things that Kitty likes

Nicole by OPI Something About Spring Swatches

A few days ago, I posted about Nicole by OPI’s Target exclusive collection for Spring. Today, I present you the swatches for shades in this collection. These are shown in the same order as the previous post about this collection. WARNING! Very picture heavy post!

Nicole by OPI Brilliant Idea

Brilliant Idea is a nice glitter shade with lime regular and larger round glitters in a clear base. Application is nice and smooth. Drying time is speedy, as expected from a glitter shade. Shown is 2 thin coats with no top coat.

Nicole by OPI Brilliant Idea (in shade)

Nicole by OPI Brilliant Idea (direct sunlight)

Next one is a shade I was definitely on the fence about. Based on the press release picture, I didn’t have high hopes for it. Glad to say I am sorely disappointed.

Nicole by OPI Daffy Dill

I don’t care much for the name, but this shade is gorgeous! There are several other shades in this collection that surprised me as well. Just shows me not to judge a polish by its promo pics! Daffy Dill is a lime green creme. Makes me think of Shrek. This is one of the 2 creme shades in this whole collection, which works for me as I prefer other finishes than cremes. Formula for this shade was more watery than the other creme shade, but nothing that would prevent me from using this shade again. Shown is 2 generous coats with no top coat.

Nicole by OPI Daffy Dill (in shade)

Nicole by OPI Daffy Dill (direct sunlight)

Here’s another one with a Spring-y name, Dandy Lion.

Nicole by OPI Dandy Lion

Dandy Lion is what I would call a metallic foil shade. It is a bold yellow and it reminds me of China Glaze’s Cowardly Lyin’ or Lighthouse. It’s darker than what I would normally call yellow…more like a golden-yellow or something. Shimmer in this shade is nice. I opted for 3 thin coats with this one to make it more opaque.

Nicole by OPI Dandy Lion (in shade)

Nicole by OPI Dandy Lion (direct sunlight)

I’m A Pool For Love was one of the shades that intrigued me the most based on the press release pics. Like most other shades in this collection, it is so much better in person. I didn’t think I’d like this one at all based on the press release pictures.

Nicole by OPI I'm A Pool For Love

Can I just say I love this shade? Yes, LOVE. It delivered much more than what I thought it would. The shimmer in it actually propels this shade to be in the top 3 for me in this collection. Yes, look at that lovely shimmer. I did not comprehend this shimmer from the photo I posted last week. This dark, shimmery grape shade is instant love for me. Shown is 2 thin coats with no top coat.

Nicole by OPI I'm A Pool For Love (in shade)

Nicole by OPI I'm A Pool For Love (direct sunlight)

It’s a good thing that the next shade is pretty awesome as well. I’d hate to be the shade that comes after I’m A Pool For Love. Here’s Iceberg Lotus.

Nicole by OPI Iceberg Lotus

The name makes me think of salad. I’m so glad this shade is darker than I thought. I was on the fence with this one. I worried it was too light and wanted it to be a darker green shade. Wish granted! Formula is smooth and gave me no problems during application. Shown is 3 thin coats with no top coat. For a more opaque look, just apply 2 or 3 generous coats and you’re good to go. Thin coat application is just a preference for me.

Nicole by OPI Iceberg Lotus (in shade)

Nicole by OPI Iceberg Lotus (direct sunlight)

The next shade is another unexpected one in terms of my original perception of it based on the press release picture.

Nicole by OPI Make A Comet-ment

Make A Comet-ment was described as “A once-in-a-lifetime, silver-glitter sighting!” and the statement could not be any truer. Mostly because I did not expect to see holographic glitter in this shade. I didn’t see it in the press release picture. I thought it was just another silver glitter shade. I was wrong and it’s good to be wrong. Fine silver and holographic glitter suspended in a clear base in this collection couldn’t make me any happier. The holographic glitter doesn’t show up much though in pictures. Formula is a dream to work with and drying time is speedy. Shown is 2 thin coats with no top coat.

