things that Kitty likes

Josie Maran Argan Color Stick

Hey guys! Today’s post is on an item from Josie Maran’s cosmetics line. Her brand is popularly known for one of the main ingredients in all of her products: Argan Oil. Here’s my take on the Josie Maran Argan Color Stick.

Josie Maran Argan Color Stick

This item does not come housed in a box. The words inscribed on the cap are as follows:

“argan oil: all-natural, 100% organic, chemical-free beauty secret
antioxidant protection     smoothes fine lines     treats and renews
conditions skin     made with natural and organic ingredients
ultra-hydrating, multi-tasking balm for lips, cheeks…anywhere!
vitamin e & essential fatty acids     rich, penetrating formula
anti-aging benefits     youthful radiance     soothes and heals”

Details provided on the website about this product are as follows:

“The Argan-oil infused color stick is a sheer tint that gives lasting, natural- looking color to cheeks and lips. All shades are designed to flatter every skin tone. The paraben and fragrance free formula contains Josie’s signature ingredient, organic Argan Oil-the world’s richest source of vitamin E and essential fatty acids. Size 0.55 oz / 16 g

Josie’s Tips: For a fresh-scrubbed look, use the Argan Color Stick and keep the rest of your makeup minimal by using a dab of the Argan Lip Treatment and nothing on the eyes but a coat of GOGO Mascara.”

Swatches shown below are 2 easy swipes of the color stick, a dab/dot of product to show pigmentation, and what product looks like on skin when blended with fingers.

Josie Maran Argan Color Stick (in shade)

Josie Maran Argan Color Stick (direct sunlight)

Josie Maran Argan Color Stick (with flash)

What I love about this product? I love the packaging and I don’t mind that it doesn’t come with a box at all. I’m all for using less resources to help out our environment. The tube is a twist up type to dispense more of the product if needed and it comes with a clear plastic cap. It’s pretty much self-explanatory to use really: just dab a little bit on to cheeks and/or lips directly and blend with fingers as needed. Alternatively, you can apply the product onto your fingers and then blend it directly on your face. I like the first method better. A little bit goes a long way. Trust me on this! Just start slow and you can build on it if you need more. Better than putting on too much (my first try was almost a complete disaster!). I usually just dot once on both sides of my face where my cheeks are and work with that. The shade I got is Red and is best described as a “warm brick red” on the website. I love that there are a variety of shades to choose from and they’re all apparently designed to flatter every skin tone. That sounds too good to be true and I can’t really speak for that except for the shade Red that I tried out. My co-worker sisters are both Indian and this shade worked well for them as it did for me (I’m Chinese in ethnicity). The product is more evident on me than compared to their skin tone, but it does work with our 2 different skin tones. I was afraid that there might be some tugging on the skin involved, but the formula is so creamy and it glided onto my skin so smoothly. During the winter, I would expect that I may need to “warm up” the color stick to get the same results since it’s colder and cosmetic products that contains oil tend to firm up more (aka more tugging on skin and such). The scent is where I want to caution my readers on. There is a scent to this product. I would describe it as kind of minty or herbal like rosemary. Scent is very personal and relative to everyone, so I strongly suggest that you find a tester of this before you purchase to see if it’s a scent that you like or can tolerate if you’re not a fan of it. As for me, I love the scent! I do find that the scent doesn’t stick for long, so keep that in mind as well. Staying power is decent for me. I don’t wear makeup on an everyday basis, so seeing some color that looks natural on my face by the end of the day is a win for me. It did fade some during the course of the day. The way I like to use this most is just to add a little bit of color to my face. I’m not a huge fan of this on my lips to be honest, but I did try it and it works. It’s like an easy fix for when you want to get your hands on a lipstick but can’t.

What I don’t like about this product? To be honest, nothing. Not even the price. I don’t have any other product that is similar to it and I actually read another review on this that says these are better than NARS color sticks. Unless I stumble on a similar item that nudges me a bit for whatever reason to try – I intend to stick with this and pick up the other shades available. I like the brand, I like the scent, and I like the results I get from using it.

This item retails for $22 and is available on their website as well as other retail locations such as Sephora. To check for other retail locations where products from her line are carried, click here.

*Products in this review have been provided by the PR company or manufacturer for an honest opinion.*

One response

  1. Pingback: ipsy December 2013 Glam Bag | kittypolishnbags

Leave a Reply

