & E to moisturize lips

The formula for these is very smooth and creamy. These are very well pigmented with a super opaque payoff and not waxy at all. With my last review on the Plums & Berries feeling like the formula isn’t as creamy, this is not the case with these shades. The shades are quite surprisingly complementary to my skin tone. My man like this group the most on me I think. The darker shades will be harder for me to wear but there are only 2 of those that fall in that bucket for me. With these, there is no flaking or cracking that I get with some other lipsticks I’ve tried in the past. The finish for these shades vary from cream to pearl to metallic and shimmer. For a match up on what type of finish each shade is, see my press release post on this here. All 9 shades are perfect for day or night. Staying power is very impressive as usual. There is barely any wear at all throughout the day except for times when I have to consume food or take a drink. Swatches shown below are in ascending numeric order of the shades available in the naturals & browns category. For each shade, I applied 2 slow strokes onto my arm since one stroke was barely visible for the first shade. For the middle shade, Candied Toffees, I had to use a lip brush to apply the color onto my arm. There’s a funny story to it actually. 🙂

Milani Color Statement Lipstick Naturals & Browns Swatches (in shade)

Milani Color Statement Lipstick Naturals & Browns Swatches (direct sunlight)

Milani Color Statement Lipstick Naturals & Browns Swatches (even brighter)

Milani Color Statement Lipstick Naturals & Browns Swatches (with flash)

And here’s a few shots of what happened to the shade Candied Toffees when I got home one day….

Milani Color Statement Lipstick Candied Toffees R.I.P.

Milani Color Statement Lipstick Candied Toffees R.I.P. (cap off)

The cap off shot is what greeted me first. He managed to chew the cap and dislodge it. I assumed he detected the same smell he sniffed before that was on my lips and thought “Hmmm…..this smells good like food and I’ve detected this scent on her mouth before!” 🙂 My man has told me before it smells like strawberries or something like it and I don’t doubt that his dog thought so too! The only thing I ended up doing is facing the dog wailing “Why?! Why this shade? It looks good on me! Why not this or this?!” See? Even dogs love them too! But in all seriousness, best to keep them out of reach from our furry friends! He attempted to chew through several tubes in this group before emerging successful with Candied Toffees.

These retail for $5.49 each and should now be available in retail stores where Milani is sold. Otherwise, try nabbing it online on their website.

*Products in this review have been provided by the PR company or manufacturer for an honest opinion.*

6 responses

  1. Pingback: Milani Color Statement Lipstick & Color Statement Lipliner | kittypolishnbags

  2. Sweet blog! I found it while searching on Yahoo News.
    Do you have any tips on how to get listed in Yahoo News?
    I’ve been trying for a while but I never seem to get there! Thanks

    April 4, 2013 at 8:21 PM

    • Not sure how it got there, but thanks for letting me know! 🙂

      April 12, 2013 at 5:17 PM

  3. Cindi

    Ooh those are all pretty! I really like 1st, 6th, and 7th ones on your arm.

    April 4, 2013 at 9:13 PM

    • 6th and 7th ones are gorgeous copper and gold shades. My man suprisingly don’t mind me sporting those colors!

      April 5, 2013 at 10:16 AM

  4. Pingback: Milani Brilliant Shine Lip Gloss | kittypolishnbags

Leave a Reply

