things that Kitty likes

Mary Kay Cream Eye Color Violet Storm

Okay guys, here’s the first item I’m reviewing from the Influenster Glamour VoxBox by Mary Kay 2013 that I got. I have only used a cream eye shadow once before this, so I was definitely excited to try this product. Here’s Mary Kay Cream Eye Color Violet Storm.

Mary Kay Cream Eye Color Violet Storm

Mary Kay Cream Eye Color Violet Storm (lighting changed)

Mary Kay Cream Eye Color Violet Storm (close-up)

The Influenster insert described this product as “Soft, creamy, long-wearing formula” and the catalog that came with my box states “.15 oz. Long-wearing (for up to 10 hours). Wear as a primer under mineral eye color or alone.” Directions given are as follows: “Directions: Apply with fingertips or brush. Close lid tightly.” Below are several shots of swatches I took for this product in the shade Violet Storm. Left side is a lighter application and right side is a thicker application.

Mary Kay Cream Eye Color Violet Storm Swatch (in shade)

Mary Kay Cream Eye Color Violet Storm Swatch (lighting changed)

Mary Kay Cream Eye Color Violet Storm Swatch (direct sunlight)

Mary Kay Cream Eye Color Violet Storm Swatch (with flash)

Verdict? This product comes in a standard screw top eye shadow container that I’ve seen commonly used by a lot of cosmetic brands. Formula was good. The eye shadow is really creamy and it applied onto my eyelids smoothly. I used the eye color brush provided in the box to apply the product. I wasn’t sure what the color payoff was and loaded up a decent amount onto the brush for application. It is pretty pigmented and very easy to apply. There is no heaviness in the formula at all. I even forgot I was wearing it. The best part is that it does last a long time. I didn’t have to reapply at all and when I went to take off my makeup at the end of the day, it’s definitely still there – just a little faded at most. I had it on for almost 12 hours. Overall, color me impressed! I’d say this is a good buy for the quality and price.

This retails for $14 and is available through their website (they help hook you up with a representative in your area) or can be purchased from your local Mary Kay representative.

*Products featured here are received complimentary to test through Influenster’s VoxBox program provided by Mary Kay.*

One response

  1. Pingback: Mary Kay Influenster Glamour VoxBox 2013 | kittypolishnbags

Leave a Reply

