things that Kitty likes

Zoya Intimate Collection Swatches

I have these swatch pictures with me for about a week now. The warm weather feels like it has officially begun. I’m crossing my fingers since every year during Easter from the time I’ve moved to Oklahoma it’s been freezing during Easter. And Easter is still about what….a month away? Another Spring Collection here for you, this time from Zoya. Here are swatches from their Intimate Collection.

First one up is Dannii.

Zoya Dannii

On their site, this shade is described as “Medium orchid purple with pink and champagne highlights and flecks of silver metallic shimmer. A unique metallic with a pop of fun color to keep your look fresh.” Orchid seems to be the word that was on the tip of my tongue. I struggled for a while to describe this shade and Zoya’s description is right on! The shimmer shines through very well, especially in direct sunlight. This is my favorite from this collection (that also means the one with most swatch pictures). Formula is nice and smooth. Shown is 2 thin coats with no top coat.

Zoya Dannii (in shade)

Zoya Dannii (direct sunlight)

Zoya Dannii (more sunlight)

Zoya Dannii (another angle)

Zoya Dannii (close-up)

Zoya Dannii (last shot)

Next up is Gemma.

Zoya Gemma

Gemma is described as “Light muted olive-green with an overlay of blue and violet duochrome shimmer. Unique, hip and cutting-edge yet subtle enough to suit any wardrobe.” Again, right on! The duochrome shimmer isn’t that stong, but it’s good enough for my liking. I usually don’t like this type of green. I think I’m becoming more receptive to all kinds of shades as time goes on. I’ll have to admit though that the selling point on this shade for me is the duochrome shimmer. It adds a nice little oomph to a plain olive-green shade. Nicely done! Formula gave me no problems during application. Shown is 2 thin coats with no top coat.

Zoya Gemma (in shade)

Zoya Gemma (direct sunlight)

Zoya Gemma (look at that shimmer!)

Zoya Gemma (close-up)

Up next is a lovely shade called Jules.

Zoya Jules

Jules is a shade that I thought I’d love more. Based on the dollop of nail polish I saw on their website, it was love. But in person, I was slightly disappointed. Sure, it’s a beautiful shimmer. It’s a tad darker than what I expected of it though. This shade is described as “A sparkling neutral light taupe with gold, silver and champagne metallic shimmer. A new modern metallic that gives an ultra-luxe look.” A lighter gold was what I expected from this shade. I have no complaints with the formula for this and it’s pretty opaque. This is 2 thin coats with no top coat.

Zoya Jules (in shade)

Zoya Jules (direct sunlight)

Zoya Jules (close-up)

Next is a shade I find very surprising, Marley.

Zoya Marley

The shimmer in this is unexpected for me. I was too quick to judge with this shade. Once it’s on my nails, it was instant love! It is described on their site as “Lightest baby lavender touched with a hint of gray-silver and a subtle pearl finish. A versatile, easy to apply and wear pastel shade that’s never chalky or harsh.” The pearl finish didn’t even bother me at all and I hate shades with that finish! Formula is smooth and not difficult to work with. Shown is 2 thin coats with no top coat.

Zoya Marley (in shade)

Zoya Marley (direct sunlight)

Zoya Marley (see the shimmer?!)

Zoya Marley (close-up)

Next shade is Caitlin.

Zoya Caitlin

Caitlin is a shade that is unique to me, as I don’t own anything like it.  I’ve seen shades like this before though, so I’m not finding this shade extemely special for any reason. This shade is described on the site as “Smoky purple-tinged medium gray with smooth, opaque creme finish. Sultry, mysterious and impossibly chic, a shade that will have everyone intrigued.” Even though this doesn’t wow me that much, the formula is simply stunning. So creamy and applies so smoothly on my nails. Shown is 2 thin coats with no top coat.

Zoya Caitlin (in shade)

Zoya Caitlin (direct sunlight)

Zoya Caitlin (close-up)

Last shade is a delicate gray called Dove.

Zoya Dove

Dove makes a nice addition to my collection. I don’t own that many grays. In face, a few posts back stated that the shade I featured is my very first gray. Now it has a new companion! Dove is aptly described on their site as “Soft, delicate light neutral gray with an opaque, glossy creme finish. Unexpected and flattering as a wear-with-anything neutral with a twist.” A bit darker than the other gray I own, I welcome this shade with open arms. It goes with just about any outfit! Formula is exceptional. Shown is 2 thin coats with no top coat. No direct sunlight pictures for this one. I’ll have to add it later on if I do get one.

Zoya Dove (in shade)

Zoya Dove (close-up)

Overall? A nice, “light” Spring Collection. Shades are all light, which suits Spring well. Formula for all of these are nice and applied well on my nails. No gloopiness, no chalkiness, no difficulties whatsoever. Color variety is a little limited. Not bad at all though. This collection differs from other brands in the sense that they didn’t go the “bright” route for Spring. I can appreciate a more subtle Spring Collection like this one.

You can get these shades on their website. Their offerings for Summer came out recently too and those are the “bright” ones you can grab if you find these shades too light for your taste.

*Products in this review have been provided by the PR company or manufacturer for an honest opinion.*

8 responses

  1. mmmm I want the entire collection..ugh easter hurry up so lent will be over! haha

    March 24, 2011 at 10:34 AM

    • You gave that up for Lent?! Man, I wouldn’t have been able to do that!

      March 24, 2011 at 10:58 AM

  2. I ordered during their special and mine were back ordered since they were out of a color. I can’t wait for these to arrive, me to swatch them and post them on my blog! Yay! for you. They are beautiful.

    March 24, 2011 at 10:43 AM

    • Thanks! I liked the collection as a whole more than I thought. Surprise, surprise!

      March 24, 2011 at 10:58 AM

  3. I just placed an order on Monday and now, I’m wondering what is wrong with me!!! I didn’t order Gamma and it’s to die for. Sigh, next time!

    Your swatches really capture the colors.

    March 24, 2011 at 5:04 PM

    • Thanks girl! I just hope it helps others out when trying to place an order!

      March 25, 2011 at 9:31 AM

  4. Pingback: Zoya Intimate Collection « kittypolishnbags

  5. Pingback: Zoya Sunshine Swatches « kittypolishnbags

Leave a Reply

