things that Kitty likes

Clairol Hair Food Root Cleansing Shampoo

Okay guys, here’s the item I was most excited about to review from the Influenster Blossom VoxBox 2015 I got a few weeks ago. It immediately was put to the test and I was very happy with my findings. Here’s Clairol Hair Food Root Cleansing Shampoo.

Clairol Hair Food Root Cleansing Shampoo

The Influenster insert boasts about this product: “Inspired by the benefits of nutrient-packed, vitalizing ingredients like strawberry and ginger, Hair Food Root Cleansing Shampoo deeply cleanses hair to remove buildup for lustrous, natural shine. Similar to how a juice cleanse can detoxify your body, the Hair Food Root Cleansing Shampoo cleanses the hair of dulling residues and can be used as a regular shampoo or a deep clean supplement to your routine.”

Verdict? This product comes in a pump top plastic bottle that’s tinted amber in color. It has a nice scent to it that’s really fresh. That’s where the ginger aspect comes I guess. It’s not full-on ginger though, which is where the strawberry makes its presence felt. It’s responsible for the sweetness in the scent. My husband described it as “nice smelling grass” without me telling him about strawberry and ginger in the description. Consistency is what is expected from a shampoo — maybe a tinge on the thicker side. I have been using a few drops of hair oil on the ends of my hair ever since I went to St. John for my honeymooniversary to help with whatever perceived possible damage salt water may bring to my hair. I also have an oilier scalp to begin with. Both of that requires daily washing for my liking. If I skip one day, my hair is limp and my roots are greasy. Since it’s warmer now, it starts to get that greasy at the end of the day sometimes. When I started using this, I noticed that my hair and scalp feels squeaky clean instead of just clean. I was even happier when my scalp isn’t as oily as before at the end of the day. I haven’t been using a clarifying shampoo for months and am in need of it. I’ve used it twice a week now and I think that’s a good schedule for me to use it. I certainly don’t want to use it on a daily basis as it does strip off residue and more as promised. This came right on time to the rescue. Bonus points goes to it being silicon free, paraben free and mineral oil free.

This retails for $9.99 for 10.1 fl oz / 300 ml. It is available at mass retailers and drug stores nationwide as well as various online stores. For a full list of online and in-store retailers, click here.

*Products featured here are received complimentary to test through Influenster’s VoxBox program.*

One response

  1. Pingback: Clairol Hair Food Moisturizing Hair Mask | kittypolishnbags

Leave a Reply

