things that Kitty likes

N.Y.C. Applelicious Glossy Lip Balm

I’ve been trying out a few new-to-me N.Y.C. make-up items since late last week and today’s post is on one that I’ve been using for the past few days. In fact, I have it on my lips today. Here’s N.Y.C. Applelicious Glossy Lip Balm Big Apple Red 356.

N.Y.C. Applelicious Glossy Lip Balm Big Apple Red 356

N.Y.C. Applelicious Glossy Lip Balm Big Apple Red 356

This is described as the following on their website:

“Big City! Big Apple! Big Care! Need a touch of cushiony sweetness in the daily grind of NYC? Only NYC New York Color could find the city’s soft spot with their new deliciously ‘feel good’ APPLELICIOUS lip balm that will deliver color, shine and moisture in one single swipe! Just like the Big Apple itself it’s juicy, shiny and colorfully loud but also reveals a softer and more caring side. Color is fun and fruity and with a hidden apple core of care it’s also delightfully moist. This ‘oh so cute!’ apple-shaped core reinforces the moisturizing properties of the rest of the balm and gives your lips a healthier look! The apple on the cake? A fruity apple scent that will make your lips irresistibly kissable!”

Swatches shown below is 2 swipes on the left and 4 swipes on the right.

N.Y.C. Applelicious Glossy Lip Balm Big Apple Red 356 (in shade)

N.Y.C. Applelicious Glossy Lip Balm Big Apple Red 356 (with flash)

Verdict? The shade I got is Big Apple Red. You simply can’t get more New York than that. And it certainly can’t get any more red than it is for a lip balm. There is more color payoff than I imagined there would be for being a lip balm. It is pretty glossy and very moisturizing. It glided onto my lips smoothly. I don’t find this sticky at all. The only thing that people might watch out for is the scent. My co-worker sisters and I described it close to what we think of a sour apple scent is like. The scent isn’t very subtle, so I’m guessing that people will either love it or hate it. There is no real taste to it. I keep smelling the apple scent when I run my tongue over my lips, but I don’t detect a real taste at all. If you want just a little bit of color on your lips with a lip balm, you can’t go wrong with this item.

N.Y.C. Applelicious Glossy Lip Balm Center (super cute core!)

This can be found in chain drugstores and mass merchandisers nationwide.

*Products in this review have been provided by the PR company or manufacturer for an honest opinion.*

6 responses

  1. NotAPunkRocker

    I’ve been pondering these in the store recently. I am going to give it a try!

    August 19, 2013 at 5:53 PM

    • If there is a tester or an open one that someone else opened, note the scent to see if you like it. I know some people are really particular with scents and it’s not a super light scent. Not too strong, but I wouldn’t call it light at all.

      August 19, 2013 at 5:56 PM

      • NotAPunkRocker

        Thanks for the idea!

        August 19, 2013 at 5:58 PM

    • jen

      I have this and wear it all the time! Its just a sheer wash of color and does a decent job at keeping my lips moisturized! I would say the scent could be an issue for some but I love it – plus its pretty inexpensive so if you don’t like it, you aren’t out a lot of money!

      August 20, 2013 at 8:22 AM

      • NotAPunkRocker

        That’s the way I see it, between that and e.l.f. I won’t be out any more than I spend on colors or formulas from more expensive brands that weren’t quite “right”.

        August 20, 2013 at 9:53 AM

        • Yup! It’s not that bad at all if you end up not liking it much. A very affordable brand!

          August 20, 2013 at 10:47 AM

Leave a Reply

