things that Kitty likes

Reviva Labs Brighten & Lighten

Hey guys! Today’s blog post is on my take with another Reviva Labs product that I’ve had the opportunity to try. I have been using this everyday for the past 2 months or so with decent results. Here’s Reviva Labs Brighten & Lighten.

Reviva Labs Brighten & Lighten

This facial cleanser comes in a small white push down to open top plastic container. The front of the packaging states the following: “A most unusual FACIAL CLEANSER”, “Deep cleanses as it helps brighten the complexion” and “For all skin types”.

The back of the bottle states this: “Now as we leave skin deeply cleansed, we can also brighten the complexion and help even out skin tone and lighten dark flaws. This facial cleanser features whitening ingredients like mulberry, lime, kojic acid, and vitamin C ester supported by mildly exfoliating lactic acid and corn meal. Even though this unprecedented cleansing formula is particularly beneficial for those with uneven skin tone or discoloration, any skin type – dry or oily – will enjoy its deeper-than-standard cleansing action and complexion-brightening clarifying action.

DIRECTIONS: Apply cleanser to skin with damp hands and massage in gently and slowly with fingertips. Lifts away makeup, dirt, and debris. Rinse off with lukewarm water (or remove with moistened cotton pad), and finish with cool water. Follow with skin toner of choice.”

What I love about this product? It performs what it claims to do to a certain extent. As with lots of their other products, a little goes a long way. The 4 fl oz / 118 ml container lasted me for at least 2 months. I still have some left but I know I’m running out! The texture is creamy and thick, not what I expected out of a regular facial cleanser. It reminds me a bit of what a cream cleanser like L’Oreal Skin Genesis Deep Purifying Foaming Cream Cleanser but without the grit (the polishing micro-beads that the L’Oreal one has). I followed the directions by squeezing a little bit out onto the palm of my hands and applied it onto my face that has been splashed with water. The product spreads about quickly and I use a massaging motion all over my face with my fingertips, avoiding my eyes. I proceed to wash it off my face after a solid minute or so. The creamy texture actually feels very luxurious along with the scent, which I can’t quite pinpoint what it is except that it’s floral. Sometimes I would delay washing it off for another minute or two and just rub the lather on my face gently. It’s very soothing and relaxing. After rinsing it off my face, I pat my face dry with a clean towel. It’s not drying at all – it doesn’t strip the face clean off of its natural oils. As for why I took this long to test it (I got the product in the last quarter of last year), I wanted to wait until it’s the time of the year where my face would be more exposed to the sun. My face is exposed more than the other parts of my body and I have always strived to more or less make sure that my skin tone is even throughout. I figured that in addition to the light SPF of my facial cream or moisturizer that this would help with evening out the skin tone of my face to the rest of my body. I’m Asian and am prone to getting uneven skin tone especially when I have scarring (from mosquito bites usually). The “new” skin would be darker always and it takes a long time for it to fade and even out. While I can’t say that this product works well like comparing between night and day, it does work but it’s a small or gradual change. The skin tone of my face has been keeping up to the rest of my body so far this year (compared to the changes I know of that happens to me every year), but I can’t say that the change is only attributed to this product. I do notice though that any darker spots I have due to pimple scarring (yes, I still get zits at age 31!) has been disappearing faster than I could ever remember.

What I don’t like about this product? Nothing. For the price, this is a very good buy. I will not hesitate purchasing it once I run out for a luxurious facial cleansing experience. I LOVE how rich the texture of this facial cleanser is. Please do note that some people may not like the scent though as that is a very relative thing for everyone. I like it though.

This item retails for about $9.50 and is available on their website as well as on other retailers.

*Products in this review have been provided by the PR company or manufacturer for an honest opinion.*

Leave a Reply

