things that Kitty likes

China Glaze ElectroPop Swatches

Hola! Here are swatches for China Glaze’s Spring offering, ElectroPop. 12 beautiful shades that will work for Spring into Summer. I love collections like these cause you can wear them not just for one season. These are shown in the order of the press release.

First up is Kinetic Candy.

China Glaze Kinetic Candy

Kinetic Candy is described as a “touch the sky in light blue crème” and it’s spot on. It is one of my favorite shades from this entire collection. Formula is good and it dried at a decent amount of time. Shown is 2 coats with no top coat.

China Glaze Kinetic Candy (in shade)

China Glaze Kinetic Candy (direct sunlight)

China Glaze Kinetic Candy (close-up)

Next up is Electric Beat.

China Glaze Electric Beat

Electric Beat is a periwinkle creme shade that reminds me of China Glaze Secret Peri-wink-le from their Operation Color Collection released a few years back. Formula is good. It applied onto my nails easily. Shown is 2 coats with no top coat.

China Glaze Electric Beat (in shade)

China Glaze Electric Beat (direct sunlight)

China Glaze Electric Beat (close-up)

Next is a popular one called Aquadelic.

China Glaze Aquadelic

Aquadelic is described as “pool blue for nighttime gigs and daytime fun in the sun”. This bright number is a pleasant addition to my collection. I love the formula for this and what a shiny finish it has even when it’s close to being neon bright! Shown is 2 coats with no top coat.

China Glaze Aquadelic (in shade)

China Glaze Aquadelic (direct sunlight)

China Glaze Aquadelic (close-up)

Then we have Gaga For Green.

China Glaze Gaga For Green

Gaga For Green is described as a “green lacquer for the girl craving the limelight”. I like greens, but this one isn’t making it on my love list. While formula is nice for this green creme, I don’t see this having a place in my collection. I initially thought it would be brighter than what it actually is. Shown is 2 coats with no top coat.

China Glaze Gaga For Green (in shade)

China Glaze Gaga For Green (direct sunlight)

China Glaze Gaga For Green (close-up)

Next is a bright one called Sunshine Pop.

China Glaze Sunshine Pop

Sunshine Pop is a bright yellow shimmer. I didn’t think this was a shimmer based on the initial shots, so this is a pleasant surprise. I love shimmers and this is no exception. Formula is great and it glided onto my nails smoothly. Shown is 2 coats with no top coat.

China Glaze Sunshine Pop (in shade)

China Glaze Sunshine Pop (direct sunlight)

China Glaze Sunshine Pop (close-up)

Next up is Make Some Noise.

China Glaze Make Some Noise

Make Some Noise is described as a tangerine by the brand. It looks more like a red creme that’s leaning orange especially under sunlight. I found the formula of this shade to be a little on the gloopy side. Shown is 2 coats with no top coat.

China Glaze Make Some Noise (in shade)

China Glaze Make Some Noise (direct sunlight)

China Glaze Make Some Noise (close-up)

Next is a shade I was curious about called Wicked Style.

China Glaze Wicked Style

Described as a “party cocktail tropical punch”, it looked much brighter from the initial shots released. This pretty pink creme applied smoothly onto my nails. Shown is 2 coats with no top coat.

China Glaze Wicked Style (in shade)

China Glaze Wicked Style (direct sunlight)

China Glaze Wicked Style (close-up)

Here’s another favorite of mine called Fuchsia Fanatic.

China Glaze Fuchsia Fanatic

Described as a “fuchsia pink for the rocker diva in us all”, this shade is my favorite creme in this collection. I love how bright and bold this shade is. Formula is excellent. Shown is 2 coats with no top coat.

China Glaze Fuchsia Fanatic (in shade)

China Glaze Fuchsia Fanatic (direct sunlight)

China Glaze Fuchsia Fanatic (close-up)

Next up is Gothic Lolita.

