things that Kitty likes

Milani Orchidia

Hey guys! It’s Friday today and I couldn’t be any happier! I woke up from a psycho work dream so….I wasn’t really looking forward to coming in to work today. LOL! I know it’s just a dream, but have you ever had one that feels just SO real? Yep, this was one of them! But anyways, today’s post features another new shade from Milani. Here’s Milani Orchidia.

Milani Orchidia

Orchidia is a pretty violet with the same silvery glass fleck shimmer seen in some of their other shades released at the same time like Sail Away. Boy, it’s shades like this that makes me think twice what kind of finish it really is. But it reminds me a lot of the silvery glass fleck shimmer seen in some China Glaze glass fleck shades like Grape Juice of the Summer Days Collection in 2009. It’s very, very pretty. I think it’d be nice for Easter! Formula was good and it applied onto my nails smoothly. Shown is 2 coats with no top coat.

Milani Orchidia (in shade)

Milani Orchidia (direct sunlight)

Milani Orchidia (close-up)

This shade should now be available in retail stores where Milani is sold. Otherwise, try nabbing it online on their website.

*Products in this review have been provided by the PR company or manufacturer for an honest opinion.*

8 responses

  1. The Spy

    Thats a really nice Spring and Easter color I think. Great swatches.

    March 9, 2012 at 11:17 AM

  2. Super pretty!

    March 9, 2012 at 12:48 PM

  3. kat

    that’s such a pretty shade of purple! never seen that before!

    March 12, 2012 at 3:15 AM

    • It’s new this year! They just released it, so keep your eyes peeled for them!

      March 12, 2012 at 8:14 AM

  4. Hi. First I must tell you that you have the best, truest to color photos of any nail blog I have surfed. Amazing. I was actually looking for a review on Milani’s Orchidia and was happy to discover your blog. I picked up a bottle of this color at CVS and immediately fell in love. My first application was really difficult – streaky and streakier. I thought that maybe I was too tired to do a good mani so I took it off and tonight re-applied soooo carefully. Still that first coat is so weird – the covering is from sheer (no probem) to non existent. Maybe it was old on CVS’s shelf since no one seems to have had that experience. For the price, I’ll pick up another bottle. I am waiting for the second coat to dry and will have to apply a 3rd to even it all out. By any chance do you know of a close, close dup for this color in another brand of polish?
    So happy to have discovered your blog.

    May 12, 2012 at 9:53 PM

    • This one applied really well for me, so it could’ve just been the bottle you got. But I always make sure that people know that my experience may greatly differ from theirs. With that said, it’s also possible the bottle you got has been opened and tried on in the store. I know that I’ve gotten bottles where the formula is just so undesirable that I just went back to get another and it’s perfectly fine!

      I don’t have a dupe or close dupe on top of my head for this one that I can think of right now. If I do, I have your email and will email you about it for sure. Thank you for your super sweet comment! 🙂

      May 14, 2012 at 5:46 PM

Leave a Reply

