things that Kitty likes

Zoya Bubbly Swatches

This collection showed up at my doorstep recently and it’s the one I’m more excited for from Zoya’s summer offering (the other collection consist of crèmes). In random order, here are swatches for Zoya Bubbly Collection.

First up is Binx.

Zoya Binx

With a unique name (to me), Binx turned out to be my favorite shade in this collection. It is described as “a spicy orchid purple dappled with gold metallic and holo sparkles”. Formula is very pleasant to work with. It can go on sheer with thinner coats. The direct sunlight shot is closer to the true color of the shade. Shown is 3 coats with no top coat.

Zoya Binx (in shade)

Zoya Binx (direct sunlight)

Zoya Binx (close-up)

Next in line is Jesy.

Zoya Jesy

Jesy is the orange one of the bunch and it is packed with gorgeous holographic glittery goodness. It is described as “a full coverage, fiery coral orange metallic holo featuring the exclusive liquid-metal holographic jelly formula”. I love the golden undertone in this shade! Formula is quite good — a bit sheer but you can easily apply a thicker coat. Shown is 3 coats with no top coat.

Zoya Jesy (in shade)

Zoya Jesy (direct sunlight)

Zoya Jesy (close-up)

Zoya Jesy (lighting changed)

Next up is Muse.

Zoya Muse

Just by looking at the bottles, Muse was my early favorite. But it fell a little bit short when applied onto my nails. I think I needed an extra coat for the love to emerge. It is described as “a blue raspberry holographic fizz with a subtle vein of gold”. Now I applied this one pretty thin onto my nails so I guess what they’re saying about this shade didn’t quite apply to me: “This shade features the exclusive liquid-metal holographic jelly formula with 2 coat coverage”. Formula is good to work with even though I felt this was a bit more sheer than the other shades. Like I said, thicker coats or maybe another thin coat would’ve made this shade on par with the rest. I’ll have to try that later. Shown is 2 thin coats with no top coat.

Zoya Muse (in shade)

Zoya Muse (lighting changed)

Zoya Muse (close-up)

Zoya Muse (lighting changed again)

Then we have a shade called Harper.

Zoya Harper

The sun was setting when I took these shots, so the one under direct sunlight looks much yellower than it really is. This one makes me think of candy crystals from afar. It is described as “a cotton candy pink with a spun gold shimmer”. Formula is on the sheer side if you apply thin coats with this. Shown is 2 coats with no top coat.

Zoya Harper (in shade)

Zoya Harper (direct sunlight)

Zoya Harper (close-up)

Then we have Stassi.

Zoya Stassi

I have a love-hate relationship with Brooklyn. I do love gold shades like this, but the finish just kills me. It’s on the metallic side and shows brush strokes easily. For some reason, shades that tend to show brush strokes easily tend to give me bubbles during application as well. It is described as “a full-coverage, white-gold shimmer metallic”. I didn’t find this shade as sheer as the others for the first coat. Shown is 2 coats with no top coat.

Zoya Stassi (in shade)

Zoya Stassi (lighting changed)

Zoya Stassi (direct sunlight)

Zoya Stassi (close-up)

Zoya Stassi (lighting changed again)

Lastly, here’s Alma.

Zoya Alma

Alma is the last shade I swatched and the sun is setting fast at this point. The direct sunlight shot is too yellow for my liking, so I’ll retake that shot later on (I did and replaced the shot although there is slight tip wear by then). This is described as “a warm golden peach metallic featuring the exclusive liquid-metal holographic jelly formula”. It’s a pretty yellow-orange shade that glistens in the sun. Shown is 2 coats with no top coat.

Zoya Alma (in shade)

Zoya Alma (direct sunlight)

Zoya Alma (close-up)

I LOVE the holographic glitter particles in the glass fleck formulas of these shades. They make it feel like these are very different from anything I have in my entire collection. They’re bright and bold with the right amount of sparkle. Overall, a win in my book!

*Products in this review have been provided by the PR company or manufacturer for an honest opinion.*

Leave a Reply

