things that Kitty likes

Finger Paints Merry & Bright Swatches

So how does Finger Paints Merry & Bright Collection look in person compared to the press release? Read on! First up is Frosty Night.

Finger Paints Frosty Night

Frosty Night is a plain silver glitter shade. The silver glitter suspended in clear base isn’t the kind that gives of any holographic properties when light hits it. It’s just plain silver. Formula is a little bit goopy, but manageable to work with. Shown is 2 thin coats with no top coat.

Finger Paints Frosty Night (in shade)

Finger Paints Frosty Night (direct sunlight)

Finger Paints Frosty Night (close-up)

Next up is Winter Sky.

Finger Paints Winter Sky

Winter Sky is the shimmery shade that surprised me the most. I didn’t expect it to look the way it did. I don’t have anything quite like it, but I am not completely in love with this shade either. Shown is one thicker coat with no top coat.

Finger Paints Winter Sky (in shade)

Finger Paints Winter Sky (direct sunlight)

Finger Paints Winter Sky (close-up)

Then we have Yule Be Merry.

Finger Paints Yule Be Merry

Yule Be Merry surprised me with the slightly blue or purple flash I see especially under direct sunlight. It’s a pretty magenta shimmer shade and probably my favorite in this collection just cause of the color. Shown is 2 thin coats with no top coat.

Finger Paints Yule Be Merry (in shade)

Finger Paints Yule Be Merry (direct sunlight)

Finger Paints Yule Be Merry (close-up)

The green in this bunch is called Comet’s Collar.

Finger Paints Comet's Collar

Another shade that surprised me is this one. I did not expect Comet’s Collar to have glass fleck-ish shimmer. The green in this shade leans yellow. Formula for this is pretty decent. Shown is 2 thin coats with no top coat.

Finger Paints Comet's Collar

Finger Paints Comet's Collar

Finger Paints Comet's Collar

The red in this Holiday Collection is called Santa Kisses.

Finger Paints Santa Kisses

To be honest, I was disappointed with this one. It’s just plain red glitter in a clear base. We’ve seen it done over and over again, so this is nothing new. The glitter isn’t very bright either to wow me. There are lots of other better red glitter shades out there. Shown is 2 thin coats with no top coat.

Finger Paints Santa Kisses (in shade)

Finger Paints Santa Kisses (direct sunlight)

Finger Paints Santa Kisses (close-up)

Finger Paints Santa Kisses (with flash)

Last shade in this bunch is called Drummer Boy.

Finger Paints Drummer Boy

I know a lot of readers were curious about this shade in particular. Well, Drummer Boy is a plain blue glitter shade. I like the shade of blue, makes me think of the blue and silver color combination for the Holidays. Out of all 3 glitters in this collection, I think this is the one I like the most. Shown is 2 thin coats with no top coat.

Finger Paints Drummer Boy (in shade)

Finger Paints Drummer Boy (direct sunlight)

Finger Paints Drummer Boy (close-up)

Overall? I’m a bit disappointed with this collection in comparison to other brands’ Holiday offerings. But not all is lost. A lot of these shades still managed to pleasantly surprise me, but it’s not enough to make me jump for joy. I think their last year’s collection really nailed it and this pales in comparison to that. Formula is pretty standard for shimmers and a bit on the goopy side for glitters. The glitter shades leaves some grittiness to the touch, but not as rough as sandpaper or the texture of concrete. These shades are available in Sally Beauty Supply stores and online for $4.99 each.

*Products in this review have been provided by the PR company or manufacturer for an honest opinion.*

4 responses

  1. Pingback: Finger Paints Merry & Bright Collection « kittypolishnbags

  2. Not sure after seeing all of the different swatches if I’m crazy about any of them! No Finger Paints for me~

    November 2, 2011 at 11:05 AM

  3. MissMidnightBlue

    yeah I’m not to impressed either. Maybe just the green, then again I’m not really sure. I think I’m just gonna leave this one alone..

    November 2, 2011 at 3:43 PM

    • Me too. Nicole by OPI Holiday is the only one I’m impressed with so far!

      November 2, 2011 at 4:10 PM

Leave a Reply

