things that Kitty likes

Physicians Formula Shimmer Strips Custom All-in-1 Nude Palette

I have never been a fan of nude palettes. I personally prefer jewel tone colors and shimmer in palettes. So imagine my surprise that I actually considered picking this beauty up when I saw it in CVS. I considered, but never did. I usually get all my makeup at CVS only if there’s a good deal going either with their ECB deals or with the red machine coupons combined with the weekly sales. When I finally got my hands on this it was a moment of “I can’t believe I didn’t get this sooner!” and just pure amazement. Note that this is definitely not a product for everyone. Read on to see why. Here’s my take on Physicians Formula Shimmer Strips Custom All-in-1 Nude Palette.

Physicians Formula Shimmer Strips Custom All-in-1 Nude Palette

Physicians Formula Shimmer Strips Custom All-in-1 Nude Palette (product instructional guide)

The front of the box packaging it came in states the following:

“All-in-1
Eye Shadow
Eyeliner
Bronzer
Blush
Highlighter

Create the Perfect Nude Glow!
How-To-Guide + Mirror & Applicators Included”

The product packaging is extremely adorable. It’s so pretty and sexy as well with the lace details and ribbon. The color scheme they chose for the packaging goes really well with the colors found in the palette. This product comes in 2 shades, Natural Nude and Warm Nude. The one I have is Natural Nude. Each palette houses 16 different nude shades that are all shimmer in nature. Here’s the first indicator if this palette is for you or not. The shades are all shimmer regardless of which palette you choose. If you are NOT a fan of owning an all shimmer nude palette, it’s best to pass on this. The shimmer isn’t subtle at all even though it’s not a full on glitter bomb type of shimmer. The instructional guide is located in the back flap of the square cardboard packaging. I didn’t think much of it in the beginning, but it does actually contain very useful information for me at least. It gives suggestions on how to use the 12 shades in the palette. For the eyes: row 1 is suggested to use to highlight, row 2 as base on eyelid, row 3 used to contour and row 4 as eye liner. For nude contouring, the guide just breaks it down as row 2 for blush and rows 3 and 4 for bronzer. I didn’t follow the instructional guide to a T being that I did find it a bit ridiculous that such shimmery shades are used to highlight. I used it only as a highlight for the inner corner rims of my eyes and that works well. My personal opinion is this product is too shimmery for my use for that purpose. Still doable depending on where you’re trying to apply it to highlight. BUT with that said, I think this palette’s strong suit is that it’s wonderful as a nude eye shadow palette. I find the formula to be very pigmented and powdery. You will experience some fall out with this. This doesn’t bother me at all though for the product price point. If this was a high end brand, then yeah….I have a big problem with that. I did end up using the foam tip applicator it came with along with the mirror and gently packed the product onto the eyelids on the first try. It stayed on nicely for 5 hours with minimal wear. It definitely would’ve lasted longer (maybe through the entire day) with a primer. As a blush and bronzer, it’s on the shimmery side. If you’re not a fan of shimmery blush or bronzers, only get this if you are strictly using this as shimmery eye shadows then (or try working with this as a highlighter, which I have minimal success with). I did try the shades for blush and bronzer and it almost was too shimmery for my taste. I’m glad that I still find it usable or else this palette would be a no-go for me. As eye shadows alone they’re great but I didn’t want to be stuck with a palette of 12 shades that’s just for eye shadows, so this is still a win in my book. I didn’t use the brush that came with this since the bristles are a little bit on the rough side, but it will definitely work in a pinch if you decide to carry this palette around. Swatches shown below are one swipe of the product with the foam applicator from left to right and top to bottom of the palette.

Physicians Formula Shimmer Strips Custom All-in-1 Nude Palette Swatches

Physicians Formula Shimmer Strips Custom All-in-1 Nude Palette Swatches (direct sunlight)

Physicians Formula Shimmer Strips Custom All-in-1 Nude Palette Swatches (with flash)

I do intend on picking up the Warm Nude palette later on when CVS runs a good deal for this.

This retails for about $13.95 and should now be available at various mass retail and drugstores as well as online on their website.

*Products in this review have been provided by the PR company or manufacturer for an honest opinion.*

5 responses

  1. Pretty! I think I should try to use the nude palettes I have already before I go buying more, though. 🙂

    July 8, 2014 at 1:42 PM

    • I agree! If you have some already, stick with those (especially if they work well enough for what you need it for). I don’t mind the shimmer level in this so it works for me (it almost didn’t — LOL!) and I love these as eye shadows!

      July 8, 2014 at 2:06 PM

  2. Hey! I’ve nominated you for the Beauty Blogger of the Month Award! Hosted by Cecilia! 🙂
    http://ceciliascorner.net/2014/07/04/the-beauty-blogger-of-the-month-award-benefit-push-up-eyeliner-giveaway/

    July 8, 2014 at 2:15 PM

Leave a Reply

