things that Kitty likes

OPI Miss Universe Swatches

I didn’t think much about this collection when I saw the press release, but I am pleased to say that for the most part some shades blew me out of the water. I thought to myself that this is just another collection with pretty much the same ‘ol stuff. One shade that stood out? Swimsuit…Nailed It! It’s possibly the most gorgeous blue I have ever seen. Without further ado, here are the 4 shades from the Miss Universe Collection from OPI.

First up is Congeniality Is My Middle Name.

OPI Congeniality Is My Middle Name

Congeniality Is My Middle Name is a shade with a name just a tad too long for my preference. It doesn’t take away from the beauty of this shade though. This berry-wine number packs in a lot of shimmer that it quite hard to capture with the camera, which is why I also included a shot taken with flash on. Formula was almost on the watery side. It applied smoothly onto my nails, but requires more coats as 2 thin ones were not enough for this beauty to show well enough in pictures. I retook photos that show 3 thin coats with no top coat.

OPI Congeniality Is My Middle Name (in shade)

OPI Congeniality Is My Middle Name (direct sunlight)

OPI Congeniality Is My Middle Name (close-up)

OPI Congeniality Is My Middle Name (with flash)

Next is a shade called It’s MY Year.

OPI It’s MY Year

This shade reminds me a lot of Zoya Faye. It looks kinda close to me, but not dupes at all. It’s MY Year is a very pretty rose-pink purple with gold foil shade. It’s pretty even though it’s not something new to me per se. Formula was good and it dries pretty fast. Shown is 2 thin coats with no top coat.

OPI It’s MY Year (in shade)

OPI It’s MY Year (lighting changed)

OPI It’s MY Year (direct sunlight)

OPI It’s MY Year (close-up)

OPI It’s MY Year (lighting changed again)

Next up is my favorite, a blue called Swimsuit…Nailed It!

OPI Swimsuit…Nailed It!

Oh. My. God. I die. This shade is absolutely stunning. This has to be the prettiest blue I have seen yet. And to think that this was the shade I dismissed most based on the press release! Wow…..that’s all I have to say. You can see the pictures for yourself. It speaks volumes. It tells all. Shown is 2 thin coats with no top coat.

OPI Swimsuit…Nailed It! (in shade)

OPI Swimsuit…Nailed It! (direct sunlight)

OPI Swimsuit…Nailed It! (close-up)

Last is another one I didn’t give much thought about, Crown Me Already!

OPI Swimsuit…Nailed It!

I’ll admit, I thought to myself that this is so much alike with OPI Servin’ Up Sparkle and wasn’t too thrilled to have this one in the set. It’s similar enough for most to justify owning only one of them, but I can see the difference enough for me to own both. Crown Me Already! is a very pretty glitter shade that I can easily use on its own and not just as a glitter top coat. That is one of the main difference I noticed between that and Servin’ Up Sparkle. To me, Crown Me Already! is more opaque and the other main difference is the glitter. The glitter in this shade is purely silver like the surface of a mirror. Shown is just one coat with no top coat.

OPI Crown Me Already! (in shade)

OPI Crown Me Already! (direct sunlight)

OPI Crown Me Already! (close-up)

These should be available in various retail stores nationwide such as ULTA and Trade Secret. Have you gotten any of these shades yet?

*Products in this review have been provided by the PR company or manufacturer for an honest opinion.*

14 responses

  1. beachgal

    Good shots. Not been a fan of this collection I have to say. I bought it from bottle shots only (graphic not photo) and ready to trade them ASAP. I did not get the silver topper as I felt OPI had silver glittered me out this year by this set. It’s My Year reminds me a lot of Rally Pink and a bit like Faye from Zoya – it has more lavender to it I guess – but it was nothing earth shattering. Thought of them all I would love Miss Congeniality as it’s got a touch of magenta and I love my reds, fuchsias and magentas. But this one just is a tish too dark to see into it. it had potential in the lab and they added a drop too much of something dark and it lost the oomph. I felt blued out so did not purchase swimsuit., though now I think it’ s probably the best in the group. But I have so many blues and like many on the blogs, I am not with the bulk of you all in a love for blues and greens first up in the color wheel for my polish favs. Thus I can turn my back on blues pretty easy if I have something similar as I know I won’t wear but maybe 1/8 of the bottle. I really thought it was funny this collection did not even come out for release until long after the Miss Univ. Padget was done with! I think this was a production OPI could have skipped. They have had a lot of releases with all the extra Grand Slam releases this year. I think it must be a $ thing for all these tie in’s that keep attracting OPI into collection releases beyond the norm for them. I would rather they play catch up to some of the things we know they can do with duochromes nd make us some great ones of those as well as some fab shimmers a la 2009 Merry Midnight. thanks for the photos and your work on this one.

    August 25, 2011 at 4:32 PM

    • Thanks for the comment! Glad to see that I’m not the only one who thought the blue was the best in the group. I dismissed it early on! I’m definitely waiting for a fab duochrome. I’m a sucker for glitters so the Holiday collection will be the next big one on my list.

      August 25, 2011 at 4:40 PM

  2. I went to Trade Secrets today and they didn’t have these yet. You did an excellent job of reviewing these. I don’t know yet if I’ll pick any of these up, though. Only because there are so many collections yet to come out that I want more.

    August 25, 2011 at 6:04 PM

    • If you like blues and have nothing close to Swimsuit…Nailed It!, it’s a must-have! I was even toying the idea of getting an extra one for when the one I got runs out. I have never fallen for a blue this hard. Thanks for the kind words! 🙂

      August 25, 2011 at 7:58 PM

  3. You’re right… It’s My Year looks like Faye or Rally Pretty Pink… only in Purple. 😀

    August 25, 2011 at 10:14 PM

  4. MissMidnightBlue

    I love my blue’s, but I want Its My Year.. Because I have nothing like it. 🙂

    August 25, 2011 at 10:49 PM

    • If you don’t have the other dupey-ish shades, I say go for it! I love OPIs formula!

      August 25, 2011 at 11:06 PM

  5. I was only able to find one of these and was so sad I missed out.. I am on the hunt for them. Your pictures make me want them even more, they look great!

    August 26, 2011 at 12:55 AM

    • Thank you girl! Do not lose hope! Let me know if you need me to look for you!

      August 26, 2011 at 9:23 AM

  6. Love them! Especially the Swimsuit one! And I think It’s my year is pretty unique!

    August 26, 2011 at 12:35 PM

  7. Great pictures!!
    I adore this collection, all of the shades are knockouts for me 🙂

    August 28, 2011 at 9:43 AM

    • Thank you for your nice words! I love the blue and the glitter one the most. Both surprised me a lot!

      August 28, 2011 at 11:45 AM

Leave a Reply