Nicole by OPI Make A Comet-ment (in shade)

Nicole by OPI Make A Comet-ment (direct sunlight)

Nicole by OPI Make A Comet-ment (even brighter)

Next up is an interesting one called Nicole’s Nickel.

Nicole by OPI Nicole's Nickel

I was very unsure on this shade initially. Like I mentioned before, a lot of these shade look quite different from what I initially thought it did based on the initial released photos. This is a silver glittery shade in a black jelly base. The glitter in this is the same as with Brilliant Idea. Formula is nice and smooth. Drying time is speedy. Shown is 2 thin coats with no top coat.

Nicole by OPI Nicole's Nickel (in shade)

Nicole by OPI Nicole's Nickel (direct sunlight)

The other of the 2 creme shades in this collection is Pink. Seriously.

Nicole by OPI Pink. Seriously.

It lives up to its name It’s a very pretty hot pink creme shade. The formula for this one is amazing. It applied on my nails like butter. It reminds me of those awesome OPI creme shades I’ve used. It goes on so smooth flawlessly. Shown is 2 generous coats with no top coat.

Nicole by OPI Pink. Seriously. (in shade)

Nicole by OPI Pink. Seriously. (direct sunlight)

Here’s another pink shade from this collection, Pink-nic In The Park.

Nicole by OPI Pink-nic In The Park

I adore this shade. A light pink shimmery shade that looks duochrome-ish. It looks like it’s a duochrome almost, but I don’t think it quite makes it. But I love it because of that. This one’s pretty sheer but I opt to stick with 2 thin coats for this.

Nicole by OPI Pink-nic In The Park (in shade)

Nicole by OPI Pink-nic In The Park (direct sunlight)

This one, I’m not sure how to feel about this one still. See the pictures for yourself.

Nicole by OPI Sea How Far You Go

Sea How Far You Go is described as “A limit-pushing gold” and it’s not the gold we normally think of immediately when we hear the word. When I see this shade in the bottle, on my nails, in my own pictures “olive” keeps screaming in my head. It’s like a tanned gold or an olive gold.

Nicole by OPI Sea How Far You Go (in shade)

Nicole by OPI Sea How Far You Go (direct sunlight)

Nicole by OPI Sea How Far You Go (olive gold!)

The next one is a light pink shimmer that is aptly named Shell Me The Truth.

Nicole by OPI Shell Me The Truth

I say aptly named because any pink shade with the word “shell” in the name often indicates a very light, delicate pink. This shade, however, is described as “A glowing peach, fresh off the shore.” Eh, I’ll take it. Formula is a little bit thinner than most from this collection, but it gave me no problems during application. Shown is 3 thin coats with no top coat.

Nicole by OPI Shell Me The Truth (in shade)

Nicole by OPI Shell Me The Truth (direct sunlight)

Last shade! The name makes me think of Shania Twain. Here’s You’re S-teal The One.

Nicole by OPI You're S-teal The One

Mmmmmmm. That’s all I can really say about this awesome blue shimmery shade. Formula is awesome and drying time is fast for a shimmer. Shown is 3 thin coats with no top coat.

Nicole by OPI You're S-teal The One (in shade)

Nicole by OPI You're S-teal The One (direct sunlight)

Overall, awesome collection. I’m so glad that these are much better in person. Some had hidden surprises not seen in the press release pictures. I was surprised there is only 2 cremes among 12 shades, but I’m not complaining! A few shades were shades we’ve seen over and over again, but compared to other Spring collection out there? This is one big WIN for me. Please note that some shades will stain your nails without a base coat. I know You’re S-teal The One and Iceberg Lotus stained for me, but it came out with some buffing. Use a base coat definitely for the darker shades unless you want smurf stained nails!

What do you think and which shades do you think you’ll be picking up? Remember, these are Target exclusives. I’m thinking there will be shortage of these pretty soon.