China Glaze Gothic Lolita

Gothic Lolita is a pretty purple shimmer. I didn’t realize this is a shimmer until I had the bottle in my hands. Formula is good and it dried pretty fast. Shown is 2 coats with no top coat.

China Glaze Gothic Lolita (in shade)

China Glaze Gothic Lolita (direct sunlight)

China Glaze Gothic Lolita (close-up)

Next is a shade called Dance Baby.

China Glaze Dance Baby

Dance Baby is described as a “cotton candy pink” shade and I think it’s pretty accurate. It’s a light pink creme with a decent formula. Shown is 2 coats with no top coat.

China Glaze Dance Baby (in shade)

China Glaze Dance Baby (direct sunlight)

China Glaze Dance Baby (close-up)

Last non-glitter shade in the collection is Sweet Hook.

China Glaze Sweet Hook

Dance Baby is described as a “dreamy lilac”. This shade is a very light lilac creme, too light for my taste. But that’s just me. Just like Make Some Noise, the formula for this is kind of gloopy. Shown is 2 coats with no top coat.

China Glaze Sweet Hook (in shade)

China Glaze Sweet Hook (direct sunlight)

China Glaze Sweet Hook (close-up)

Last shade up is a familar one called Techno.

China Glaze Techno

Techno is a shade that was released originally with their Specialty Collection. It was a collection of 50 shades (I got most of the glitters) released in 2009 I think. This is described as “glitter confetti polish for a dazzling topcoat finish or all over finger tip bling”. Shown is 1 coat with no top coat.

China Glaze Techno (in shade)

China Glaze Techno (direct sunlight)

China Glaze Techno(close-up)

Overall, pretty good. I like the formula on most of them and my initial disappointment of an all creme collection, with the exception of Techno, is short-lived. Gothic Lolita and Sunshine Pop being shimmers totally surprised me and I ended up liking them a lot. The only thing I didn’t like as much was there’s too many red/pink/purple cremes, but I can live with that. Fuchsia Fanatic and Aquadelic are totally must-haves in my book.

These are available at ULTA and Sally Beauty Supply stores. Word around is that they’re selling out fast. I didn’t see any left at my ULTA, but check your store or call your Sally Beauty Supply stores for availability.

Which shades will you be picking up?

*Products in this review have been provided by the PR company or manufacturer for an honest opinion.*

9 responses

  1. Pingback: China Glaze ElectroPop Collection « kittypolishnbags

  2. Gothic Lolita and Sweet Hook are my favorites from this collection!

    March 8, 2012 at 5:15 PM

    • Gothic Lolita was great. As long as you got a bottle with better formula for Sweet Hook, it’s a pretty color. Just a wee bit too light for my liking, but it’s pretty!

      March 8, 2012 at 6:26 PM

  3. beachgal12

    Great shots. I was late on deciding if I wanted/needed any of these. They hit me too soon after holiday and I just was too overwhelmed and not ready for these summer shades. I got to Sally’s really late and they only had a couple. I was lucky to pick up the Fuchsia one, Gothic Lolita (shocked they had that one left) & one last ElectroBeat – so I did get lucky. A friend had given me the glitter Techno – I am ho-hum over that one being a bit over-glittered these days. I might be able to find a couple more of these along the way, but not going to fuss if I don’t. I managed to nab what I think are really good shades.

    March 8, 2012 at 6:14 PM

    • This collection did wow me a bit more than their Fall one last year as a whole. You managed to get some shades that I’m shocked were left! Good job! I’m in the same situation you are with their Capitol Colours Collection. Since I didn’t get those yet, I’m just set to get the ones I really like and that’s only about half of the entire collection. I won’t fuss either if I miss it. I only REALLY want 2 shades from it.

      March 8, 2012 at 6:29 PM

  4. Anonymous

    Love the Gothic Lolita !!

    March 8, 2012 at 6:48 PM

  5. Spy

    I think fuchsia is my favorite of them all. Great swatches like always

    March 8, 2012 at 8:52 PM

Leave a Reply

