things that Kitty likes

Maybelline Super Stay 24® Lip Color

Hey guys! I’ve been itching to write this post ever since the first day I put it to the test but I needed to use it for at least a few days for a full, comprehensive review. Today’s post is on something I got from my latest Influenster Vox Box. Here’s Maybelline Super Stay 24 Lip Color.

Influenster Maybelline Super Stay 24 Lip Color VoxBox

The Influenster insert states the following about the product:

Meet the wonder that stretches the limits of longwear lip color, SuperStay 24® Lip Color. This longwear lip color won’t cake, dry, flake or fade thanks to our unique Microflex technology that leaves lips feeling fresh through 24 hours of wear.

HOW TO USE/APPLY
Step 1. Apply liquid lip color to clean, bare lips.
Step 2. Allow two minutes to dry, then apply the ultra-conditioning balm to seal in moisture.
Step 3. Reapply balm as needed.
Step 4. Remove with an oil-based makeup remover.

Maybelline Super Stay 24 Lip Color

What I love about this product? I followed the instructions carefully the first time using the shade Constant Toast 136. First off, this shade does not work on me. I don’t actually know how it would work on anyone else. I’ve tried it a few times, applying it thin and applying it thicker, but the shade always ends up looking streaky or patchy. I gave up on it after a few tries. But what testing that shade did tell me is that it is long-lasting. I moved on to the bold red shade called Keep Up The Flame 025. I LOVE this shade and it actually looks decent on me. This shade is opaque and it applied beautifully compared to Constant Toast 136. I got lots of compliments on it when I wore it to work. My most recent work day of testing it basically lasted me for 11 hours before it started to flake off obviously. I didn’t really care if it did at that point as the work day is way over and it survived through 2 full meals (where I did have food with a decent amount of oil content) on top of constantly drinking water the entire time and some afternoon snacks. I didn’t reapply the color at all, just used the balm whenever I felt that it needed some moisture. The lip color is basically like a stain and it looks matte to me before initial application of the balm to seal in moisture. At the end of the work day, around hour 9, I can see some wear on the inner part of my lips mostly. That is where I would expect it to be with my constant water intake and having 2 full meals on top of some light snacking. I even tested this through a full shower by chance on another day. I put in on about an hour before I needed to hop into the shower and while I didn’t scrub my lips, I did wash my face with a facial scrub. I came out of the shower with it looking just as good and vibrant as I did when I stepped in. For removal, easy peasy with an oil-based makeup remover.

What I don’t like about this product? Aside from the shade Constant Toast 136, maybe the claim that it lasts for 24 hours. I put this claim to the test over the course of 2 weekends and the lip color did not last anything close to 24 hours. I got through 12 hours where some really obvious wear was starting to show but I don’t see this lasting for 24 hours at all. It was all but gone by 17 hours. Also, they should consider portioning the lip balm part more and the lip color less or sell a full stick of the lip balm by itself as you will run out of the balm before the lip color.

More information on this item and other products the brand carries is available on their website here. Products from this brand is carried at other retailers too both online and in-store.

*Products featured here are received complimentary to test through Influenster’s VoxBox program.* #SuperStay24

Leave a Reply

