things that Kitty likes

Tangle Teezer

During my last trip to Sally Beauty Supply, I took advantage of their red tag clearance deals and I also remembered to pick up this curious gem I’ve been hearing about called Tangled Teezer.

Tangle Teezer

First, I gawked at the price. But once I got over it and reasoned with myself that it could be the holy grail of brushes in my life, I purchased it. Is it worth it?

First, I picked the original design over their newer one. This just seems to call out to me more and the color scheme is my cup of tea. It’s made of pretty durable, brightly colored plastic material (at least I think so). It fits in my hand really well and is easy to use. The insert states the following:

“Tangle Teezer boasts a revolutionary teeth formation that delivers speedy and gentle results. Helps minimize hair breakage caused by mistreatment when detangling. Promotes healthy looking hair by noticeably increasing shine, leaving it looking silky smooth after styling.”

This product works for all kinds of hair, wet or dry. I know a lot of beauty bloggers that own this use it in the shower, but the brand also makes one specifically for the shower. I have been using this for 2 weeks now and I love it. The AHA moment is definitely the first time I used it on both instances of wet and dry hair. On dry hair — it removes tangles without the tugging that results in hair breaking off. On wet hair — very effective in detangling compared to a comb. I’m not quite sure what the secret behind this is, whether it’s the soft bristles or partly some psychological conditioning on having a gentler hand in brushing because it has softer bristles. Bottom line is it works. Gone are the days when I would fight with my hair to get the tangles out. Half the time, using a comb results in pain and hair breakage. No more, my friends. No more.

Tangle Teezer (shot to show the bristles)

This retails for $12.99 each at your local Sally Beauty Supply store. You can also nab this online here. I’m not sure where else it’s sold, but I’m hoping they will be available in mass retail stores soon. There are so many fun designs and colors that I’ve seen other people have and I want in on the fun too! I’m looking into getting at least one more for the shower and one in the car. For a size reference, here it is next to my computer mouse (which I think is the standard PC mouse size):

Tangle Teezer and PC Mouse size comparison

Very important to note that the box says specifically in bold lettering: Do not use with heat.

3 responses

  1. I’ve been meaning to pick one of these up for my daughter. Thanks for the recommendation- I’m going to get one tomorrow!

    April 1, 2014 at 5:19 PM

    • They have a cute small one for teeny kids too but I don’t think they’re available here yet. 😦 But yeah, a couple of hair stylists swears that this is what they use on little kids and it doesn’t make them fuss, cry or wince in pain.

      April 2, 2014 at 9:25 AM

  2. Pingback: Sexy Hair Healthy Sexy Hair Soy Tri-Wheat Leave In Conditioner | kittypolishnbags

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.