things that Kitty likes

Finger Paints Fall Fashionista Swatches

Hey guys! How was your weekend? Mine was filled with just some much-needed R&R. I kicked back and played a lot of Minecraft. Minecraft FTW! I am seriously addicted to that game. I’m a farmer who mines there. I love making those cute cakes. 🙂 I also swatched a little bit and here are the shades I managed to swatch from Finger Paints’ Fall Fashionista Collection. I posted the press release for this a while back.

First up is Stunning Stilettos.

Finger Paints Stunning Stilettos

Not bad. A very nice color for Fall. Definitely can’t go wrong with a grey creme. This one applied on so smoothly. It’s pretty opaque, but definitely not a one coater. Shown is 2 thin coats with no top coat.

Finger Paints Stunning Stilettos (in shade)

Finger Paints Stunning Stilettos (direct sunlight)

Finger Paints Stunning Stilettos (close-up)

Next, the orange in the bunch called Cordur-Orange.

Finger Paints Cordur-Orange

Very bright, very nice. One of my favorites in the entire collection. It’s perfect for Fall and for Halloween! This one’s a one coater for me. Very pigmented and applied beautifully. Shown is one coat with no top coat.

Finger Paints Cordur-Orange (in shade)

Finger Paints Cordur-Orange (direct sunlight)

Finger Paints Cordur-Orange (close-up)

The crowd favorite is next, Military Green.

Finger Paints Military Green

I don’t have much to say about this shade really. It’s a nice shade of green and one that I don’t have anything close to it at all in my stash. Shown is 2 thin coats with no top coat.

Finger Paints Military Green (in shade)

Finger Paints Military Green (direct sunlight)

Finger Paints Military Green (close-up)

The one that’s been creating some buzz in this collection as well is Vintage Velvet.

Finger Paints Vintage Velvet

I don’t really care for this shade on me, but it doesn’t look horrible on me. I think it would look better on others though. Blue green cremes are generally not my thing. It’s pretty, but not a unique color compared to others in the same collection. One notable thing is that it’s very pigmented and only required one coat for me. Shown is one coat with no top coat.

Finger Paints Vintage Velvet (in shade)

Finger Paints Vintage Velvet (direct sunlight)

Finger Paints Vintage Velvet (close-up)

My favorite of the bunch, here’s Raspberry Tafetta.

Finger Paints Raspberry Tafetta

This is a beautiful berry shade. Perfect for Fall definitely. Not as pigmented as the rest. I tried applying one thicker coat and no bueno. This one is slightly more watery than most of the shades in this collection. Shown is 2 thin coats with no top coat.

Finger Paints Raspberry Tafetta (in shade)

Finger Paints Raspberry Tafetta (direct sunlight)

Finger Paints Raspberry Tafetta (close-up)

Here’s one that I simply can’t get myself to like at all still, Catwalk Queen.

Finger Paints Catwalk Queen

Muted yellow. Personally? Ick. I know for a fact that I will be frankening with this later on. Bright yellows, I can deal with still. Dusty ones? Won’t work on me. Shown is 2 thin coats with no top coat.

Finger Paints Catwalk Queen (in shade)

Finger Paints Catwalk Queen (direct sunlight)

Finger Paints Catwalk Queen (close-up)

Next up is To-Teally Chic.

Finger Paints To-Teally Chic

Okay, I definitely love this teal shade. But this doesn’t really look like the shade in the press release pictures, which I am slightly bummed. It must be the lighting, but I really loved the brighter teal isntead. This one is very pigmented as well and applied like a dream. Shown is one coat with no top coat.

Finger Paints To-Teally Chic (in shade)

Finger Paints To-Teally Chic (direct sunlight)

Finger Paints To-Teally Chic (close-up)

Can’t walk about fashion without the taupe. Here’s Haute Taupe.

Finger Paints Haute Taupe

I don’t like browns really, so I’m biased with this shade. With that said, I can’t complain about anything about it other than that really. It applied nicely and dries at a decent amoutn of time. Shown is 2 thin coats with no top coat.

Finger Paints Haute Taupe (in shade)

Finger Paints Haute Taupe (direct sunlight)

Finger Paints Haute Taupe (close-up)

It can’t be quite the Fall Collection without a purple, right? Here’s Purple Pinstripe.

Finger Paints Purple Pinstripe

I also liked this shade more based on the press release, but the difference is less noticeable than To-Teally Chic’s case. This one is thinner than other shades, so being a one coater is pretty much out of the question. Shown is 2 thin coats with no top coat.

Finger Paints Purple Pinstripe (in shade)

Finger Paints Purple Pinstripe (direct sunlight)

Finger Paints Purple Pinstripe (close-up)

Finger Paints Purple Pinstripe (lighting changed)

Overall? Well-rounded. These muted colors suit Fall very well. There are a good number of one coaters in this collection, which I am very impressed with, and the formula is pretty consistent for all the shades. They all applied really well and dried in a reasonable amount of time for creme shades.

These shades are available in Sally Beauty Supply stores and online for $4.99 each. Watch out for some sales that they occasionally have for Finger Paints and you can really score!

*Products in this review have been provided by the PR company or manufacturer for an honest opinion.*

5 responses

  1. Pingback: Finger Paints Fall Fashionista Collection « kittypolishnbags

  2. beachgal

    One coat! That’s really amazing for the price point these sell at. I am impressed just at that. You are right about them being muted a tish. Yet they are all pretty basic shades I have in more bright hues. If I did not have so many bottles and a problem of where to put them now, these all would be good ones to pick up for adding to someone’s stash to broaden out foundation shades.

    October 24, 2011 at 3:36 PM

    • The one coaters are nice. The ones that need 2 coats a bit more watery, but I have had no problems with them even so. If you’re itching to get any, the one coater ones are the way to go.

      October 24, 2011 at 4:37 PM

  3. I’m so meh about these. I feel like there’s really nothing outstanding or special. Pretty colors, but also pretty basic.

    October 25, 2011 at 11:12 AM

    • Yup, I agree. I liked a few but nothing really stood out for me. The only saving grace for the ones I liked was the formula. Can’t complain being a one coater for those!

      October 25, 2011 at 11:42 AM

Leave a Reply

