things that Kitty likes

Finger Paints Gumdrops & Lollipops Swatches

I’m making this short and sweet. Here’s Finger Paints’ Gumdrops & Lollipops Collection swatches displayed in the order seen in the press release. First up is Lemon Sour.

Finger Paints Lemon Sour

Lemon sour is a yummy yellow creme shade. This is the lightest one in the entire collection. Formula was so-so for a creme shade. Excuse the state of my poor cuticles with this one. I swatched this shade last and it was very beat up by then. Shown is 2 coats with no top coat.

Finger Paints Lemon Sour (in shade)

Finger Paints Lemon Sour (direct sunlight)

Finger Paints Lemon Sour (close-up)

Next up is Circus Peanuts.

Finger Paints Circus Peanuts

Circus Peanuts is the shade I got most comments on via the press release post and on Twitter. This orange creme makes me think of an orange creamsicle or orange sorbet. Mmmm….yum! Shown is 2 coats with no top coat.

Finger Paints Circus Peanuts (in shade)

Finger Paints Circus Peanuts (direct sunlight)

Finger Paints Circus Peanuts (close-up)

Moving on, we have Choco Mint.

Finger Paints Choco Mint

Choco Mint couldn’t have received a more fitting name for the shade. I surprisingly liked this mint green creme more than I thought I would. I had trouble with this shade being that it’s more watery for a creme, so I settled for one thicker coat with no top coat.

Finger Paints Choco Mint (in shade)

Finger Paints Choco Mint (direct sunlight)

Finger Paints Choco Mint (close-up)

Next we have Blue Raspberry Taffy.

Finger Paints Blue Raspberry Taffy

I didn’t like this shade when I initially saw it, but once I got the bottle in my hand…it was almost like love. I eagerly tried this one first and it did not disappoint! Formula is more watery than most creme shades I’ve used, but it’s self-leveling. Shown is 2 coats with no top coat.

Finger Paints Blue Raspberry Taffy (in shade)

Finger Paints Blue Raspberry Taffy (direct sunlight)

Finger Paints Blue Raspberry Taffy (close-up)

Here’s a jelly-ish shade, Pop Rock Pink.

Finger Paints Pop Rock Pink

I really wanted a red shade, so I kind of ignored this one initially. I thought a perfect red candy would be something like Red Hots or something, so why no red? When I put this on, I immediately knew that it’s not just a shimmer. It’s actually a jelly with shimmer! And it has a flash of purple shown in the direct sunlight shot. Since it’s a jelly, I just did an extra coat of my usual 2. Shown is 3 coats with no top coat.

Finger Paints Pop Rock Pink (in shade)

Finger Paints Pop Rock Pink (direct sunlight)

Finger Paints Pop Rock Pink (close-up)

Last up is Grape Gumball.

Finger Paints Grape Gumball

Grape candy, in general, gets no love from me. As a kid, I’ve always associated it with this fever medicine called Tempra. And yep, you guessed it, the flavor is grape. I only liked grape in the form of jams and jellies until probably I went to college. I appreciate the fruit itself. I don’t like wine, so the love affair ends there. Grape Gumball is a purple shimmer that actually does remind me of what the shade of the purple gumball is. The finish reminds me of a glass fleck shade really. Formula for this is a little bit watery than most shimmers I’ve used. Shown is 2 coats with no top coat.

Finger Paints Grape Gumball (in shade)

Finger Paints Grape Gumball (direct sunlight)

Finger Paints Grape Gumball (close-up)

Overall? Love the colors and some actually were better than expected. Formula though is more watery in general. All are more watery than what I expect out of a creme or shimmer shade. They’re self-leveling though, so that helps (while it doesn’t really redeem itself or anything). The cremes are all pastel-ish with the exception of Blue Raspberry Taffy. The shimmers are, well, not really shimmers at all to me. One’s a jelly and the other’s more of a glass fleck to me. That one’s actually pretty bright. These shades will be available soon in Sally Beauty Supply stores and online for $4.99 each.

*Products in this review have been provided by the PR company or manufacturer for an honest opinion.*

2 responses

  1. Pingback: Finger Paints Gumdrops & Lollipops Collection « kittypolishnbags

  2. Pingback: Finger Paints Gumdrops & Lollipops Collection | kittypolishnbags

Leave a Reply

