things that Kitty likes

Last Minute Christmas 2013 Shopping Ideas

So, it’s basically 2 days away and you’re out of idea on what to get the mother/daughter/girl/woman in your life? Never fear! I put together a neat little list that you can dash out and purchase something that she’ll hopefully love. I know these things made me swoon and read on to see why!

1) The Tarte Of Giving Collector’s Set & Travel Bag – $59 at Sephora

The Tarte Of Giving Collector’s Set & Travel Bag

The travel bag

The whole layout

The goods

•20 Limited-Edition Amazonian Clay Eye Shadows
•8 Deluxe Maracuja Lipglosses
•Deluxe Pure Maracuja Oil
•Deluxe Maracuja C-Brighter Eye Treatment
•Deluxe Limited-Edition Amazonian 12-Hour Clay Blush in Memorable
•Deluxe Cheek Stain in Flush
•Deluxe Lights, Camera, Lashes 4-In-1 Mascara
•Travel Makeup Bag

What can I say about this? Um, this was the only thing that caught my eye when I was browsing on Sephora right before the F&F sale started. I wanted this so bad for many reasons. First, Tarte is a very good makeup brand. Second, it’s an insanely good price for what you get (retail of items separately is $490). Third, it’s pretty and I like pretty things. Last, I just want it and I don’t know why. I don’t wear makeup on a daily basis at all. I use moisturizer and some eye cream and go. Will this sit unused in my makeup stash? For a while, sure. Do I regret buying it? Hell no! I read that their set from last year sold out very fast so as soon as I got a F&F code, I snapped it up. I saw some about a week ago at my local Sephora in JCPenney store, so even if it’s sold out online you may luck out with your local Sephora or Sephora in JCPenney store.

2) The Tarte Gorgeous Getaways Portable Palette Set – $48 at ULTA

The Tarte Gorgeous Getaways Portable Palette Set

The goods all laid out

•16 Full Size Amazonian Clay Eye Shadows
•4 full size Amazonian 12-Hour Clay Blushes (LE Shades)
•3 full size Maracuja Lipglosses
•Portable Collector’s Compact to take the interchangeable palettes on-the-go

If you’re not close to any Sephora or Sephora in JCPenney store and there’s an ULTA store instead, this is your closest bet to the set from Sephora. It’s a good buy as well and I did find myself wanting it, but since I already got The Tarte Of Giving…..I can’t really justify getting this as well. I did put this on my Holiday list since I was asked to make one and I can’t really think of anything else (some of the stuff from the rest of this list is also from my Holiday list). Total value for this is $433 — a steal for what you’re paying then!

3) Physicians Formula Happy Booster™ Glow & Mood Boosting Illuminating Bronzing Veil – $13.95 or so online and at various mass retailers and drugstores

Physicians Formula Happy Booster™ Glow & Mood Boosting Illuminating Bronzing Veil

It has a long name, but my fiancé has learned that I simply call it “the heart makeup thing” (he got me my first one!). This is still my favorite Physicians Formula item to date. The cuteness of the hearts just sucked me in. Do I need it? No. Do I own it? Yes. In both Light Bronzer and Bronzer shades. The product itself is a nice bronzer with a light dusting of shimmer. Physicians Formula has always been a higher priced brand for a drugstore beauty brand, but I am one patient being. I would wait for the brand to go on sale at drugstores or mass retailers I frequent that carry the brand. In fact, CVS is having their Winter Beauty Clearance event right NOW and I managed to get some backups of this along with other items I don’t own as seen in the post here. So for a couple of bucks, you can get one of these and toss it in their gift bag as something extra or use it as a stocking stuffer gift.

