things that Kitty likes

ipsy July 2014 Glam Bag

Hey guys! I got my goodies from ipsy for this month over the weekend and finally got around to poring over what I got. After last month’s wow factor for me ( that the bag is designed by Rebecca Minkoff), I made sure to have reasonable expectations when it comes to the following month’s bag overall. Here’s everything that I got from my ipsy July 2014 Glam Bag.

ipsy July 2014 Glam Bag

First, about the bag…..I like it and don’t at the same time, so I’m on the fence about it still. I love the design and the color definitely. I love how the bag feels, but what I don’t like about it is that it doesn’t feel like it will be a durable bag. Because of the scallop design and how the stitches are put on, it’s not as durable as my other makeup bags. I feel like I would have to baby it for sure and I don’t really want to have to do that. I’ll hold onto it for now though. The first item that caught my eye is the Hang Ten Dark Tanning Oil SPF 08. I don’t go out and tan intentionally, so this item is on the miss side for me in terms of usage. But I suppose I can slather it on while I’m out in the sun like when I’m swimming and stuff. I do tan easily in general and you bet I’ll be wearing sunscreen under this. It kind of negates what this is supposed to do though, so I’m on the fence with this product at the moment. The SPF is so low on this that I’m afraid the skin will just burn as if there is no SPF (I mean, I know there is some….it’s just so minimal). Moving on, we have Lord & Berry Silk Kajal Kohl Eye Pencil. While I have a lot of eye liners right now, “kajal” or “kohl” always catches my attention. My most pigmented eye pencils bear that in the name or description. Definitely a keeper for me and this is a small pencil so it fits right into any purse or makeup bag easily. Next item is the Pür Minerals Big Look Waterproof Mascara. First impression is the packaging is so freaking cute! It has this water beads design on the silver cap that reminds me of what you see in MAC Alluring Aquatics Collection. I really liked that packaging look with MAC that I even thought about picking stuff up from that collection partly because of that (but then I moved on to other brands instead and have been very happy with that decision). I’m definitely going to keep this mascara but it will take me a while to get to using it since I have about 10 open right now. OOPS! 🙂 Marrakesh Endz is one that I have never heard of the brand before this month’s bag. According to the product description on their website this product seals and repairs split ends, while preventing future damage. With it being summer right now, I’ve been in the pool a handful of times already and my hair is starting to put up a fight with me. I have long hair and I try to moisturize and condition every few days. This will be good to try out after a good swim session. Last product is the bareMinerals 5-in-1 BB Advanced Performance Cream Eyeshadow Broad Spectrum SPF 15. I have a love-hate relationship with cream eye shadows, so I’m not sure if I’m keeping this or not — especially since the shade I got is very neutral. It’s called Divine Wine but don’t let that name fool you! I would think a shade with that name is more on the purple or burgundy side. Nope, this line of theirs consists of 10 shades that are all very neutral (think nude palettes). I tend to like my eye shadows to have shimmer or color (or both!) and this one’s neither.

Hang Ten Dark Tanning Oil SPF 08

Lord & Berry Silk Kajal Kohl Eye Pencil

Pür Minerals Big Look Waterproof Mascara

Marrakesh Endz

bareMinerals 5-in-1 BB Advanced Performance Cream Eyeshadow Broad Spectrum SPF 15

Overall, eh….not too bad. Here’s hoping next month’s is better!

5 responses

  1. candaceee22

    Thanks for sharing! I’m getting a lot of the same products in my bag this month! This is my first ipsy bag, so I’m just curious where you’re located if you’ve received yours already? The wait is killing me…

    July 14, 2014 at 5:49 PM

    • Hi there! I’m located in Oklahoma. Hope that helps and that you get yours soon!

      July 15, 2014 at 8:47 AM

  2. Cindi

    You got some great products in your bag this month. I loved the little pink bag with the pretty scalloped edges. It’s not as cute as last month’s was but it looks more beachy and less glam. I got the cream eyeshadow too in a taupe shade and love it. That was all that I got that was the same as yours. I love my Ipsy bag, but yours is great too! I like that hair oil and the kohl liner too.

    July 16, 2014 at 6:33 PM

    • The hair oil is what I’m about to try next. I like the design of the bag, I just didn’t think it felt as durable as the other makeup bags in general (ipsy or not) and was bummed about that aspect. Last month’s was hard to top since it’s a fun print and it’s designed by a well-known designer (whose designs are pretty good consistently).

      July 17, 2014 at 1:07 PM

  3. Pingback: Marrakesh Endz | kittypolishnbags

Leave a Reply

