things that Kitty likes

Softlips Cube Pomegranate Blueberry

Okay guys, here’s the first item for review from the Spring Fling VoxBox 2014 that I got. If you know me well, you would know that I have a ton of lip products open everywhere both at home and at work. I even have about 5 in my purse at any point! This is one of the items I’m most excited about to try. Here’s Softlips Cube Pomegranate Blueberry.

Softlips Cube Pomegranate Blueberry

The Influenster insert boasts about this product: “Think outside the stick with Softlips® Cube. Revolutionary 5 in 1 lip care combines an advanced formula with innovative new cube-shaped package. Lips look radiant and feel softer, smoother and more hydrated. It is available in three delightful new flavors: Softlips® Pomegranate Blueberry, Softlips® Fresh Mint and Softlips® Vanilla Bean.”

Verdict? This product comes in a now standard non-tube lip balm packaging. The most popular one I can think of with this type of packaging is the EOS lip balms where instead of a cube it’s a sphere. I don’t own any of those so I can’t comment on any differences between the 2. It’s relatively easy and pretty straightforward on how to use. Just twist the cube open and product is revealed for easy application. It actually makes me think of ice cubes, which makes sense with the name of this product. The top part is clear, so you can see the product, while the base is either pink, green or orange depending on the flavor you get. It twists open easily and when you twist it to close it just locks in place. There is no risk of not closing it enough or closing it too tight. Formula is good as long as you don’t have dry, chappy lips. I find that it actually ends up feeling it dries my lips out in that case. But a quick exfoliating of the lips takes care of that. It applied onto my lips easily and there is no hint of color at all. There is no stickiness and the smell of it initially makes me think of a fruity bubblegum. Kind of like what I would get in the Asian grocery stores. It has a slight sweet taste if your tongue does come into contact with the product on your lips. It lasts a decent amount of time on my lips — about 4 hours between light sips of water. I think that’s pretty normal for a product like this. Having SPF 15 in this is a huge plus. The one thing I don’t like is while the packaging is attractive and cute, I still prefer my lip care products in either a stick form in the tube or in a pot. I don’t like product sticking out so much automatically. I’m very OCD about avoiding getting the product on the lid and it happens 80% of the time since I’ve started using this 2 weeks ago. So functionality wise when it comes to the packaging: a major thumbs down for me. For the price though, if you love the formula then I say go for it. Heck, I’m even entertaining getting the other 2 flavors just so I have all 3.

This retails for $3.49 and is available at mass retailers and drugstores nationwide as well as on their online store. For a full list of online and in-store retailers, click here.

*Products featured here are received complimentary to test through Influenster’s VoxBox program.*

Leave a Reply

