things that Kitty likes

theBalm INSTAIN® Long-Wearing Powder Staining Blush

Hey guys! Today I have an item I got in my Kohl’s Beauty Bag that I won in a sweepstakes they had last year. It’s the one thing that piqued my interest the most since I’ve heard about this brand a lot, but it’s not as accessible as many other brands to me. Here’s my take on the theBalm INSTAIN® Long-Wearing Powder Staining Blush.

theBalm INSTAIN® Long-Wearing Powder Staining Blush

This product is described as the following on their website:

“theBalm’s long-wearing, STAINING powder blush is a fashion must have! With six shades, perfect for all seasons and skin tones, it will give your cheeks color that won’t quit.”

The shade I got is in Swiss Dot. Swatches shown below are with one pigmented swipe with my pointing finger. These were taken close to sunset, so the color is a bit off in the shot without flash.

theBalm INSTAIN® Long-Wearing Powder Staining Blush (direct sunlight)

theBalm INSTAIN® Long-Wearing Powder Staining Blush (with flash)

theBalm INSTAIN® Long-Wearing Powder Staining Blush (lighting changed)

What I love about this product? Mine’s a sample size at 0.018 oz / 0.5 g and it’s small enough to fit into a wallet even. The shade I got is Swiss Dot and it works well even for my skin tone. I thought it would be too bold, but just using a little bit of it seems to work for me. It does last all day for me. I’m very impressed with it. It’s a buildable shade, but a little goes a long way. I really like the texture of this blush. It’s not too soft or powdery. What’s even more impressive is the product packaging. It’s what caught my eye and piqued my interest. I find it very cute and pretty (and not to mention it makes me want to collect them all). While the packaging material isn’t as durable as what other brands use (aka plastic usually), it will last the life of the product with regular use. It has a magnetic close in the size I got (I’m not sure if it’s also a magnetic close for the regular sized product).

What I don’t like about this product? If I had to cite one, it would be the price. $22 for the full-sized version isn’t bad, but I can name a few other brands that produces a comparable product for less. But with a sale that brings the price down to maybe half-price? It’s a no-brainer. BUY!

At 0.2 oz / 5.5 g, this item retails for $22 and is available on their website and at other retailers such as Kohl’s and Nordstrom.

2 responses

  1. jen

    That is a lovely color – sort of reminds me of Nars Orgasm? I’ve always wanted to try this but with my fair skin I’ve stayed away because they say stain and I’m afraid I’d get too heavy handed! 🙂

    February 3, 2015 at 10:10 AM

    • I initially got too heavy handed with a lot of blushes. I had to learn to apply with a lighter hand and then blend it out very well for desired results.

      February 3, 2015 at 10:13 AM

Leave a Reply

