things that Kitty likes

Deborah Lippmann Get This Party Started Swatches

Deborah Lippmann’s Holiday offering includes a very well-known crowd favorite, Happy Birthday, and 2 variations of that said shade, Candy Shop and Forget You. All 3 are glitter shades with the same hexagon-shaped glitters, only with different bases. I have swatches up for you guys, but I’ll probably reswatch some of them in the future and also over other shades.

Deborah Lippmann Get This Party Started

Happy Birthday ~ a party in the bottle (glitter)
Candy Shop ~ bubblegum pink (glitter)
Forget You ~ party all night (glitter)

First up is Happy Birthday.

Deborah Lippmann Happy Birthday

Oh, hello there! Happy Birthday is described on the website as “a party in the bottle” and is Deborah Lippmann’s best-selling shade. This is a glitter shade in a clear base. The multicolored glitter is simply crazy and amazing at the same time. Totally right up my alley! Formula was a bit gloopy, but I think it’s made that way to “hold onto” the glitter more in a manner of speaking. Shown is 2 thin coats with no top coat.

Deborah Lippmann Happy Birthday (in shade)

Deborah Lippmann Happy Birthday (direct sunlight)

Deborah Lippmann Happy Birthday (close-up)

Next shade in this set is Candy Shop.

Deborah Lippmann Candy Shop

Candy Shop is what I will describe as what one of my co-worker guy friend J said about a splatter mani I did for another co-worker friend: “It looked like a rainbow peed on your nails.” It’s not a bad thing really, but it’s very colorful and somehow the pink base in this shade makes the difference. The color scheme does make the name of this shade fit quite well. It’s pink, it’s colorful, it’s bright, and it makes me think of candy. Formula is a bit on the gloopy side as well, but it didn’t make application difficult. Shown is 2 thin coats with no top coat.

Deborah Lippmann Candy Shop (in shade)

Deborah Lippmann Candy Shop (lighting changed)

Deborah Lippmann Candy Shop (direct sunlight)

Deborah Lippmann Candy Shop (close-up)

Last one is what I was looking forward to the most, Forget You.

Deborah Lippmann Forget You

This one looked very promising in the bottle, but it fell a bit short once it’s on my nails. It looks good, but not as good as Happy Birthday. The black base in this shade seems to be the same jelly-ish type as with her other glitter shades, such as Across The Universe. If you want to save the trouble of having multiple layers with this shade, use a black base underneath. I really detest my swatches of this shade. The multicolored glitter looks “forced” on some spots of my nails. I think using only one layer of this shade would alleviate this look. I think I’ll retake these at a later date. Application was a little trickier than the other 2 shades, but not terrible. Shown is 2 thin coats with no top coat.

Deborah Lippmann Forget You (in shade)

Deborah Lippmann Forget You (direct sunlight)

Deborah Lippmann Forget You (close-up)

This set will available on Deborah Lippmann’s website and at other retailers such as Barneys New York, Neiman Marcus, and Nordstrom. I believe the release date is July 1, 2011, but this is probably the release date for just Nordstrom. I imagine that eventually there will be the option to purchase these shades separately as with the shades in the All That Jazz set.

*Products in this review have been provided by the PR company or manufacturer for an honest opinion.*

30 responses

  1. I don’t know I kind of like Forget You :)… dark base with rainbow glitter is calling my name 🙂

    June 28, 2011 at 5:01 PM

    • It’s not bad at all, but I liked it more in the bottle. It’s no Across The Universe or Red Ruby Slippers though!

      June 28, 2011 at 5:13 PM

  2. Pingback: Deborah Lippmann Get This Party Started Set « kittypolishnbags

  3. Kaz

    Amazing! I have been waiting for these swatches! I need the other two – definitely!

    June 28, 2011 at 5:56 PM

    • Thanks Kaz! Glad it helped you figure out you need ’em!

      June 28, 2011 at 6:32 PM

  4. Thanks for the swatches! I really like Candy Shop, but I think it can be frankened.

    June 28, 2011 at 7:04 PM

    • I’m sure it can…..or even come really close to it! I think Varnish Vixen did a pretty good darn job with her franken. You can check that out!

