things that Kitty likes

Mattese Elite Zombie Swatches

Tomorrow’s Halloween! I already had my Halloween fun, but if you’re still looking for a shade to sport on your nails that goes with your outfit (and you’re in NYC!) check out Mattese Elite’s Zombie Collection. After all, you still have today and tomorrow to finish up your outfit. 😉

Let’s start off with Undead Pink.

Mattese Elite Undead Pink

This one’s my favorite in the entire collection. It’s a sheer duochrome! The duochrome property doesn’t show much at all in the pictures, but I can vouch for it. It reminds me a lot of Zoya Dharma. I have it, but I haven’t gotten around to doing a comparison yet. Something for later! Formula was great. Shown is 2 thin coats with no top coat.

Mattese Elite Undead Pink (in shade)

Mattese Elite Undead Pink (direct sunlight)

Mattese Elite Undead Pink (close-up)

Next, we have Dead Punk Rocker.

Mattese Elite Dead Punk Rocker

If there is a shade in this collection that would match a dead punk rocker, this would definitely be it. I’ve seen so many gunmetal-ish shades already that this doesn’t excite me much. The only thing about this shade that stood out to me compared to other similar shades from Mattese Elite and other brands is that it is NOT prone to the dreaded brush strokes syndrome. All gunmetal shades I’ve tried exhibit the brush stroke syndrome except for this one. The finish leans more towards a shimmer than frost for sure. Another added bonus? This is very opaque and is a one coater. Shown is one coat with no top coat.

Mattese Elite Dead Punk Rocker (in shade)

Mattese Elite Dead Punk Rocker (direct sunlight)

Mattese Elite Dead Punk Rocker (close-up)

Mattese Elite Dead Punk Rocker (lighting changed)

Here’s my least favorite among all 6, Decaying Green.

Mattese Elite Decaying Green

Words cannot express how much I detest this shade, which is a very good thing when you’re looking at a Halloween collection. When I picture a shade called Decaying Green, it looks nothing like this. I pictured it darker, like what you may find with rotten meat. This creme went on smoothly and dries pretty fast. Shown is 2 thin coats with no top coat.

Mattese Elite Decaying Green (in shade)

Mattese Elite Decaying Green (direct sunlight)

Mattese Elite Decaying Green (close-up)

Next up is Living Dead.

Mattese Elite Living Dead

My camera is playing tricks on me with this shade when not under direct sunlight. It looks more blue in the pictures, but the shade looks most accurate in the direct sunlight shot. This one is a better looking green creme compared to Decaying Green. It glided on smoothly and gave me no problems during application. Shown is 2 thin coats with no top coat.

Mattese Elite Living Dead (in shade)

Mattese Elite Living Dead (direct sunlight)

Mattese Elite Living Dead (close-up)

Next is a sheer one called Zombie Survival.

Mattese Elite Zombie Survival

How this shade fits into the collection? I’m not sure. The only thing this makes me think of in relation to Halloween or horror movies is that the female star sometimes sport sheer clothing as part of the sexy aspect in the movie. *shrug* And when I say sheer, I am not kidding. I think you might still see the nail line with 4 coats of this. I didn’t even bother trying to see if it would show or not and settled for my usual number of coats. It’s a pretty sheer pink still and I’d pair it with a glitter top coat over it. Shown is 2 thin coats with no top coat.

Mattese Elite Zombie Survival (in shade)

Mattese Elite Zombie Survival (direct sunlight)

Mattese Elite Zombie Survival (close-up)

The final shade is called Walking Dead.

Mattese Elite Walking Dead

Eyeballs, ghosts, marshmallows, and the good ‘ol moon are only some of the items associated with Halloween that are white. It is fitting that there is a white shade in this collection for Halloween. Walking Dead is a beautiful white shade that is both fortunately and unfortunately a frost. We all know how hard frosts can be to apply. But can you believe that the first type of finish that got me interested in nail polish when I was young is the much hated frost? I think frosts look so pretty when applied beautifully. Unfortunately, I have trouble with them most of the time. This one’s no exception. It didn’t turn out as bad as it could’ve been. Shown is 2 thin coats with no top coat.

Mattese Elite Walking Dead (in shade)

Mattese Elite Walking Dead (direct sunlight)

Mattese Elite Walking Dead (close-up)

Overall, it’s an okay collection. Most of these shades aren’t anything special and Mattese Elite could’ve condensed it into a smaller collection (4 shades only perhaps since there are 2 greens and 2 pinks, they could’ve done a red or black even?!). Also, I was really hoping for a collection of glow in the darks from them! I know that other nail polish companies probably came out with some glow in the darks, but only one shade! Mattese Elite could’ve done a collection of 6 glow in the darks instead. Maybe next year? 😉

You can score any of these beauties directly on their webpage or if you live in the wonderful state of New York, you can stop by at any Ricky’s NYC store locations (see here) and see this and other shades for yourself before you buy. Mattese Elite shades retails for $5.99 each before tax.

*Products in this review have been provided by the PR company or manufacturer for an honest opinion.*

7 responses

  1. I feel like those are more spring colors than they are zombie, or Halloween colors. Boo.

    October 30, 2011 at 5:15 PM

    • Glow in the dark would’ve been good. But no red (blood) or black (Halloween, duh!)….like what gives?!

      October 30, 2011 at 5:44 PM

  2. This collection confuses me–feels like they just slapped some horror-ish names on a random collection. I have colors like these in my stash and none of them really say horror or Halloween to me.

    November 1, 2011 at 10:23 AM

  3. Yeah… I don’t think the colors are unique or Halloween-ish. But the names are hilarious. 😀

    November 2, 2011 at 2:22 PM

  4. Mattese Elite Living Dead is my color!!!

    November 2, 2011 at 5:13 PM

Leave a Reply

