things that Kitty likes

Hard Candy Limited Edition Holiday Nail Polish 2011

If you still have some stockings to fill for a nail polish lover and haven’t even hit Walmart yet, you might want to now! These are only $1 each and most of them fared very well with me. Here are the limited edition shades from Hard Candy for Holiday 2011.

Hard Candy Limited Edition Holiday Nail Polish 2011

These have no names to them so we’ll just go by color. First up is the orange. This one has a foil finish and dries matte. I used a top coat in the last shot to show how it shines with it. Formula for this one is on the thin side, but dries very fast. It’s sheer when you apply thinner coats. I used 3 for this one.

Hard Candy Limited Edition Holiday Nail Polish 2011 Orange (direct sunlight)

Hard Candy Limited Edition Holiday Nail Polish 2011 Orange (in shade)

Hard Candy Limited Edition Holiday Nail Polish 2011 Orange (with top coat)

Next up is the blue. This one has the same finish as the orange. Formula was thicker than the orange and applied better. This one’s more opaque than the orange. I used 2 coats for this.

Hard Candy Limited Edition Holiday Nail Polish 2011 Blue (direct sunlight)

Hard Candy Limited Edition Holiday Nail Polish 2011 Blue (in shade)

Hard Candy Limited Edition Holiday Nail Polish 2011 Blue (with top coat)

Here we have the pink. Same story as the previous 2 shades, has a foil finish and dries matte. Formula is more similar to the orange one. It looks more glass fleck though with the top coat. It might be the angle or lighting. It’s a little bit on the sheer side. I went back to using 3 coats for this one to even it out.

Hard Candy Limited Edition Holiday Nail Polish 2011 Pink (direct sunlight)

Hard Candy Limited Edition Holiday Nail Polish 2011 Pink (in shade)

Hard Candy Limited Edition Holiday Nail Polish 2011 Pink (with top coat)

Next we have the green. This one has a different finish than the previous 3. This is made up of green and gold glitter in a green jelly base. It dries to a glossy finish. The smell of this one is quite different from the other 3. It’s much stronger and reminds me of the formula from the good ‘ol days. Formula is great and this applied beautifully. It’s pretty sheer, so I stopped at 2 coats when swatching to show that.

Hard Candy Limited Edition Holiday Nail Polish 2011 Green (direct sunlight)

Hard Candy Limited Edition Holiday Nail Polish 2011 Green (in shade)

Hard Candy Limited Edition Holiday Nail Polish 2011 Green (look at how squishy this is!)

We go back to the matte finish with the purple. The only difference with this shade compared to the other 3 matte shades is that the base of this is shimmer rather than foil. It has tiny pink glittery particles mixed in. Formula was okay. I used 2 coats for this.

Hard Candy Limited Edition Holiday Nail Polish 2011 Purple (direct sunlight)

Hard Candy Limited Edition Holiday Nail Polish 2011 Purple (in shade)

Hard Candy Limited Edition Holiday Nail Polish 2011 Purple (with top coat)

Now we have my favorite among all 8, black. I didn’t expect much from this shade, but it surprised me a lot! It’s a gorgeous black shade with silver glitter. This one dried glossy. Formula was great and it smelled just like the green one. Shown is 2 coats.

Hard Candy Limited Edition Holiday Nail Polish 2011 Black (direct sunlight)

Hard Candy Limited Edition Holiday Nail Polish 2011 Black (in shade)

Next up is gold. Like the green one, this is meant more for a glitter top coat. This shade is basically gold glitter in a slightly yellow (tinted yellow maybe?) base. It looks so squishy and jelly-ish. Formula was very good and the smell again is similar to the green and black. I sense a trend here with the glossy finish shades in terms of smell. Hmmmmm……that may just be me though. I used 2 coats for this one.

Hard Candy Limited Edition Holiday Nail Polish 2011 Gold (direct sunlight)

Hard Candy Limited Edition Holiday Nail Polish 2011 Gold (in shade)

Last shade is silver. I can’t quite remember if this one smelled like the green, black and gold. The finish is not glossy really, leaning toward the matte side. This shade is a silver foil shade that’s sheer. Another one meant to be used for layering over other shades. Formula was easy to work with and dries fast. Shown is 2 coats. For some reason, I didn’t even bother using a top coat with this one even when it didn’t dry glossy.

Hard Candy Limited Edition Holiday Nail Polish 2011 Silver (direct sunlight)

Hard Candy Limited Edition Holiday Nail Polish 2011 Silver (in shade)

What I love about this product? Even though it comes at a smaller size of 4 ml / 0.14 fl oz, you can’t go wrong for $1. Regular sized bottles comes to $5, so this is actually a good price for them! There is a good variety to choose from (8 shades) and is pretty accessible for most (available at Walmart). Some of these finish are more glass fleck than foil, but it doesn’t matter in the big picture. How pretty they are makes it a WIN situation for me.

What I don’t like about this product? Formula is not consistent, but for the price and the lovely shades…..it doesn’t even faze me.

This item retails for $1 each and are available exclusively at Walmart. For the price, it’s worth it compared to similar items from other brands for more than double the price of these. I’ll be hunting down backups for the black, gold and silver definitely.

*Products in this review have been provided by the PR company or manufacturer for an honest opinion.*

12 responses

  1. MissMidnightBlue

    I only found 4 of these.. where are the other 4? I think I need to get another green one. 🙂

    December 12, 2011 at 11:23 AM

    • Wha?! They should all be there! Don’t tell me they started selling out now! I haven’t gotten my backups yet! 😦

      December 12, 2011 at 12:16 PM

  2. MissMidnightBlue

    I don’t know. 😦 If I see any which do you want? 🙂

    December 12, 2011 at 6:09 PM

    • Definitely the black, gold and silver. But don’t worry about it today at least. I think I’m going to see if I can hunt for it tonight. 😀 I’ll let you know.

      December 12, 2011 at 6:20 PM

  3. These are just adorable. 😀

    December 13, 2011 at 9:31 AM

  4. kat

    All the colors look gorgeous on you!

    December 15, 2011 at 1:47 AM

  5. MissDoll

    They are so sweet looking specially first three are lovely

    December 15, 2011 at 5:36 AM

    • They have the same type of finish. They look better with a top coat on!

      December 15, 2011 at 9:05 AM

  6. My local Walmart never stocks anything new or good in the polish. So I’m sure I won’t get my hands on these.

    December 19, 2011 at 1:26 AM

    • Check the Holiday section. These are in their $1 Holiday section!

      December 20, 2011 at 10:36 AM

Leave a Reply

