things that Kitty likes

Zoya Surf Swatches

I loved this entire collection based on the press release and man…..it did not disappoint in person! Here are the swatches in the order listed in the press release.

First up is Carly.

Zoya Carly

Carly is described on their site as the following: “Very rich, bold, red-toned dark purple with iridescent red and silver metallic shimmer and a dense foil finish. The bold color and sparkling foil finish make Carly like gift wrap for your nails.” This shade went on very smoothly on my nails. It’s pretty opaque and dried really fast. Shown is one coat with no top coat.

Zoya Carly (in shade)

Zoya Carly (direct sunlight)

Zoya Carly (close-up)

Next is my favorite in this set, Kimber.

Zoya Kimber

Kimber is described on their site as the following: “Rich, bright and saturated medium magenta pink with strong gold metallic shimmer and a foil-like finish. A huge hit of color and a shot of shiny gold metal make this polish look electric.” This shade went on very smoothly on my nails as well. It’s very opaque and dried really fast. Shown is one coat with no top coat.

Zoya Kimber (in shade)

Zoya Kimber (direct sunlight)

Zoya Kimber (close-up)

Next up is a shade called Rory.

Zoya Rory

Rory is described on their site as the following: “Medium mauve pink with lilac tones, gold and silver reflective metallic shimmer accents, and a foil-like finish. The gentle color of this polish gives the foil finish a softened appearance.” Formula for this is beautiful. It’s very opaque as well and dried really fast. Shown is one coat with no top coat.

Zoya Rory (in shade)

Zoya Rory (direct sunlight)

Zoya Rory (close-up)

Then we have one that bears a unique name to me, Myrta.

Zoya Myrta

Myrta is described on their site as the following: “Warm medium orange coral with red undertone, gold and silver metallic shimmer, and a foil-like finish. The coral color of Myrta is soft, but the foil finish gives it added warmth and glow.” This shade is the least opaque in this set. It still applied nicely on my nails and dried really fast. Shown is 2 thin coats with no top coat.

Zoya Myrta (in shade)

Zoya Myrta (direct sunlight)

Zoya Myrta (close-up)

Moving on, we have Meg.

Zoya Meg

Meg is described on their site as the following: “Light yellow-toned mermaid green with heavy gold and silver metallic shimmer and a sparkling foil finish. A light and fresh looking green with added sparkle and shine.” This shade is not as opaque as the other shades in this set, but it’s not as sheer as Myrta. It’s a cross between the other shades and Myrta in terms of opacity. Formula is decent and it dried really fast. Shown is 2 thin coats with no top coat.

Zoya Meg (in shade)

Zoya Meg (direct sunlight)

Zoya Meg (close-up)

Lastly, we have Zuza.

Zoya Zuza

Zuza is described on their site as the following: “Deep, saturated, oceanic turquoise with gold and silver metallic shimmer and a foil-like finish. A beachy, colorful, foil-like shade with the perfect balance between blue and green.” This shade is simply stunning. Definitely one of my favorites in this collection. It is very opaque and dried really fast. Shown is one coat with no top coat.

Zoya Zuza (in shade)

Zoya Zuza (direct sunlight)

Zoya Zuza (close-up)

I loved their summer collections last year, especially the one with the same type of finish as these (Sunshine Collection). I described the shimmery finish as something of a foil metallic really. The one that surprised me the most is Zuza. So stunning and pigmented. But then again, they all are.

*Products in this review have been provided by the PR company or manufacturer for an honest opinion.*

7 responses

  1. beachgal12

    I am nuts for all of these but for Zuza and the first one here, Carly – both are similar to shades I have already and don’t wear because they make my hands look red. I know I am among the rare folks that are not nuts for Zuza…but I have this problem with a range of lighter turqs that just look horrible on me. Over all, I think Zoya hit it out of the park again this summer with their 2 collections.

    June 26, 2012 at 3:45 PM

    • I agree that they’ve done well with this! Some shades don’t go well with my skin tone, but they’re more of the nude or taupe ones. I got lucky with the turquoise ones.

      June 26, 2012 at 3:58 PM

    • You’re not alone, Beachgal. I find it super pretty but I don’t think Zuza would be flattering on my hands either. They’d get red and thick looking with Zuza on.

      June 26, 2012 at 4:04 PM

  2. Your swatches are always so true to color and full of reality – (I can judge it by Rory that I have). You = mega trustable blogger. You don’t imagine the number of times you’ve been a silent help. ❤

    (I want Kimber!)

    June 26, 2012 at 3:46 PM

    • Thank you so, so much for your sweet words Nat! I continue to blog for readers and friends like you! ♥

      June 26, 2012 at 3:57 PM

  3. Pingback: Lakme Tarun Tahiliani 20 « kittypolishnbags

  4. Pingback: Zoya Awaken Swatches | kittypolishnbags

Leave a Reply