4) Physicians Formula pH Matchmaker pH Powered Lip Gloss – $9.95 or so online and at various mass retailers and drugstores

Physicians Formula pH Matchmaker pH Powered Lip Gloss

I recently got this as part of my prize from a contest the Physicians Formula ran over the summer (see post here). It is the first item I opened from everything I’ve received and I was wowed by it. I was apprehensive about the claims it made that it matches to the pH level of my skin and adjusts within 60 seconds to reflect the perfect lip color for me. But it does work in my opinion. I was actually amazed at how it looked so natural on my lips and just provided a beautiful shine. I didn’t hesitate to grab this item in Pink as well (I received Natural in my prize pack) when it scanned as being on clearance at my local CVS store. The Pink does show up differently than Natural on my lips (as it should); I do see that it isn’t the same as compared to the moment I put it on. It leaves a slight pink tint that goes well with my natural lip color. And this product has a rubber push button on the cap that is used to illuminate the brush for perfect application in the dark (one side of the lip gloss tube holds a slim mirror). It’s one of my favorite lip glosses to date because of all these neat features combined.

5) Physicians Formula Bronze Booster Glow-Boosting Shimmer Veil – $14.95 or so online and at various mass retailers and drugstores

Physicians Formula Bronze Booster Glow-Boosting Shimmer Veil

Why do I want this? I honestly don’t know. But what I do know is that I want to own one to try it out and I used this as a filler item in my list. This is not as widely available as the other Physicians Formula products and I actually had a chance to get one at the CVS closest to my work. But it wasn’t meant to be. Someone has sprayed it out already and I didn’t feel like picking it up in that state even if it was on clearance (it was the last one in the store). I think I do remember seeing it at Walmart though, but I didn’t feel like spending the money for it. The packaging might be part of the lure. It looks like one of those spray bottles from decades ago that I see in old movies and such.

6) Something from Victoria’s Secret – online and in stores

Victoria’s Secret Gift

Why not? It could be something as simple as a gift card or something more personal like silk pajamas. It could be one of their sexy perfumes or pretty lingerie (for that woman in your life!). Whatever it is, I know a lot of women wouldn’t mind getting something from here. Just be sure to get a gift receipt in case of sizing or preference reasons for exchange (hey, can’t win them all!).

P.S. Their semi-annual sale just started online, so she can put that gift card to good use! It will start in stores shortly as well.

7) Kohl’s Soft, warm, fuzzy slippers – online and in stores

Kohl’s Soft, warm, fuzzy slippers

This one’s not on my list at all, BUT Kohl’s is open all day and night until 6 PM tomorrow and you can get this there. Aside from nice slippers to keep her warm, you can grab a robe as well or even some jewelry. Just think of what her preferences and needs are since their taste could be very specific. Is she needing some gloves? Does she like and keep buying warm, fuzzy socks? Last year, my fiancé got me 3 pairs of footwear. He hunted down the black patent strappy heels because he noticed my current pair is frayed and broken down to the point that I used JB Weld on them to keep wearing them. They are comfortable and they go with everything I wear. He got me a blue satin pair from Anne Taylor that he thought I would look great in and that he noted I didn’t have any footwear in blue. The last one is fuzzy lined slippers from L.L.Bean. He has a pair and noticed that sometimes I’d trot around the house in it because it’s soft and warm….so he got me my own! Kohl’s also carry items for the home and kitchen, but it really depends on who you’re shopping for since I know some people who dislike getting kitchen appliances for a Holiday present.

8) Donate to a Charity she holds dear in her heart – various

If there is a specific Charity or cause that means the world to her, giving a gift on behalf of her may bring a smile to her face. I know it will for several other people including myself. I am fortunate enough to be where I am in my life. I like to spread the joy around when I can. And here’s the thing about the Holiday season for me — it’s all about giving and not expecting anything in return. When I get something, it’s just a bonus.

There ya go! I hope this helps y’all out there some. I didn’t put things down like jewelry or cars cause those are huge purchases that are really specific to people’s tastes. Heck, even the ones I listed are pretty specific to people’s tastes (like mine!) but just think of the person and try your best to pick out what you think they’d like if you don’t have anything to go on with. At least this way you did try your best. And make a mental note next year to maybe start shopping earlier? Hehe! 🙂

*All images used are taken from the retailers mentioned.*

One response

  1. Pingback: Holiday 2014 Shopping Ideas | kittypolishnbags

Leave a Reply

