things that Kitty likes

Curtain Call: Bath & Body Works Pleasures Volumizing Shampoo & Conditioner

Hey, hey! Curtain Call blog post again here! The product up for evaluation and review today is the Bath & Body Works Pleasures Volumizing Shampoo & Conditioner. I got this a while back during one of their semi-annual sale for $3 each. I figured I’d give it a shot, since I’d never really shell out $7 a pop for them.

At 12 fl oz / 355 ml, $3 isn’t too bad for the amount you’re getting. I’m not sure if this line is still currently in production with Bath & Body Works, but I see some bottles of these in the last semi-annual sale. Not sure if they were leftovers or what. The scent up for review is Warm Vanilla Sugar. I know for sure it also comes in Mango Mandarin, but I can’t remember the rest. It comes in a typical flip top plastic bottle. The front text reads “for fine or normal hair”. The back of the container reads the following:

“Experience the seductive fragrance of vanilla steeped in delicious spices.

For Daily Beauty (Shampoo): To add luxurious body and volume to fine or normal hair, massage this gently cleansing shampoo into wet hair. While you lather, weightless moisturizers restore hair’s healthy balance. Rinse thoroughly to reveal hair that is full, radiant and manageable. Follow with warm vanilla sugar volumizing conditioner for ultimate shine and fullness.

For Daily Beauty (Conditioner): Indulge your fine or normal hair with this luxurious, light conditioner that adds body, shine and fullness. After shampooing, squeeze excess water from hair and massage in conditioner, starting at the ends and working up towards the scalp. Formulated to detangle, defrizz and help protect from the elements, this conditioner rinses cleanly away to ensure hair is not weighed down. For maximum body and volume, first wash hair with warm vanilla sugar volumizing shampoo.”

Bath & Body Works Pleasures Volumizing Shampoo & Conditioner

Verdict? I like it, but I’ll pass. It smells great if you like the smell of baked goods. I know some people that absolutely hates bath and body products smelling like food items. It does an okay job as a shampoo, although I don’t feel that it cleans very well after a while of consistent use. I needed to use a clarifying shampoo to remove the build up after a while. Conditioner works as expected, but not as well compared to many others I’ve tried. I feel that it does weigh my hair down a bit when using it. This is based completely on my experience with various shampoos and conditioners I’ve used over the years. I do prefer the scent Mango Mandarin better, so I’ll stick to that one instead if I spot these on sale again this year for $3.

This product can easily be purchased at Bath & Body Works stores and online where available.

4 responses

  1. kat

    where did you find these?! i thought Bath and Body Works discontinued them! I always loved the smell! I am so sad I never got to try a bottle

    May 11, 2012 at 8:41 PM

    • I KNOW! If I see them at this year’s SAS, I’ll let you know!!! They were definitely there the last SAS.

      May 14, 2012 at 5:41 PM

  2. Lisa Ling

    I have REALLY sensitive scalp and skin, and instead of this one, I use the Shielo Volume Shampoo. I love it!

    It’s difficult to find in local stores in my area so I appreciate being able to order it online.My hair is shiney and my scalp is healthy.

    September 17, 2012 at 1:23 PM

    • I will have to look into that one. I’ve never heard of it, but I’m always willing to try new things!

      September 19, 2012 at 3:24 PM

Leave a Reply

