things that Kitty likes

Josie Maran Argan Illuminizer

Hey guys! Today’s post is on another item from Josie Maran’s cosmetics line. Her brand is all about being eco-friendly with a hint of luxury thanks to a common ingredient across her entire line: Argan Oil. Commonly seen on the packaging of her products are words of wisdom from her:

“I believe in balance.
I believe that doing the right thing is glamorous.
I believe in beauty without the baggage.”

And of course I love this line that she used (taken from her website), “I’m going to change the world one lipstick at a time.” It is now stuck in my head. It’s a sentence so simple and beautiful at the same time. Here’s my take on the Josie Maran Argan lluminizer.

Josie Maran Argan Illuminizer

The product description on the back of the box states the following: “How To Use – Apply alone or mixed with foundation for an instant boost of radiance and natural glow.” More details provided on the side of the box and the website about this product are as follows:

“An ultra light skin brightener with a hint of bronze, giving skin a radiant, luminous, lit-from-within glow that lasts all day. Argan Illuminizer works to eliminate dark circles and rejuvenate sleepy-looking eyes, while Argan Oil conditions and restores the skin. The universal bronze shade is perfect for any skin tone and all skin types. 30 ml / 1 fl oz

Josie’s Tips: Apply to brow bones to draw attention to your eyes.”

Josie Maran Argan Illuminizer (in shade)

Josie Maran Argan Illuminizer (direct sunlight)

Josie Maran Argan Illuminizer (with flash)

What I love about this product? It comes in glass bottle with a pump top that’s easy to use and dispense the product. After initially gauging how much product is dispensed with a full pump, I am able to control how much pressure to use to get the desired amount of product onto my fingertip. The consistency of the product is quite viscous, but not runny at all. It does dry a little bit on the fast side, so the tip stated on the back of the box does help. Incorporating the illuminizer into your foundation, or in my case moisturizer, prolongs the drying time so to speak. It gives me enough time to fully blend the product in the areas I want to apply the product to. I did apply the product by itself all over my face the first time I tried it and it gave me a nice, dewy glow. It did brighten up the area under my eyes as well, which is a pleasant surprise. I really didn’t think it would because of the tint of the product, but it’s not as dark as it looks in the bottle when blended onto the face (see the dollop of the product compared to when it is blended into the skin as shown above). I was nervous it would provide a dark tint to my face much like a bronzer, but this is not the case at all! It’s more light gold than bronze really. I prefer to use this as a highlighter for the most part after I got a crash course from Aprill of Glitter Gloss Garbage on differences between highlighters compared to illuminators (I asked her that right after my first application of a heavy dose of this all over my face). Now, this is just my experience on using this product and your experience may be completely different. You may want to use it all over the face or in specific spots only.

What I don’t like about this product? Just that the product itself dries pretty quick since I need time to blend it in correctly on my face. The first 3 times of using this product felt like a race against time. If I dab it on a tiny bit and leave it there to finish marking all the areas on my face I want the product on, the product has started to dry when I get back to blend the product out in the first spot. I need more time and pressure in blending the product now (picture really shiny golden spots on my face – it is left behind if I don’t use some elbow grease to keep blending it). But this is easily remedied with the foundation or moisturizer trick and you can control how much product is blended with it. I tend to use a little bit less this way and it stretches out how long the bottle will last me, which makes the price very justifiable in my opinion.

This item retails for $28 and is available on their website as well as other retail locations such as Sephora. To check for other retail locations where products from her line are carried, click here.

*Products in this review have been provided by the PR company or manufacturer for an honest opinion.*

One response

  1. Pingback: ipsy January 2015 Glam Bag | kittypolishnbags

Leave a Reply

