things that Kitty likes

First Aid Beauty Skin Rescue Deep Cleanser with Red Clay

Hey guys! How y’all been doing?! The weather got a wee bit colder overall here and I feel it every morning. In fact, today is the day I finally caved in and slipped a jacket on before stepping out of the house. I like staying warm at all times and the past few days haven’t exactly been that on the car ride to work! It’s only half of the reason why I haven’t been as active on the blog here (yes, cold weather can make me not feel like blogging). The other half is a new game I’ve been playing called Archeage. So just bear with me with this transition. But today I have a post on something I got in an earlier ipsy Glam Bag (ipsy February 2014 Glam Bag). Now if you have been reading my blog for a while now, you will know that once in a while some items from an older ipsy Glam Bag will pop up in a regular review or a Curtain Call review. But there’s not a whole lot of them really. So when I thought this product warrants one, it definitely caught my attention in a really good or really bad way. Here’s First Aid Beauty Skin Rescue Deep Cleanser with Red Clay.

First Aid Beauty Skin Rescue Deep Cleanser with Red Clay

What I love about this product? The scent is very light and clean for a cleanser. It works better than I thought in helping keep my skin clear. I do think that the red clay in this product helps. I’ve used other products with clay and it draws out dirt and oil really well. It could be very drying too, but not in this product. You know the feeling where your skin feels very tight after washing? In my experience, it’s cleansers that have stripped off too much moisture from my skin. My solution is always to moisturize immediately, but I would avoid that from happening in the first place as much as possible. You want a cleanser that cleans and strips off excess oil — not strip of all moisture from your skin. The natural reaction of my skin (in my experience) is that it starts to try to compensate the dryness very fast and this results in overcompensation of it usually, which gives me more oil production on the skin. It also cleans without leaving a residue or the feeling I get from washing soap off my hands or body with hard water. That feeling is slightly slippery that you simply can’t wash it off and I find it very annoying. A face and body wash I tried recently did that, but I didn’t bash it as much only because it contains salicylic acid and if there’s anything left on my skin after a wash…..I kinda welcome that since it’s an acne-fighting ingredient. Still, I prefer not to have that feeling after washing my face (or body) and this facial cleanser doesn’t do that. This facial cleanser is kinda like the last of everything in the childhood story Goldilocks and the 3 Bears — everything about this is just right.

What I don’t like about this product? If I have to be extremely picky, the price. While it is almost the perfect facial cleanser in my experience, I’m not sure how I’d feel plunking down $24 for 4.7 oz of this. I’m still hemming and hawing over the idea of purchasing this because I really do like it a lot.

This item is available on their online store here as well as at other retailers such as Sephora, QVC and Amazon.com.

Leave a Reply

