things that Kitty likes

Del Sol Ruby Slipper

Okay, so today I have a great polish for you guys. This is one of the “unique” ones in my collection. Oh you just wait, you’ll see why.  This very special beauty from Del Sol is called Ruby Slipper.

Del Sol Ruby Slipper

Isn’t that pretty? Well, that’s what it looks like outdoors under sunlight. I know, I’m being cryptic here. “Del Sol – Where Everything Changes Color In The Sun!” Does that make it all clear now? 🙂 This is a color-changing nail polish! But not really like those mood ones where it changes color by temperature. This one changes color when exposed to sunlight. And the color-changing effect can range from slight to really obvious. This one looks even better in person! The red jelly-like base holds fine silver glitter. The formula is a dream to work with and removal is easy for a glitter shade. Shown here is 3 thin coats with no top coat.

Del Sol Ruby Slipper (in shade)

Del Sol Ruby Slipper (direct sunlight)

Del Sol Ruby Slipper (another angle)

Del Sol Ruby Slipper (close-up)

Del Sol Ruby Slipper (under sunlight again)

So what is the indoor color of this shade?

Del Sol Ruby Slipper (indoor color)

Del Sol Ruby Slipper (with flash)

What a difference, huh? 🙂 I can’t stop grinning when I wear this shade. It just makes me smile both inside and out. If you are lucky enough to live close by one of their stores, stop by and try out one of their shades. If you aren’t one of the lucky ones, you can still get them from their website. Free shipping on orders over $50 and they offer more than just nail polishes. Check out their clearance section too – there are tons of goodies nicely priced right now! You can even view the color difference in their products with and without sun. With that, I leave you with this one last shot.

Del Sol Ruby Slipper (last shot)

What do you think of this type of color-changing polish? It’s pretty both with or without sun!

*Products in this review have been provided by the PR company or manufacturer for an honest opinion.*

8 responses

  1. So cool! I like how it’s completely different, not just a tonal change.

    January 20, 2011 at 8:23 PM

    • Yup! The lacquer in the entire bottle changes color!

      January 21, 2011 at 10:33 AM

  2. Judie Schill

    great color choices! love the ruby red!!

    January 21, 2011 at 4:29 PM

    • I love it too! It’s one of my favorite polishes of all time!

      January 21, 2011 at 5:01 PM

  3. I have this polish in Calypso that I bought several years ago in Mexico….AND it still works!

    January 25, 2011 at 11:35 PM

  4. OH, and someone did a YT video that they sell these at Walgreens now. 3 for $10 or $3.99ea. I paid $15 for mine.

    January 25, 2011 at 11:36 PM

    • $3 for $10? Shoot! I’ve never seen it at my Walgreens!

      January 26, 2011 at 9:40 AM

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.