things that Kitty likes

Freeman Mystery Bag 2014

Hey guys! I’m sure most of you know about the Freeman Beauty Mystery Bag that went live a few days ago. I got the email and even saw it posted on my IG by a few beauty bloggers I know. I hemmed and hawed but only for a little bit before taking the plunge. This shipped out the same day I placed the order. Upon inspection when I opened everything, I noticed that something seems to be missing so I compared it to what I know someone else has gotten in their shipment as seen on Nouveau Cheap’s site here. Now this is everything that came with mine:

Freeman Mystery Bag 2014

My order comes with an extra travel size dry shampoo cause of the code WELCOME but notice that everything else I got is the same….with the exception that I’m short 8 sachet items. Here is the breakdown of my Mystery Bag:

Pssst! Instant Dry Shampoo Travel Size (not counting this since this is in addition to the Mystery Bag) – FREE
c. Booth Milk Bath & Shower Cleanser – $6.99
Pssst! Instant Dry Shampoo for Wavy or Curly Hair – $6.99
Feeling Beautiful Acai Facial Purifying Clay Mask – $3.99
Feeling Beautiful Chocolate & Strawberry Facial Clay Mask – $3.99
Bare Foot Spa Professional Moisturizing Massage Cream – $5.99
Barefoot Repair Overnight Foot Cream – $6.99
Eclos Plant Stem Cells Super Concentrate Night Booster Fluid (can’t find this anywhere except going for $19.50 on Amazon right now) – $19.50
Eclos Daily Hydra Primer SPF30 – $15.99
Vita-K Professionals Deep Facial Lines – $14.99

Travel size sachets (6 since 1 is my freebie with my order) – $1.99 x 6 = $11.94

TOTAL RETAIL VALUE OF MYSTERY BOX: $97.36

I emailed them to inquire if I am indeed missing some items since I got exactly the same things as what is seen from someone else (less 8 sachets). I just wanted to know since other people might be expecting to get X amount and only got Y amount (like what happened to me). I thought about several different scenarios that could’ve happened such as they mistakenly left 8 travel size sachets out of my order or they somehow mistakenly counted my free travel size dry shampoo offer against my Mystery Bag to everyone simply may just get more or less since their offer is “valued up to $100”. I held off buying another Mystery Bag because I was curious to see what the response was. It’s not a hill to die on whether I get the 8 sachets or not, but I want to know the reason behind it and that says a lot about companies. I just got a response this morning and it points to a scenario I didn’t even think of! Here is what they said:

“Dear K,

Thank you for contacting Freeman Beauty.

Our apologies for any misunderstanding with the offer, as please know that is the “mystery” with this promotion, and as our email blast states towards the bottom of the special:

“Some bags include a mystery treat for feet…will your bag be one of them?”

Thank you for your inquiry and for your patronage, and again our apologies for any misunderstanding with the promotion.

Best Regards,
Freeman Beauty”

So this response leads me to believe that the extra items that someone else got was a mystery treat for feet. Looking back at G’s post of what someone else got, seems to make sense since the missing sachets are mostly for the feet (only 1 of what I got is for the feet…the rectangular sachet). I just made a search online to see if someone else has gotten their Mystery Bag and looks like Beauty Hoard got hers too here and it’s exactly the same as mine (except for my free trial size dry shampoo). And looks like someone else got what I got (again, minus the travel size dry shampoo) and emailed them too receiving the same response. You can see it if you follow this on Reddit here. Now the thing left in question is on their website right now it says “get mystery treat for feet while supplies last!” so does this mean the supply is all gone? Their email response to me states that some bags include it, so it’s different from “while supplies last”. But eh….this is something that will confuse some customers for sure.

So I didn’t get $100 worth of stuff, but it’s close to it. Was it worth it still since last year’s was only $20 and valued at over $90? The % of savings you get definitely went down, so if you look at it that way — no. But I’m about to place another order just to see if I get some other stuff (I’m hoping for more clay masks really). Here’s a look at some of last year’s Mystery Bag breakdown from Hello Pretty Bird! and Zadidoll (and again here since she got 2).

7 responses

  1. I’m so jelly – you got the chocolate strawberry mask!

    October 10, 2014 at 7:10 PM

    • I ordered another one just to see if there is any differences. I don’t anticipate much difference since I think they like to keep the base stuff the same. Other kinds of face masks would be good, but I could end up with duplicates of everything.

      October 13, 2014 at 4:48 PM

  2. Pingback: Contents of my Freeman Beauty Mystery Bag 2014! | Ashley Chandra

  3. fellica

    Today, I received mine and it has everything you have but extra feet sachets so I got a total of 15. I think its random.

    October 20, 2014 at 7:15 PM

    • Yeah, I think so too! They should really remove the “while supplies last” part on their site. Their email makes it sound like it’s random. Thanks for chiming in!

      October 21, 2014 at 1:33 PM

  4. Pingback: ipsy October 2014 Glam Bag | kittypolishnbags

  5. Pingback: Holiday 2014 Shopping Ideas | kittypolishnbags

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.