things that Kitty likes

Josie Maran Argan Matchmaker SPF 20 Powder Foundation

Hey guys! Happy Friday! This is the first cold week of the season and while I’m not liking it, I’ve come to accept it and vow to make the most out of it. I started by breaking out my boots and doing some online Holiday shopping! I love giving presents to my loved ones. 🙂 This actually reminded me to break out a product that I’ve tried a few times and put away. I wanted to see how it’d perform in colder weather. Here’s my take on the Josie Maran Argan Matchmaker SPF 20 Powder Foundation.

Josie Maran Argan Matchmaker SPF 20 Powder Foundation

The product description on the back of the box states the following: “Formulated with Argan Matchmaker’s signature Chameleon Pigments and infused with Argan Oil to balance, hydrate and nourish skin, this pressed powder foundation instantly adjusts to match your unique and changing natural skin tone. Skin mattifiers absorb oil while the soft focus finish leaves skin velvety smooth and protected with natural SPF 20. Goes on sheer and builds to full coverage.

How To Use – Achieve your desired finish using the dual-sided sponge. For sheer to medium coverage use the flocked velvety side. For full coverage use the smooth sponge side. Wear alone or over Argan Matchmaker Serum Foundation.” More details provided on the website about this product are as follows:

“0.21 oz

Josie’s Tips: Spending time in the sun increases your risk of skin cancer and early skin aging. To decrease the risk, regularly use a sunscreen with a broad spectrum SPF of 15 or higher and other sun protection measures including:

• limit time in the sun, especially from 10 a.m. – 2 p.m.

• wear long-sleeve shirts, pants, hats, and sunglasses.”

What I love about this product? It comes in a typical powder foundation compact packaging. It’s easy to use and carry. It comes with a mirror inside along with the dual-sided sponge the product description speaks out. Formula is really light. The powder feels smooth and silky between my fingers. I don’t notice that I have it on at all when applied. I don’t use foundation really, so this is something new in my book. I used both sides of the sponge and it worked pretty good as a whole, although I did find the formula more drying when compared to their pressed powder reviewed a while back here. I will say that it does adjust to my skin tone, which is a pleasant surprise. This product comes in 3 different shades and the one I got is Fair/Light. The other 2 available is Light/Medium and Medium/Dark. All carry the SPF 20 feature.

What I don’t like about this product? Probably that it’s more drying than what I need it to be, but I can only imagine how much more drying this would be without the Argan Oil in it. I’m sure some other oil or butter would be used to keep it less drying though. And the other thing is for a powder foundation…..the price is hard to swallow for me. The silver lining in justifying it would be being completely aligned with the brand’s principle in using organic ingredients, using no parabens, having no synthetic frangrances, using recyclable materials, and being cruelty free. That is not something you have a lot of choices for from a drugstore in my opinion (thus, the price tag).

This item retails for $34 and is available on their website as well as other retail locations such as Sephora. To check for other retail locations where products from her line are carried, click here.

*Products in this review have been provided by the PR company or manufacturer for an honest opinion.*

One response

  1. Pingback: IT Cosmetics Celebration Foundation | kittypolishnbags

Leave a Reply

