things that Kitty likes

NYC City Proof Twistable Intense Lip Color Roosevelt Island Red 052

Today’s blog post is on something new I’ve tried from NYC. If you remember my post on their fantastic lipstick here, this is basically a “wetter” or more moist version of that product. It’s not a lipstick but it’s not fully a lip gloss either. Here’s NYC City Proof Twistable Intense Lip Color.

NYC City Proof Twistable Intense Lip Color Roosevelt Island Red 052

This is described as the following on their website:

“Just twist, glide and go! NYC New York Color City Proof Twistable Intense Lip Color is here to give your lips a modern and fresh touch. Treat yourself to intense colors for hours with its wide range of amazing shades. With its shiny, stay-put finish, this lip color will become your go-to for an instant twist of color. You will love its beyond-cool pen format for an easy application. Feel the touch of silk on your lips!”

Swatches shown below shows a lone swipe then 2 and then 3 from left to right to show how buildable it is with more layers and pigmentation.

NYC City Proof Twistable Intense Lip Color Roosevelt Island Red 052 (in shade)

NYC City Proof Twistable Intense Lip Color Roosevelt Island Red 052 (direct sunlight)

NYC City Proof Twistable Intense Lip Color Roosevelt Island Red 052 (with flash)

NYC City Proof Twistable Intense Lip Color Roosevelt Island Red 052 (lighting changed)

Verdict? The shade I got is Roosevelt Island Red 052. While I love red shades this just simply does not hold a candle to their NYC Expert Last Lip Color line. With that said, I kind of mentioned earlier that this is almost like a cross between a lipstick and lip gloss. Formula is very moisturizing and slick. The slip is more than one would encounter with most lipsticks. It’s not sticky at all and is lightly scented just like the shade I got from their other line. Again, I can’t nail down what the scent is really but it reminds me of candy. Just like the lipstick, it’s not too strong and it dissipates pretty quick. I get about 4 hours of wear from this before having to reapply it. That’s not bad really for this type of product. I get less though if I eat or drink something. Color payoff is surprisingly better than expected for this type of product and the shine is simply amazing. Another thing I like with this is that I don’t experience as much feathering as I would when using a lipstick. It’s very easy to use and convenient — just apply and go.

I’ve posted on my Instagram account here what it looks like on me with several coats.

NYC City Proof Twistable Intense Lip Color Roosevelt Island Red 052 IG Post

It retails for about $2.99 or so and you can get them for an even cheaper price when they go on sale or you use coupons on them. This can be found in chain drugstores and mass merchandisers nationwide.

*Products in this review have been provided by the PR company or manufacturer for an honest opinion.*

3 responses

  1. This shade looks stunning on you, j just wish I could pull it off too, great post

    November 6, 2014 at 12:46 PM

    • Thank you! I was worried it was too “red” but I got away with it okay I think. 🙂

      November 20, 2014 at 7:52 PM

Leave a Reply

