things that Kitty likes

Valentine’s Look with Violent Lips and Nail Rock

Sooo….Valentine’s is soon creeping up and I had this idea of pairing a lip tattoo from Violent Lips and nail wraps from Nail Rock for a fitting look. I had some trouble with the Nail Rock nail wraps, but I think more practice with this will yield stunning results. I had the perfect lip tattoo picked out for it.

Enter Violent Lips temporary lip tattoo in The Red Glitterati. I matched this with Nail Rock designer nail wraps in Metallic Silver.

Violent Lips The Red Glitterati & Nail Rock Silver Metallic

I’ve used lip tattoos from Violent Lips before, so application was very easy for me. It’s pretty straightforward really. Measure the lip tattoo against your lips, cut to the size and shape needed for both upper and lower lips, take off the plastic backing on the sticky side and place against your lips stretched out, and apply moisture by dabbing a wet cotton ball or wet fingers on the cardboard side. The cardboard will soon slide off and you can pat out the creases with wet fingers and apply lip gloss over it. These lip tattoos have always lasted me for up to 12 hours. I just eat and drink carefully when I have them on.

Now these Nail Rock designer nail wraps is another story. I absolutely love the foil shine with this pattern and had really high hopes for this product. I followed the instructions located on the back of the packet and that was my first mistake. The instructions listed is a condensed version. I didn’t even bother stretching the nail wraps much because I didn’t think I have to or was supposed to. The result was some wrinkly parts of the nail wraps on my nails. I then read the instructions located on a sheet inside the packed. This one had a couple more steps and actually stated to stretch the nail wraps. The result is a much better fit for my nails. As you can see in the picture, my ring finger looks like it had the almost perfect application while the pointing and pinky fingers in particular looks like nail wraps gone wild. That’s the difference with the instructions on the back of the packet and included inside the packet. Now, even when I did follow the instruction, I couldn’t quite get it to behave the way it’s supposed to as you can see on my middle finger. I took off the very wrinkly nail wrap and decided to give it a go again on that finger. I followed the instructions carefully, but still could not get the same result as I did with my ring finger. For fingernails that are more curved, you will need to do more stretching for it to fit well. Another thing is compared to other nail decal or polish strips type of products, I find that Nail Rock designer nail wraps are less pliable. This in turn makes me hesitant to stretch too much. I certainly don’t want to compromise the lovely print, which I must say is awesome….it’s like a mirror finish almost!

What I really love about this product is that it’s pretty easy to apply (just follow the instructions IN the packet), it does last a long time (7 days for me even with those darn creases), and the huge bonus for me: unlike similar products from other brands, any leftover strips will keep well for another use. Yes, you read it right. 2 of my favorite brands for this type of product is Sally Hansen and Incoco. The problem I have with those is that if I manage to have some leftovers, I can’t keep it for another use. The adhesiveness disappear, even if you store it in an airtight plastic bag. Such a waste.

With that said, I still have 2 patterns or prints on hand to try my hand again with this and I do anticipate better results. And yes, I am definitely buying this product again…in the Metallic Silver or their other metallic prints. I love how you can achieve that look on your nails. It’s really stunning.

Violent Lips can be purchased online here and I’ve spotted them at my local ULTA store. Nail Rock products can be purchased online here for UK customers and for US customers, they’re available at Nordstrom retail locations and on www.nordstrom.com.

*Products in this review have been provided by the PR company or manufacturer for an honest opinion.*

16 responses

  1. I really want to try some of these violent lips tattoos, they are awesome!

    January 22, 2012 at 4:40 PM

    • They’re really easy to use and you’ll get tons of questions from others with the prints. They’re trying to figure out how you did the prints on your own!

      January 22, 2012 at 5:03 PM

  2. Those nail wraps look unreal! They just look like metal sheets!

    January 22, 2012 at 5:37 PM

    • Yes! I’ll buy this particular one again and use it when I get the hang of using these better! 🙂

      January 22, 2012 at 6:05 PM

  3. beachgal12

    These red lips look amazing…I never heard of Violent Lip tats before -where to get them? A stunning look with the ‘out of this world’ beyond metallic silver appliques.

    January 22, 2012 at 6:25 PM

  4. love the lips. I had a horrible time trying to apply them – totally challenged when it comes to measuring. lol

    January 22, 2012 at 6:52 PM

    • This was my second time trying this pattern. The first time was a fail because I stretched my lips too wide. I had forgotten how to use them a bit! I got everything down but that. When I tried again, easy peasy!

      January 23, 2012 at 8:15 AM

  5. Those look super “minx”. Love the nails girl. If they come in gold foil, I’m sold!

    January 22, 2012 at 8:19 PM

  6. Love your lipstick , its gorgeous

    January 22, 2012 at 11:35 PM

    • Thank you! I certainly couldn’t have done it without these lip tattoos!

      January 23, 2012 at 8:16 AM

  7. Sam

    They turned out really well! It has taken me a few tries to get them down, but once I did I am able to put them on quickly. They are a lot of fun to wear when I go out on weekends!

    January 23, 2012 at 1:34 PM

    • Glad to hear your feedback on them! No complaints on the lip tattoos here and I just have to try again with the nail wraps. As I mentioned in my post, it’ll be better the next time I try. I’m sure of it!

      January 23, 2012 at 1:50 PM

  8. Pingback: Sweet Valentine’s Look with Violent Lips and Incoco « kittypolishnbags

  9. Pingback: Sweet Valentine’s Look with Violent Lips and Incoco | kittypolishnbags

Leave a Reply

