things that Kitty likes

Sally Hansen Fall 2011 Tracy Reese Collection Swatches

About this collection: “Tracy Reese joined forces with Sally Hansen for the eleventh consecutive season to create six bold shades and rich metallics that mirror the designer’s opulent fall aesthetic. On the runway, models wore Complete Salon Manicure in Shiny Penny, a rich bronze, and Oxide, a gunmetal grey.”

First up, I have Oxide.

Sally Hansen Oxide

Um, no words can describe how I feel about this silver grey shade. Oxide, oh Oxide. It’s my favorite from this whole collection. It’s stunning, classy and beautiful. Formula was great and dried fast. Shown is 2 thin coats with no top coat.

Sally Hansen Oxide (in shade)

Sally Hansen Oxide (direct sunlight)

Sally Hansen Oxide (close-up)

Next up is Shiny Penny.

Sally Hansen Shiny Penny

Can this be any prettier? Shiny Penny reminds me a bit of Deborah Lippmann Brick House. It’s a beautiful bronze that suits Fall very well. It applied onto my nails smoothly and dried pretty fast. Shown is 2 thin coats with no top coat.

Sally Hansen Shiny Penny (in shade)

Sally Hansen Shiny Penny (direct sunlight)

Sally Hansen Shiny Penny (close-up)

A collection isn’t complete without a beautiful blue. This one’s called Himalayan Blue.

Sally Hansen Himalayan Blue

Himalayan Blue is a pretty blue creme shade, but that’s about it. It applies beautifully, but there’s nothing that sets it apart from a lot of beautiful blue cremes I’ve seen. Shown is 2 thin coats with no top coat.

Sally Hansen Himalayan Blue (in shade)

Sally Hansen Himalayan Blue (direct sunlight)

Sally Hansen Himalayan Blue (close-up)

Next we have Bewitched.

Sally Hansen Bewitched

I keep thinking the name is odd because it’s close to Halloween. Bewitched is a dark plum purple creme shade. I consider this a very dark, vampy shade. It makes me think of dark purple bruises. Formula is nice and thick. Shown is 2 thin coats with no top coat.

Sally Hansen Bewitched (in shade)

Sally Hansen Bewitched (direct sunlight)

Sally Hansen Bewitched (close-up)

Last I have is Green Tea.

Sally Hansen Green Tea

Green Tea is a beautiful pale green, not quite mint green. It reminds me of the popular Essie Mint Candy Apple, but I don’t think they’re close enough to be dupes at all. Formula was great with this creme shade. Shown is 2 thin coats with no top coat. I think I swatched Shiny Penny before this cause it left a yellow-ish cast on my cuticle area.

Sally Hansen Green Tea (in shade)

Sally Hansen Green Tea (direct sunlight)

Sally Hansen Green Tea (close-up)

Overall? Nice,well-rounded collection. A few shades seem out-of-place for Fall, but I can overlook that with the variety given. I’m missing one shade from this collection called Radicchio. This should be available at wherever Sally Hansen is retailed in October.

*Products in this review have been provided by the PR company or manufacturer for an honest opinion.*

3 responses

  1. Oxide is the only one that I would be interested in. When I did see these in the drug store, I wasn’t inspired though.

    October 14, 2011 at 3:34 PM

    • It’s so-so. I only really liked Oxide and Shiny Penny.

      October 14, 2011 at 4:07 PM

  2. After seeing your Oxide swatch, I’m tempted to head to the drugstore right now to grab it! What a great color.

    October 16, 2011 at 10:45 PM

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.