things that Kitty likes

Hillshire Farm American Craft Sausages

My first assignment as a BzzAgent was to review, rate and share about Hillshire Farm American Craft Sausages. This particular line of sausages seems to be relatively new to me since my eyes are always open for these in savory and spicy flavors such as Jalapeno & Cheddar (can you guess what’s my favorite flavor this early in the blog post?). I was sent a lovely kit in where I can pick up 2 free packs of the product in whatever flavors of my choosing and have a good amount of $1 off coupons to share with family and friends. The sausages come in a pack of 5 and in 3 different flavors: Smoky Bourbon, Jalapeno & Cheddar and Garlic & Onion. I’ve served these sausages up twice already (not including having them as leftovers) and they did get people talking.

The first time around was about a month ago. I had several friends from work over and fired up the grill to get some Smoky Bourbon and Garlic & Onion sausages around. We got hotdog buns as well as grilled onions, tomatoes, zucchini, baby corn, and fresh jalapeno slices to go with the main feature. I asked our friends to share their thoughts on these 2 very different flavors of sausages to us. The verdict? The texture is very good — meaty and juicy right off the grill. We were all impressed by it. The sausage held together and didn’t crumble as some of us have experienced this from trying our various brands over the years (some even had casing as well!). We all agreed that the Smoky Bourbon sausages has a stronger flavor than the Garlic & Onion ones. I only detected a very faint taste of garlic and onion, but then again I am a garlic lover and consume them in huge quantities. One of my friends did state that he tastes the actual garlic and onion flavor. The clear winner between the 2 flavors I tried that day is Smoky Bourbon.

Hillshire Farm American Craft Sausages on hotdog bun with vegetable sides

When I got the chance to pick more up from Walmart a few days after I first tried these, I didn’t hesitate to grab the Jalapeno & Cheese ones (I also got the Smoky Bourbon again). I used the $1 coupons on these and along with the rollback price, it came out to $1.98 per pack. What a deal! I gave the other coupons away to family and friends as well as leaving the last few in Walmart right where the sausages are. Share the love is one of the things I live by. We couldn’t think of what to cook last night and I suggested whipping out the sausages we got a week or 2 ago. My husband fired up the grill and lined all 10 up nicely. I requested to leave the Jalapeno & Cheddar ones on the grill a few minutes longer. I personally like a little bit of char on mine. The smell is so savory and enticing. My mouth was watering in anticipation. I served these along with some penne pasta in homemade sauce that I made. The sausages were as juicy as I remembered. And the flavor? Smoky Bourbon is just as good as it was when I last had it, but the Jalapeno & Cheddar is definitely the winner. The jalapeno flavor isn’t very strong, so it just gives every bite a good amount of flavorful spice. I wouldn’t mind if they made the flavor of that in this stronger. The cheese flavor is a little bit stronger than the jalapeno, so those that worry about this being very spicy can rest easy and give it a try. I know my friends who aren’t fans of spicy food will be able to tolerate this heat level (which is nonexistent to me). Seeing the cheese ooze out when you leave it long enough on the grill is a welcome sight in my book. One thing I’ve learned from consuming these right off the grill twice now is to proceed with caution if the sausage hasn’t split open. I bit into it too excitedly the first time and hot sausage juice squirted all over and into my mouth. I didn’t think they would be this juicy! It’s also fun to think of how I can use these sausages up in the future such as in chili, gumbo or casseroles!

Hillshire Farm American Craft Sausages and side of pasta with homemade sauce

Would I buy these again? The fat content sealed its own fate for me to consider this as a treat once in a while only. But it’s a definite yes for Jalapeno & Cheddar and I’ll grab the Smoky Bourbon for others that would like to play it safe on the spice level.

This retails for I’m guessing a little over $3 usually for a pack of 5 and is available at Walmart. For more information on the brand and its offerings, click here.

*Products featured here are received complimentary to test through BzzAgent program.*

Leave a Reply

