things that Kitty likes

Curtain Call: Neutrogena Oil-Free Acne Wash

Make no mistake with the name of this product. It does say “Acne Wash” but underneath that says “redness soothing gentle scrub”. I classify this one as a facial scrub then. Another product has reached the end of its life under my use. How did it fare? Read on to find out. Here’s Neutorgena Oil-Free Acne Wash.

At 4.2 fl oz / 124 ml, this retails for $7.99 at CVS and is similarly priced at various retail and drugstores. It goes on sale for ECB deals from time to time and combined with coupons from your weekly Sunday paper or through tearpads in the store, this can get very cheap. The whole tube lasted me for about 3 months for daily usage in the morning and at night. To use, I just wet my face and squeeze a small amount on my palm to apply it on my face in a massaging motion. I wash it off and dry my face with a towel in a patting motion. The front text reads “clears breakouts & reduces redness”. Also spotted are “naturally soothing aloe and chamomile” and “salicylic acid acne treatment”. The back of the tube states the following:

“With naturally soothing aloe and chamomile, this gentle scrub powerfully clears away breakouts and blackheads without over-drying and visibly reduces redness caused by acne. Unique formula calms irritation, while gentle microbeads smooth away roughness. Skin looks and feels clearer, smoother and healthier.

Sunburn Alert: This product contains an alpha hydroxy acid (AHA) that may increase your skin’s sensitivity to the sun and particularly the possibility of sunburn. Use a sunscreen, wear protective clothing, and limit sun exposure while using this product and for a week after use.”

Neutrogena Oil-Free Acne Wash

Verdict? It works as expected from a facial scrub. Maybe a little bit gentler than the typical facial scrub, but not by much really. Definitely no complaints in that area for me though. My face feels soft and fresh after a good exfoliating session when using it. I didn’t find it too harsh for my face or drying, but your experience may differ from mine based on skin type and basic differences in how our bodies respond to things. As mentioned in previous blog entries for facial scrubs, if your skin is on the sensitive side then this probably is not the ideal facial cleanser to use daily. But for me, this works well and onto my list of facial scrubs and cleansers it goes. The only negative I see with this product is that it is a bit pricier than that of other brands. Is it because of the product claims? I couldn’t tell if this product does clear away breakouts and blackheads (since I only have a little bit of blackheads really), but it definitely doesn’t dry out my skin after use.

This product can easily be purchases in various retail and drugstores such as Walmart, Target, ULTA, CVS, and Walgreens. It is also available online at various websites that carry beauty and personal care products.

2 responses

  1. Pingback: Curtain Call: Neutrogena Oil-Free Acne Wash « kittypolishnbags | What is Acne

  2. Pingback: Acne » Archive » Curtain Call: Neutrogena Oil-Free Acne Wash « kittypolishnbags

Leave a Reply