*Products in this review have been provided by the PR company or manufacturer for an honest opinion.*

21 responses

  1. Thanks for the swatches! This collection is great, I especially love I’m A Pool For Love and Brilliant Idea!

    March 12, 2011 at 12:43 AM

    • Those are in my top 3 along with Make A Comet-ment! I love that most in this collection are glittery goodness!

      March 12, 2011 at 5:27 AM

  2. Jen

    Brilliant Idea is brilliant! (Sorry for the corny comment, it’s early!) I think I like Nicole’s Nickel too but I hate the name.

    March 12, 2011 at 5:02 AM

    • It reminds me of that Serena Williams shade but I know it’s very different from it. It’s my favorite from the bunch after Comet-ment. I wish Comet-ment has more holo glitter (anything holo makes me drool) but I’ll take it!

      March 12, 2011 at 5:26 AM

  3. somecrazedlady

    Great swatches. Not a fan of Nicole’s but I’m thinkn I may give them another try!

    March 12, 2011 at 6:06 AM

    • This is the most appealing Spring Collection for me so far. I thought Nubar’s was going to be the one with China Glaze trailing. This one trumps them for me.

      March 12, 2011 at 6:18 AM

  4. Dang… I was sure that I would have to not get any of these. You’ve proven me wrong. 🙂

    March 12, 2011 at 9:48 AM

    • I was like OMG when I saw them. Totally not what I expected from the promo pics!

      March 12, 2011 at 1:32 PM

  5. Nickel is gorgeous!!! Totally my favorite out of the bunch.

    March 12, 2011 at 3:31 PM

  6. Kia

    Wow, did you buy the whole collection? I’m going to the united states in july, i hope they still have them in target when i get there.

    March 13, 2011 at 1:07 PM

  7. Sea How Far You Can Go is gorge! Reminds me of Zoya Jules and Chanel Kaleidoscope. Love those murky slightly “off” golds.

    March 14, 2011 at 10:23 PM

    • It’s a strange gold, one that I’m not used to…but I love it!

      March 19, 2011 at 12:00 AM

  8. Pingback: Nicole by OPI Something About Spring Collection « kittypolishnbags

  9. Pingback: Nicole by OPI Something About Color Swatches « kittypolishnbags

  10. Shawnda

    I bought the Nicole’s nickle and had a horrible experience with it. In your review, you said it went on smoothly, but mine was very thick and didn’t go on smoothly at all! I’m wondering if maybe I got a faulty product? Or did I just not do it right??

    March 4, 2012 at 5:48 PM

    • It’s possible that you got an old one. Mine was not thick and gloopy at all. It went on nicely. You can try thinning it out with polish thinner if you have some. Don’t use acetone to thin it out – it will destroy the composition of the polish. It’s also possible that it’s a bottle that someone has tried in the store possibly? Maybe they didn’t close it tight all the way and some evaporation occured? As far as I know, it applied nicely for other people too. Try that and let me know.

      March 5, 2012 at 9:26 AM

  11. Pingback: Sally Hansen Green With Envy | kittypolishnbags

  12. My brother recommended I might like this website.
    He was entirely right. This post actgually made my day.
    You can not imagine just how much time I had spent for this information!
    Thanks!

    April 18, 2014 at 1:23 PM

  13. 

    He leĂ­do tus artĂ­culos un par de veces queriendo encontrar algo diferente y la realidad es que de esta forma pasa.
    Cada que leo tus artĂ­culos encuentro algo nuevo. Te juro que llevo no menos de tres horas leyendo cada una de las cosas que has escrito
    y me parecen geniales. Espero que no creas que intento acosarte jeje.
    Ya en serio, deseo decirte que es una agradable experiencia poder encontrarme con gente que posee grandes habilidades
    con las letras. Espero que prosigas de esta forma y que si se da el momento,
    podamos conocernos. Saludos!

    September 18, 2014 at 3:27 PM

Leave a Reply

