things that Kitty likes

Laura Geller I-Care Waterproof Eyeliner

I got this as part of a set from one of my ULTA orders last year I believe. I have so, so many eye liners already that I thought about gifting this. But since it’s in black and I’m open to trying out one that’s not in true pencil form, I gave this a shot. Here’s my take on the Laura Geller I-Care Waterproof Eyeliner.

Laura Geller I-Care Waterproof Eyeliner

This item is described as the following on their website:

“Soft, smooth, and super long-wearing, this water-resistant formula virtually floats into place. Whether you opt for a fine line, or a lush, smoky eye look, you’ll have expertly lined lids that last! This unique liner is called I-Care because its treatment-like formula contains beneficial and nourishing ingredients perfect for the delicate eye area. Mineral oil-and preservative-free, I-Care is ophthalmologist-tested and specifically formulated for use around the eyes, even for those who wear contact lenses and have sensitive eyes. The highly smudge-proof formula helps to perfectly line the inner eyelid. A soft, flexible smudger is attached to the opposite end. Pull the smudger off, and you’ll find a handy little sharpener tucked inside. Unlike most eye pencils, I-Care Eyeliner has a retractable point.”

I’ll be honest that I didn’t really have high expectations with this before trying it. It brings me back to my thoughts on Urban Decay eye liners. They’re good, but I actually prefer Milani’s formula better (you can read about it in my original post here). It just works well for me with my water line. I need an eye liner that is pigmented that goes on softly but bold. Meaning I don’t have to apply a lot of pressure to get great color payoff. Urban Decay is just okay in my book for that. Milani is excellent. And Laura Geller? Well, I was pleasantly surprised with it! I didn’t have to apply a lot of pressure at all to get really dark black pigment right on my water line. The formula is like a smooth and creamy. I checked after 5 hours and did notice some wear, but not much at all. There is no flaking or smudging — it stayed put. It’s currently my go-to eye liner in my purse. It’s comparable to the formula of Milani’s eye liner in my opinion but maybe a tad creamier. Milani did repackage and might’ve reformulated it, so my opinion is in comparison to their older eye liners from the Liquif’Eye line. Swatches shown below are a thinner line followed by a thicker one with more pressure used to apply it.

Laura Geller I-Care Waterproof Eyeliner (in shade)

Laura Geller I-Care Waterproof Eyeliner (direct sunlight)

Laura Geller I-Care Waterproof Eyeliner (with flash)

This item retails for $20 and is available on their website here as well as wherever they’re retailed at such as ULTA.

Leave a Reply

