things that Kitty likes

INOVA Professional Silk Keratin Smooth Protection Sulfate Free Shampoo & Smooth Hydration Conditioner

Hey guys! I know I have been MIA for a while now, but that’s just cause I’ve been obsessively playing this MMO game called Guild Wars 2. If you’re into playing MMOs, you got to check it out at least. It’s pretty cool and I enjoyed every minute of it so far. Today’s post is on a set I’ve been trying for the past few weeks now. Here’s INOVA Professional Silk Keratin Smooth Protection Sulfate Free Shampoo & Smooth Hydration Conditioner.

The shampoo comes in a nicely shaped cylindrical twist open container while the conditioner comes in a typical squeeze tube bottle. The back of the shampoo container states the following:

Silk Keratin Smooth Protection Shampoo
gently cleanses hair of everyday build-up without stripping away treatment, infusing hair with strengthening keratin, nourishing coconut oil, and vitamin-c. Hair rinses feeling smoother and conditioned for increased manageability and shine. Silk Keratin Smooth Protection Shampoo is formulated for all hair types but is ideal for chemically treated or thermo-reconditioned hair.
To Use:
Wet hair and apply Silk Keratin Smooth Protection Shampoo. Massage gently. Rinse thoroughly. Repeat as necessary. For optimal results, follow with Silk Keratin Smooth Hydration Conditioner. Caution: For external use only. Avoid contact with eyes.”

The back of the conditioner tube states the following:

Silk Keratin Smooth Hydration Conditioner
nourishes and moisturizes hair without disturbing any treatment. Hair is infused with strengthening keratin and silk proteins which instantly smooths frizz, detangles, and increases shine. Smooth Hydration Conditioner is formulated for all hair types but is ideal for chemically treated of thermo-reconditioned hair.
To Use:
After washing hair with Silk Keratin Smooth Protection Shampoo, wet hair and evenly apply Silk Keratin Smooth Hydration Conditioner from roots to ends. Massage gently or comb through. Leave on for one minute. Rinse thoroughly. Caution: For external use only. Avoid contact with eyes.”

INOVA Professional Silk Keratin Smooth Protection Sulfate Free Shampoo & Smooth Hydration Conditioner

What I love about these products? After following instructions carefully, it does leave my hair softer and smoother. Tangles are almost non-existent in my long hair (almost to my waist now). I find that the shampoo does not produce as much suds as most other shampoos in the market. But do note that suds or bubbles does not indicate how well a shampoo cleans and does its job. I know this for a fact due to my background in soapmaking. There is an ingredient in many products that is responsible for suds or bubbles. If you put more of it in the correct proportion of the other ingredients, there is an increase in suds or bubbles. The conditioner is very moisturizing. I actually really like it. The smell is very nice and reminiscent of this other brand of shampoo that is very popular in Asian countries called Sunsilk. My hair did lose some volume and my co-worker friends noticed it. They also noted that my hair looks shinier and silkier.

Also, I had one of my co-worker friends try it out just for kicks. My hair is long and straight while hers is naturally wavy and thin. She didn’t feel much of a benefit when trying the products out. She found this very average compared to all the other brands out there. So take note of that too. User experience will vary based on different hair types and such.

What I don’t love about these products? The price pretty much. The 11 fl oz bottle of shampoo sells for $24 while the 7 fl oz conditioner goes for $26. It’s a pretty penny for shampoo and conditioner really. It’s just up to the user and their experience with the products to justify the cost. Another con is I find that the difference in volume between the shampoo and conditioner is a mismatch. I would have to go out and buy another bottle of conditioner before the first bottle of shampoo is used up.

INOVA Professional products are available on their website and at various salons. I have actually tried some of their other products with a much more favorable result compared to these. Stay tuned for that blog post in the future!

*Products in this review have been provided by the PR company or manufacturer for an honest opinion.*

2 responses

  1. Looks good! At the moment I’m trying Cocoa Keratin daily shampoo and conditioner to help extend my keratin treatment (from the same brand), my hair is super smooth. Gotta love keratin 🙂

    September 20, 2012 at 3:15 PM

    • Keratin treatments do work! Just depends on how effective it is for different hair types. It works relatively well for me! Glad you love the products you’re trying!

      September 21, 2012 at 9:36 AM

Leave a Reply

