things that Kitty likes

Zoya Awaken Swatches

This past weekend has been reasonably warm that it got me going with some swatches. I’m busy catching up with the outstanding collections I have on hand and decided to start off with the Zoya Awaken Collection since I just got their other latest 2 collections in a few days ago. I’m showing them in the order of how much I like the shades.

First up is Rebel.

Zoya Rebel

I love this shade and the finish reminds me a bit of their Sunshine Collection from 3 years ago with the difference in the metallic sparkle being silver rather than gold. It isn’t that far off from 3 years ago’s Surf Collection now that I looked it up. It is described as “a full-coverage blue sky metallic with a silver shimmer”. Formula is quite good — it flows pretty nicely during application. Shown is 2 thicker coats with no top coat.

Zoya Rebel (in shade)

Zoya Rebel (direct sunlight)

Zoya Rebel (close-up)

Zoya Rebel (lighting changed)

Next up is Hudson.

Zoya Hudson

Hudson is the purple version of Rebel basically. It’s packed with the same shimmery goodness and bears the same finish. It is described as “a full-coverage, purple orchid metallic with a silver shimmer”. Formula is good to work with even though the first coat is on the sheer side. You can still see VNL with 2 generous coats with no top coat in the shots below.

Zoya Hudson (in shade)

Zoya Hudson (direct sunlight)

Zoya Hudson (close-up)

Zoya Hudson (lighting changed)

Then we have a shade that’s uniquely named Dillon.

Zoya Dillon

To me, this shade is uniquely named because I have never come across or heard of a Dillon in my life. It is described as “a full-coverage, green mint metallic with a silver shimmer”. Formula is on the sheer side as well and you can see slight VNL, but it doesn’t show up in the pictures below. Shown is 2 coats with no top coat.

Zoya Dillon (in shade)

Zoya Dillon (lighting changed)

Zoya Dillon (direct sunlight)

Zoya Dillon (close-up)

Then we have Brooklyn.

Zoya Brooklyn

I have a love-hate relationship with Brooklyn. I do love gold shades like this, but the finish just kills me. It’s on the metallic side and shows brush strokes easily. For some reason, shades that tend to show brush strokes easily tend to give me bubbles during application as well. It is described as “a full-coverage, white-gold shimmer metallic”. I didn’t find this shade as sheer as the others for the first coat. Shown is 2 coats with no top coat.

Zoya Brooklyn (in shade)

Zoya Brooklyn (direct sunlight)

Zoya Brooklyn (close-up)

Next up is Cole.

Zoya Cole

Cole is a peach crème that was originally released for NYFW as Stella for Peter Som’s SS14 Collection. It is described as “a full-coverage peach whisper cream “. Formula is also sheer, but it evened out eventually with more coats. Shown is 3 coats with no top coat.

Zoya Cole (in shade)

Zoya Cole (direct sunlight)

Zoya Cole (close-up)

Lastly, here’s Dot.

Zoya Dot

Dot is basically the same exact thing as Cole but pink. This is described as “a full-coverage pink petal cream”. It is also originally released for Zang Toi’s SS14 Collection. Formula is on the sheer side as well, but a bit thicker compared to all other 5 shades in this collection. Shown is 4 thin coats with no top coat.

Zoya Dot (in shade)

Zoya Dot (direct sunlight)

Zoya Dot (close-up)

All of the shades are on the sheer side with the first coat. Then all evened out with additional coats, so it’s not deal breaker for me. I didn’t feel wowed by the crème shades in this collection at all and the shimmer ones are on the tamer side for my liking. But that’s good for a spring collection really. It’s the summer collection that brings out brighter and bolder colors. Those that don’t care for the brighter and bolder shades for summer would love shades in this collection instead. I’d swatch these with Zoya Monet, but either my shipment didn’t come with one or it was left in the box when my now hubby unboxed it and off to trash it goes. That’s a pretty shade too. I’ll have to get that on my own later.

*Products in this review have been provided by the PR company or manufacturer for an honest opinion.*

Leave a Reply

