things that Kitty likes

OPI Blue Shatters Swatches

Here are swatches from the blue shatters released by OPI. There are 3 of them, 2 shimmers and one creme. They came with a little instructional tag with 3 easy steps outlined. The steps are basically the same as any crackle or shatter polish out there right now. I’m not sure if this trend is dying just yet. I see more brands coming out with it as each day goes by.

First up is Blue Shatter.

OPI Blue Shatter

Blue Shatter is a bright royal blue shatter that I layered over Deborah Lippmann’s My Old Flame, which is a red creme shade. I didn’t expect a lot from this shade from the press release other than it gives me more variety in terms of color. I thought it was nice and that’s about it. It blew me away when it went on my nails. It’s a very nice royal blue shimmer. Formula was of the right consistency and the layer of shatter polish spread evenly onto my nails. Shown is one coat with no top coat.

OPI Blue Shatter (in shade)

OPI Blue Shatter (direct sunlight)

OPI Blue Shatter (close-up)

OPI Blue Shatter (lighting changed)

Next is Navy Shatter.

OPI Navy Shatter

Navy Shatter is the creme shade among the 3 shatters. It’s a really dark shade. So dark that when I layered it over the same red shade I used with the other 2, it looked black (photo of this at the end of this entry). I thought at first my bottle was labeled wrong and it was Black Shatter, but I see that it’s a dark jelly shade in the bottle. That’s when I decided to layer it over a much lighter shade instead, white. Formula was just about the same as the 2 other shades and it went onto my nails with no problem. Shown is one coat with no top coat.

OPI Navy Shatter (in shade)

OPI Navy Shatter (direct sunlight)

OPI Navy Shatter (close-up)

Last shade up is my personal favorite among all shatters released by OPI so far, Turquoise Shatter.

OPI Turquoise Shatter

Turquoise Shatter is simply stunning. It’s so vibrant that I instantly fell in love. It went onto my nails smoothly over the same red shade I used with Blue Shatter, Deborah Lippmann’s My Old Flame. Shown is one coat with no top coat.

OPI Turquoise Shatter (in shade)

OPI Turquoise Shatter (direct sunlight)

OPI Turquoise Shatter (in shade)

And here’s the comparison picture that I took before swatching them all individually. Left is Turquoise Shatter, middle is Blue Shatter and right is Navy Shatter. All are over 2 coats of Deborah Lippmann’s My Old Flame with no top coat.

OPI Blue Shatters Comparison (in shade)

OPI Blue Shatters Comparison (direct sunlight)

These should be available in various retail stores such as ULTA and Trade Secret.

*Products in this review have been provided by the PR company or manufacturer for an honest opinion.*

13 responses

  1. Morgan

    I love your swatches!!! It’s nice to see what shades truly look like before I purchase them. Thank you ! I look forward to new swatches!

    June 30, 2011 at 3:44 PM

    • Thank you for the kind words girl! I typically take them in different lighting too just to help others out. They look different in different lighting!

      June 30, 2011 at 3:53 PM

  2. Pingback: OPI Blue Shatters « kittypolishnbags

  3. I love all 3 of the Shatters!!! I need to get to a Trade Secret one of these days!!!

    June 30, 2011 at 4:11 PM

  4. Great swatches, sweets! Thanks for sharing. 🙂

    June 30, 2011 at 6:10 PM

  5. I think you have one of the best swatches of these blue shatters!

    June 30, 2011 at 9:45 PM

  6. PolishedMe

    I love love love the navy!

    July 1, 2011 at 3:54 PM

    • Yeah! It didn’t occur to me that over red it won’t be Navy at all. Whoops! Over white, it’s definitely Navy! 🙂

      July 4, 2011 at 2:44 AM

  7. i think im over the shatter crazy now ;( i’m also over the holographic craze…..sigh..now what? what is the next craze? what?!!!

    July 3, 2011 at 3:27 AM

    • The scented polish is picking up, but not going full blast like the shatter/crackle craze. I think I won’t be getting the Color Club ones. I still have the Nicole by OPI and the Sally Hansen ones to go through.

      July 4, 2011 at 2:45 AM

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.