things that Kitty likes

Curtain Call: GLAMGLOW YOUTHMUD Tinglexfoliate Treatment

Hey guys! How are things looking for 2015 so far? I’m back at work today and it seems to be shaping up for a busy year. I couldn’t get the Bath & Body Works Sweet Shop Collection 3-wick candles out of my head so I proceeded to call every single White Barn store listed. No bueno though. I can only hope that they’re bringing it back this year since I missed out on that collection. I got into candles very late into the game (like early December last year). Today’s segment of Curtain Call covers a product that came in my ipsy November 2013 Glam Bag. It’s on my face as I write this. Here’s my take on the GLAMGLOW YOUTHMUD Tinglexfoliate Treatment.

At 1.7 fl oz / 50 g, this retails for $69 wherever sold. It’s a pretty high price point for a clay mask in my opinion. I received the 0.5 fl oz / 15 g one from ipsy. The description on their website reads the following:

“Originally designed as a 10-minute professional ‘facial in a jar’ for behind-the-scenes use in Hollywood’s Entertainment, Music, Fashion & Award industries. YOUTHMUD® provides gentle resurfacing exfoliation and helps to leave skin smoother, brighter, and softer resulting in immediate camera-ready glowing skin. For Men & Women of All Ages & All Skin Types. Get your Youthful Sexy Glow back in just 10 minutes. YOUTHMUD® for Super Sexy Super Radiant Skin.”

GLAMGLOW YOUTHMUD Tinglexfoliate Treatment

Verdict? The first time I tried it….I felt that it worked but not to my expectations based on what others have raved about. But now that I’ve used it a few times (about 4 from this small size), I’m ready to give it a fair and thorough review. I washed my face and dried it before applying a thin layer onto it. I can feel the skin on my face tightening as it dries. I do get the tingling sensation, which I find pleasant. The smell is earthy and minty at the same time — herbal I would say. I wait until almost every part of where I applied it to has dried up before I wash my face. When it dries, the dark grey color of the mask changes to a light grey. I can see a few spots where there are dark grey spots and this is how you know it works (it sucks out the oil from the pores). I then proceed to wash my face in a circular motion, scrubbing it every so slightly. It comes off pretty easy and I pat dry with a clean towel before applying face moisturizer. The only thing I didn’t like as much (okay, I hated this the first time I used it) is the presence of leaf particles and twigs. In the small tube I got, there was a decent amount of it. I like clay masks but prefer those that are smooth in texture or just not have chunky particles in it. I always wash my face at the kitchen sink when I use this. I didn’t want the stuff to clog up my master bathroom sink. Back to what didn’t meet my expectations the first time I used this, I have a stubborn blackhead right on my hairline near the forehead that wouldn’t go away. I even bruised the area once by trying to remove it by squeezing it (which you should never do). It is gone now! I think I didn’t leave it on long enough on that spot when I used it for the first time so it didn’t get a chance to suck up the gunk from the blackhead. I’m a believer, but only when it goes on sale. It’s priced a little too high for me to use it on a regular basis.

This product can easily be purchased on their website here or at various retailers such as Sephora, Lord & Taylor, Neiman Marcus, and Dillard’s.

One response

  1. Pingback: Curtain Call: GLAMGLOW SUPERMUD Clearing Treatment | kittypolishnbags

Leave a Reply

