things that Kitty likes

theBalm NUDE ‘tude® Nude Eyeshadow Palette

Hey guys! I’ve been gone for the past few days due to some life stuff. It didn’t help that the first tornado of the season for me came along last Wednesday. It was surreal because the sirens did not go off until after my FIL called us to ask if we were in a safe spot already. But while it did land in our town, it wasn’t in my immediate area. I’m just glad it wasn’t a strong one like the May 20th one from 2 years ago. Moving on, today’s post is on an eye shadow palette that I’ve been testing for the past few days. Here’s theBalm NUDE ‘tude® Nude Eyeshadow Palette.

theBalm NUDE ‘tude® Nude Eyeshadow Palette

theBalm NUDE ‘tude® Nude Eyeshadow Palette (in shade)

theBalm NUDE ‘tude® Nude Eyeshadow Palette (direct sunlight)

theBalm NUDE ‘tude® Nude Eyeshadow Palette (close-up)

The packaging for this is the nice version. There is a naughty version too with girls on the palette with the eye shadow shades strategically placed over their bodies. Both versions contain the same shades, only the packaging appearance is different. At $36 for 0.382 oz of product in 12 different shades, this palette is actually more versatile and affordable than I originally thought. It’s much bigger too. I balked at the price of this for the longest time because I thought the sizing of this palette is about half of what it really is. I thought it’s a more compact palette and didn’t think that it warranted the price tag. When I got it, it was larger than the regular size Hershey’s chocolate bar. This slim palette comes with a dual-ended eye shadow and liner brush. I actually liked that it’s not a foam applicator but an actual brush. The palette itself is made of sturdy cardboard. I just make a note to avoid getting it in contact with any liquids as it’s something I don’t think about with non-cardboard palettes. The first shot above shows the palette in a cardboard sleeve bearing the same design as the actual palette. I kept it to provide more protection to the palette. The palette has a magnet enclosure. While most of the shades are quite pigmented, they are inconsistent in terms of texture. Some are slightly sheerer than others and little bit on the chalky side. I have this issue with Sultry for sure. Silly applied a little patchy for me when swatched on the arm but fared better when I applied it on my eyelids. I was originally worried about Sexy and Serious but it proved to be unwarranted (at least as a liner). Both performed nicely as a liner on my water line. I was actually very impressed that at the end of the day they stayed put with minimal wear. The way it wears actually gave me more of a smoky look than the dreaded raccoon eyes. I’m sold at this point. The lighter shades like Sassy, Stubborn and Stand-offish can definitely be used to highlight. Swatches below are shown from left to right and top row then bottom row. I used 2 swipes of each shade to show texture differences and consistencies.

theBalm NUDE ‘tude® Nude Eyeshadow Palette (in shade)

theBalm NUDE ‘tude® Nude Eyeshadow Palette (direct sunlight)

theBalm NUDE ‘tude® Nude Eyeshadow Palette (with flash)

Overall, a good palette for the price you’re paying and the quality you’re getting. This palette is available at wherever theBalm products are sold including Beauty Bridge.

*Products featured here are received complimentary to test from Beauty Bridge.*

3 responses

  1. Nice swatches. Glad you are ok.

    March 31, 2015 at 1:49 PM

    • Thank you girl! We’re getting our storm shelter installed tomorrow, so it will be less chaotic this tornado season. 🙂

      April 1, 2015 at 8:50 PM

  2. Pingback: ipsy April 2015 Glam Bag | kittypolishnbags

Leave a Reply

