things that Kitty likes

Dove Pure Care Dry Oil

I’ve been using this product sparingly ever since I got back from my Honeymooniversary back in April. During my Honeymooniversary, however, I was using this product faithfully everyday like no other. See, I was very concerned that the salt water and sun will dry out my hair immensely and damage it in other ways so I figured that this product has what it takes to keep my hair in check and prevent it from any further damage. Turns out, I was right! Here’s my take on the Dove Pure Care Dry Oil.

Dove Pure Care Dry Oil

What I love about this product? It’s surprisingly one of the best hair oils I’ve ever tried. The complete name of this product is Dove Pure Care Dry Oil Nourishing Treatment with African Macadamia Oil. I got this small tube from my Walmart Fall 2014 Beauty Box. I used this before I go out to the beach in the morning and after my shower at night to replenish any moisture loss. I have very long hair and I managed to have a little bit left after my 10 day trip to St. John, USVI. All you need is a few drops near the ends and I use a comb to distribute it evenly at the ends first before running it through the rest of my hair from the root to tip.

The scent might bother some but I didn’t mind it at all. My first impression on the scent is it’s a mature older lady perfume scent. When I smell it I think of those beautiful well-dressed proper ladies in New York or London. You know, those elegant old ladies in high society. The scent is what I would classify as perfume-y more than anything else. I may be off in my description of that but that’s the closest I can get to describing it. I don’t find this oil heavy at all and it definitely helps with preventing tangles from forming.

What I don’t like about this product? If I have to be extremely picky, the price. It retails for $11.99 or so for 3.38 fl oz / 100 ml but you really need only a few drops with each use so it will last a long time. Dove will occasionally have coupons in the weekly paper or even online so that helps bring the price down a little bit. I think it’s worth the price even without a coupon though.

This item should be available in various beauty stores such as ULTA, some drugstores and mass retailers nationwide.

Leave a Reply