      June 29, 2011 at 9:36 AM

  5. You’re the first person I’ve seen to swatch these. Thanks for doing it! 🙂 I like Candy Shop the most even though I’m usually not into pinks.
    – Mary

    June 28, 2011 at 7:14 PM

    • You’re welcome! It seems to be a love or hate initially when the press release came out, but so far…..everyone loves it! 😀

      June 29, 2011 at 9:37 AM

  6. I would love to get my hands on a bottle of Forget You. You are also the first person I’ve seen swatch these! Thanks for taking the time 🙂 I’m a new follower!

    June 28, 2011 at 8:02 PM

    • Hi and new followers are always welcome! There will probably be more swatches out in the next few weeks, but I hope these initial swatches helps!

      June 29, 2011 at 9:37 AM

  7. I like all three in the different pics!

    June 28, 2011 at 11:25 PM

    • Me too! I like them all in varying degrees. Happy Birthday will always have a special spot for me though.

      June 29, 2011 at 9:38 AM

  8. I think they are Nordstrom exclusives for a few months before being sold elsewhere, Nordstroms Anniversary Sale starts july!1st. =)

    June 28, 2011 at 11:30 PM

    • That must be why July 1st is the date I got for the release! They should eventually show up on her site, but for those that can’t wait……I guess they have to have a Nordstrom by them unfortunately. 😦

      June 29, 2011 at 9:39 AM

  9. KITTY!!! OMG!!!! I’ve been dying over these ever since I saw the pics and now, with your swatches, I really can’t wait for the Nordstrom sale!! So beautiful!! 😀

    June 29, 2011 at 1:30 AM

    • Candy Shop is more awesome than I thought! I thought about you when I swatched that one Pam! 😀

      June 29, 2011 at 9:41 AM

  10. I’m not even a glitter lover and I find them fantastic. Forget You looks so great. That being said both the pink and the black can be made with accurate color bases and Happy Birthday only…

    June 29, 2011 at 3:52 AM

    • Yes! I mentioned that a bit somewhere too. Especially since these are more expensive, one could just get Happy Birthday and have pink or black underneath. The effect should be almost 100% the same. The only difference would be there are spots on the nail where the base is overlapping the glitter, if that makes sense. At a higher price point, I also suggested that if they use Candy Shop or Forget You…..it might be beneficial to have a layer of the base underneath so all they’d have to use is one coat of the glitter shade. 😀

      June 29, 2011 at 9:43 AM

  11. Happy Birthday was my first Lippmann and I loved it, but my bottle hasn’t aged well–base has gone a bit yellow and cloudy. The colored bases on the other two might avoid that issue.

    June 29, 2011 at 11:45 AM

    • Clear based ones do that over time! I hate that! I wish I know of a way to prevent it. That’s gonna happen to my bottle too! 😦

      June 29, 2011 at 2:01 PM

  12. I don’t have any Lippman’s yet. These would be an excellent start-kit. 😉

    June 29, 2011 at 5:02 PM

    • These kits come out to be a bit cheaper usually than if purchased individually. Not a bad set if you like at least 2 out of the 3 shades. 🙂

      June 29, 2011 at 5:05 PM

  13. Thank you for entering my Apothica giveaway and leaving your blog-address in the giveaway form, your site is really nice and I LOVE the Deborah Lippmann swatches. Awesome.
    Looking forward to see more of your lovely posts. XXX

    June 30, 2011 at 7:08 AM

    • I love your blog as well! I love the nail art and layering you do!

      June 30, 2011 at 10:21 AM

  14. MissB

    Thank you for helping kill a lemming. Your pictures are great!

    July 15, 2011 at 10:40 AM

  15. Pingback: Nail-spiration: Birthday Nails

  16. Pingback: Additional Prize ipsy Instagram Giveaway | kittypolishnbags

  17. Pingback: 超簡単にラメネイルをぎっしりキラキラに塗る方法♡ | おしゃかわ女子になろう❤️

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.