things that Kitty likes

Archive for July 16, 2014

Physicians Formula Shimmer Strips Custom Eye Enhancing Eyeliner Trio

I was on a passive hunt for a particular mascara and my husband spotted it at Target. I had a $3 off $15 coupon from the Target Spring 2014 Beauty Box, so I decided to pick something up from Physicians Formula to reach the total needed for it. Here’s my take on Physicians Formula Shimmer Strips Custom Eye Enhancing Eyeliner Trio.

Physicians Formula Shimmer Strips Custom Eye Enhancing Eyeliner Trio

The front of the box packaging it came in states the following:

“Enhance & Define
Blue Eyes
Sharpener Included
24 Hour Wear”

The product packaging is simple but attractive. The metallic colors are pleasing to my eyes. This product comes in 4 different sets: Blue Eyes, Brown Eyes, Green Eyes, and Hazel Eyes. The one I got is Blue Eyes. I got this because the only other one available is the Green Eyes one and that didn’t come with a blue shade among the 3 eye liners in the set. I find these very easy to apply — no need for any tugging at all as it goes on smoothly immediately. The colors are almost 100% of what I expected them to be and they wear well. I get at least 6 hours from this. Around 8 hours I can see the wear clearly based on patchy spots on my water line. I don’t expect eye liners (unless they’re waterproof) to last that long on my water line though, so this is good for me and I just ignore the 24 hour wear claim. One thing to note is that the product is softer than you may think. I made that mistake when I was swatching the blue eye liner on my arm and I put too much pressure in doing that. The tip just broke off! I twisted the body of the eye liner to dispense more product and just used the sharpener it came with to create a pointed tip. The sharpener is located on the other end of the eye liner, opposite the cap. Just pop that end off like you would with the cap on the other end and the built-in plastic sharpener is there. The product is soft enough that the sharpener is made of plastic to shave off product for the cone tip shape. Swatches shown below are one swipe of the product of each shade. The blue was swiped when the tip broke off, the brown was swiped with the eye liner held at an angle (thicker than if you would strictly use the pointy end), and the black was swiped right on the pointy end as is. I did this to show the difference in width that you can achieve with the application of the product (I got the idea when the blue tip broke off).

Physicians Formula Shimmer Strips Custom Eye Enhancing Eyeliner Trio Swatches

Physicians Formula Shimmer Strips Custom Eye Enhancing Eyeliner Trio Swatches (with flash)

I’m not sure if I’ll be picking up any of the other sets since each set is made to accentuate specific eye colors. I only picked the one for blue eyes up because I wanted the blue eye liner.

This retails for about $11.95 and is available at various mass retail and drugstores as well as online on their website.