things that Kitty likes

China Glaze Eye Candy Swatches

I finally got swatches done! I was actually really excited about this collection. It didn’t impress me as much as I thought it would, but it’s not a disappointing collection at all. After all, these are glitters and glitters are almost always a WIN in my book. I’ll be showing these in the order of the press release.

First up is Love Marilyn.

China Glaze Love Marilyn

The description of “vivacious red with shimmering silver particles” is pretty much spot on. Love Marilyn is a beautiful red glitter shade with a dash of silver in it. I do believe that every collection should have a red. Application is tricky for me with this one. It leans on the thinner side compared to all the other shades in this collection, but it’s not unmanageable. Shown is 2 coats with no top coat.

China Glaze Love Marilyn (in shade)

China Glaze Love Marilyn (direct sunlight)

China Glaze Love Marilyn (close-up)

Next shade up is Blonde Bombshell.

China Glaze Blonde Bombshell

Blonde Bombshell is a gold glitter shade. It is made up of the common gold glitter with some larger round hex-shaped glitter. It’s a very pretty shade, but nothing really new from what we’ve all seen. Formula was pretty good for this one. Shown is 2 coats with no top coat.

China Glaze Blonde Bombshell (in shade)

China Glaze Blonde Bombshell (direct sunlight)

China Glaze Blonde Bombshell (close-up)

Then we have Lorelei’s Tiara.

China Glaze Lorelei's Tiara

“Sterling silver infused with blue sprinkles” is how this one is described. This is the shade that I surprisingly loved. I didn’t think much about it when I saw the preview pictures, but this is one of my favorites from the entire collection. Application was a breeze with this one. It went on very nice and smooth. Definitely gave glitters a good name! Shown is 2 coats with no top coat.

China Glaze Lorelei's Tiara

China Glaze Lorelei's Tiara

China Glaze Lorelei's Tiara

Up next is one that makes me think of Madonna, Material Girl.

China Glaze Material Girl

Material Girl has basically the same types of glitter as Blonde Bombshell except that the color of the glitters is pink instead of gold. Application was relatively easy for this one and it dried fast. The sunlight shot was taken when the sun was hiding behind the clouds for a while, so that’s the best one I got of it. Shown is 2 coats with no top coat.

China Glaze Material Girl (in shade)

China Glaze Material Girl (direct sunlight)

China Glaze Material Girl (close-up)

Next is my favorite, Some Like It Haute.

China Glaze Some Like It Haute

Described as “graphite gray with holographic glitter”, Some Like It Haute is made up of gray and silver common glitter with some round hex-shaped holographic glitter in a clear base. As far as I can tell when applying this onto my nails, the base of this is clear. Formula was good, which made application easy. Shown is 2 coats with no top coat.

China Glaze Some Like It Haute (in shade)

China Glaze Some Like It Haute (direct sunlight)

China Glaze Some Like It Haute (close-up)

Last up is Marry A Millionaire.

China Glaze Marry A Millionaire

This one makes me think of Mardi Gras. Marry A Millionaire is the only glitter shade in this collection with bar glitter. The glitters in this shade are gold, purple and bluish green….definitely the reason why it reminds me of Mardi Gras. I absolutely love this shade. Formula is good and it dried very fast. Shown is one thicker coat with no top coat.

China Glaze Marry A Millionaire (in shade)

China Glaze Marry A Millionaire (direct sunlight)

China Glaze Marry A Millionaire (close-up)

Overall, not bad. I was a bit let down with Blonde Bombshell and Material Girl for being just ordinary, but Lorelei’s Tiara and Marry A Millionaire totally caught me by surprise. I really like those 2 a lot. And my favorite of the group, Some Like It Haute, did not disappoint when under the sun.

These are available at ULTA and Sally Beauty Supply stores. Word around is that they’re selling out fast. I didn’t see any left at my ULTA, but check your store or call your Sally Beauty Supply stores for availability.

Which shades will you be picking up?

*Products in this review have been provided by the PR company or manufacturer for an honest opinion.*

8 responses

  1. Pingback: China Glaze Eye Candy Collection « kittypolishnbags

  2. LuLu

    Maybe I’m wrong but it seems most of these look a lot like other polishes that have been released recently (Wet n wild, SH, OPI etc), minus Marry a Millionaire. I’m thinking mayyyybeeee I should have bought MaM despite not being huge on glitters because it got cuter the more I looked at it. Regret!

    January 16, 2012 at 12:35 PM

    • I think that OPI has some that are similar, but their color combos are different. I think OPI uses more of the larger hex glitters in silver. But Marry A Millionaire is unique in my book for sure. I don’t see anything I own like it or can think of something similar out there right now. Lorelei’s Tiara may have something very similar to a shade in Sally Hansen Gems, but I haven’t had a chance to look at that collection mostly. I don’t own that yet.

      Don’t regret! It may still be available at your local ULTA or Sally Beauty Supply store!

      January 16, 2012 at 12:57 PM

  3. beachgal

    I bought Some Like It Haute out of this collection. Sally’s did not get the pink or lavender on for their shops to carry – hate that when CG does that to us.

    January 16, 2012 at 7:46 PM

    • Wha?! They only got half of it?! Ugh! I know that ULTA carried them all at one point, but it came out during the Holidays. Not much left by now.

      January 17, 2012 at 8:32 AM

  4. I’m so your opposite, I cannot get enough of Material Girl and Blonde Bombshell, Some Like it Haute was my least favorite! So funny 🙂 I am in LOVE with your photos, by the way, there’s nothing worse than going to a blog and getting teeny tiny photos!

    February 1, 2012 at 5:38 PM

    • Thank you for your kind words! I know my one-finger swatch doesn’t work for everyone, but I can blow the pictures up that way without cropping or having readers click on them really. I really appreciate hearing that! 🙂

      February 1, 2012 at 5:50 PM

  5. Pingback: China Glaze Prismatic Collection « kittypolishnbags

Leave a Reply

