things that Kitty likes

Zoya Sunshine Swatches

I’ve already reviewed one of Zoya’s summer collection for this year a few days ago, Summertime. I actually prefer this set I’m featuring in this entry over that one. Most of you probably have seen swatches of these already, but I haven’t had a chance to get my hands on them until a few weeks ago. In the order of the press release picture, here are the swatches from their Sunshine Collection.

First up is Reva.

Zoya Reva

Reva is my favorite shade in this set. It’s a very pretty, sparkly red that one can wear all year round. It is described on their website as “a cool toned strawberry red with glowing golden metallic sparkle” and it’s “a very rich and luxurious looking gilded red.” The gold sparkle makes works really well with the base. It went smoothly onto my nails during application. Shown is 2 thin coats with no top coat.

Zoya Reva (in shade)

Zoya Reva (lighting changed)

Zoya Reva (direct sunlight)

Zoya Reva (close-up)

Next is a shade called Kimmy.

Zoya Kimmy

Kimmy was the one I thought would be my favorite based on others’ swatches. The description of this shade on their website of “gleaming metallic candy apple red brightened by gold sparkle. Not your usual red shimmer – this one has a fiery attitude.” is pretty spot on! Just like Reva, the gold sparkle is amazing with the base color of this shade. Formula was pleasant for this shade. Shown is 2 thin coats with no top coat.

Zoya Kimmy (in shade)

Zoya Kimmy (direct sunlight)

Zoya Kimmy (close-up)

Next is one with a unique name, Tanzy.

Zoya Tanzy

Tanzy is the one I liked the least in this set. It’s still a very pretty orange that’s perfect for summer. Orange just doesn’t rank too high on my color preference list, but this is one beautiful orange. This shade is described on their website as “light, bright tangerine orange with yellow gold metallic sparkle” and “a sunny orange that’s easy to wear year-round.” The sparkle in this one makes it shine even more on my nails. This shade gave me no problems at all during application. Shown is 2 thin coats with no top coat.

Zoya Tanzy (in shade)

Zoya Tanzy (direct sunlight)

Zoya Tanzy (close-up)

The green one in this bunch is aptly called Apple.

Zoya Apple

I was really excited about this shade. It looked awesome in the press release and it did NOT disappoint in person. This one’s described as “luminous yellow-toned apple green packed with gold metallic sparkle” and “a dimensional green that’s clean and bright.” The gold sparkle in this makes this shade simply stunning. I encountered no problems at all during application. Shown is 2 thin coats with no top coat.

Zoya Apple (in shade)

Zoya Apple (lighting changed)

Zoya Apple (direct sunlight)

Zoya Apple (close-up)

Zoya Apple (look at that shimmer!)

Almost to the last one, here’s Rica.

Zoya Rica

Rica is described as a “warm light coral with pink and orange tones and heavy gold metallic sparkle.” It is also described as “an alternative to flat corals for when you want to shine.” I liked this shade more in the press release pictures. Application was smooth and easy with this one. Shown is 2 thin coats with no top coat.

Zoya Rica (in shade)

Zoya Rica (direct sunlight)

Zoya Rica (close-up)

Zoya Rica (lighting changed)

Zoya Rica (lighting changed again)

Last shade is called Faye.

Zoya Faye

Faye is one of my old co-workers’ name, so this one struck a chord with me. The memory tied to the name of this shade makes it stand out for me personally. It’s a pretty purples that’s described as “a bronzed mauve with purple and brown undertones flooded with bright gold sparkle.” It’s also described as “a unique gilded shade that will work in any season.” I actually think this description is pretty accurate. This one reminded me a lot of Dannii from the Intimate Collection, but I guarantee you they’re not that close at all to even think they might be dupes. Formula for this is nice and smooth. Shown is 2 thin coats with no top coat.

Zoya Faye (in shade)

Zoya Faye (in lighting changed)

Zoya Faye (direct sunlight)

Zoya Faye (close-up)

Since the other set is all cremes, this one’s all shimmer. The finish of all 6 shades are the same. I’d classify it as something like foil metallic. It reminds me a lot of some shades in a few of their earlier collections. Formula and drying time is consistent as well in this collection.

Which ones did you end up getting from this set? Are any of these worth enough for a second look maybe?

*Products in this review have been provided by the PR company or manufacturer for an honest opinion.*

16 responses

  1. Pingback: Zoya Sunshine & Summertime Collection « kittypolishnbags

  2. By far, this has been my favorite collection and colors by Zoya. 🙂 Man, are they hot on you, or what!! 😀

    July 5, 2011 at 4:12 PM

  3. I love Zoya Faye!

    July 5, 2011 at 9:41 PM

  4. beachgal

    This is a great collection from Zoya. Not a dog in the bunch! I just got it last week when I took advantage of the buy Zoya’s full Color-lock system for $48 and get to pick one of the 2 – 6 bottle summer collections for free! It was a 1 day offer from Zoya for the first day of summer! I am going to redo my toes when done computing here…but not idea which of these shades I will start with! Good shots – but sure you will agree this is hard to capture. They are all so pretty in person. Cannot wait for both collections from Zoya for fall – Smoke & Mirrors – Smoke is 6 creams – Mirrors is 6 with sparkle but more subtle sparkle than what they gave us here in this collection in your review above.

    July 6, 2011 at 11:05 AM

    • That’s a good deal! If I didn’t have the sets already, I would’ve taken advantage of that deal too! I can’t wait for their Fall sets too! Enjoy!

      July 6, 2011 at 11:25 PM

  5. I eventually got all of them except Kimmy–love the finish, love the colors, just couldn’t justify another red in my collection. Reva I bought by accident, I swear–but wore it as a pedi for weeks so guess that’s okay. 🙂

    July 6, 2011 at 4:00 PM

    • Good to hear about Reva! I love that shade! I must say though that there are lots of reds in this set!

      July 6, 2011 at 11:23 PM

  6. The Spy

    Wow what pretty swatches! I’m not sure which i like the best, hope your having fun abroad!

    July 6, 2011 at 11:46 PM

    • Thanks! They have a new collection too that’s coming out, so I’m excited about that one too!

      July 6, 2011 at 11:47 PM

  7. Pingback: OPI Miss Universe Swatches « kittypolishnbags

  8. Pingback: OPI Serena Williams Glam Slam! US Swatches « kittypolishnbags

  9. Pingback: Zoya Surf Swatches « kittypolishnbags

  10. Pingback: Zoya Awaken Swatches | kittypolishnbags

  11. Pingback: Zoya Surf Swatches | kittypolishnbags

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.