things that Kitty likes

Josie Maran Argan High Gloss Lip Quench

Hey guys! I know I haven’t been posting everyday this week. I’ve been busy with getting back into the swing of things in life and there are lots of different things going on at work for me. But I’ve always made a point to make time for me first, so the blog just sat and chilled for a few days. 🙂 Today’s post is on another item from Josie Maran’s cosmetics line. Her brand motto of having a little bit of luxury with a conscience really strikes a chord with a lot of people. Anyway, here’s my take on the Josie Maran Argan High Gloss Lip Quench.

Josie Maran Argan High Gloss Lip Quench

The product description on the back of the box states the following: “Saturate your lips with this shiny, moisturizing lip gloss. Formulated with pure Argan Oil—the Liquid Gold of Morocco—and nourishing Jojoba Oil, this lip shine conditions and prevents dryness and chapping. The non-sticky formula contains Murumuru Butter, an all natural skin soother with rich levels of oleic acid to promote skin nutrition and lock in moisture. Perfect for wearing alone or over your favorite lip color, this gloss provides a pop of transparent shine that enhances the look of lips.” I’m guessing some of the ingredients have changed based on more details provided on the website about this product:

“Saturate your lips with Argan Oil, the liquid gold of Morocco. This 100% natural, moisturizing lip gloss also contains nourishing Jojoba Oil to condition and prevent dryness and chapping, and buriti oil an all natural skin soother with rich levels of oleic acid that promote skin nutrition and lock in moisture.

Worn alone or over your favorite lip color, this gloss provides a pop of transparent shine. 8 ml / 0.3 fl oz

Josie’s Tips: Apply on top of Magic Marker Lip Stain to refresh color and create a glossy finish.”

What I love about this product? It comes in a typical lip gloss squeeze tube packaging with gold trim and lettering. The tube is clear so you can see the liquid gold color of the gloss. The doe foot shaped applicator tip dispenses the product to apply onto lips with ease. Just make sure to look at the tip when using it because the hole on the applicator tip is larger to many other lip glosses I’ve tried. The consistency of the product is a little bit on the thick side, but it’s not heavy or sticky at all (which is a huge plus!). It spreads easily and evenly, leaving lips with a glossy shine. I can tell that there is a good oil content with the lip gloss once it hits my lips. It feels different from ALL other lip glosses I’ve tried and it’s quite pleasant. There is a light smell to it…like it smells lightly of oil really (maybe Argan?!). It does a good job moisturizing and I don’t find myself having to reapply it to my lips more than most lip glosses I have tried. Now please note that the version I’m using may be different from what is being sold now wherever Josie Maran products are carried. I did look at the ingredients list online and on the box packaging of the lip gloss I got and they’re slightly different.

What I don’t like about this product? I consider this a high-end lip gloss and the pricing certainly reflects that. I originally balked at the price (yup, I really did!) and thought no way I would ever spend that much on a lip gloss. I looked at the skinny tube and figured it would all be gone in no time and there goes my money. But after almost 2 months, I still have the tube and there’s a decent amount left in it. It’s a nice splurge for your lips and if you’re not objected to plunking the dough down to try it once….it’s certainly worth trying it out. I probably will purchase this again maybe in a year. Kind of using it in between other lip glosses and treatments I have on hand. I don’t mind splurging on myself once in a while. 🙂

This item retails for $16 and is available on their website as well as other retail locations such as Sephora. To check for other retail locations where products from her line are carried, click here.

*Products in this review have been provided by the PR company or manufacturer for an honest opinion.*

One response

  1. Pingback: Curtain Call: Josie Maran Argan High Gloss Lip Quench | kittypolishnbags

Leave a Reply

