things that Kitty likes

OPI DS Bold

Hey guys! Today I have one of the 2 latest OPI DS shades to show y’all. It is very unfortunate that the other shade met its fate as it slipped through my fingers when I slightly tripped. 😦 R.I.P. OPI DS Temptation, which I also liked much better between the 2. But still, not all is lost. Here is OPI DS Bold.

OPI DS Bold

All I have to say is that I really liked the earlier DS shades more. The later ones are mostly just glitter and this is no exception. DS Bold is made up of silver glitter in a dark reddish pink jelly base. I don’t have anything like it in my stash, but at the same time it’s not impressing me that much in terms of creativity. Like I said, the other DS shade is much prettier. It went on smoothly onto my nails and dries fast. Shown is 2 thin coats with no top coat.

OPI DS Bold (in shade)

OPI DS Bold (direct sunlight)

OPI DS Bold (close-up)

Sorry for the slight yellow-ish hue around my cuticle area. I was swatching other shades earlier and one of them stained pretty good. Back to the shade, don’t get me wrong, it’s pretty nice. But it’s no stunner like some other OPI DS shades such as DS Sapphire. Ah, those are the good ‘ol days.

These shades should be available beginning September 2011 at Professional Salons, including Beauty Brands, Beauty First, Chatters, Dillard’s, JCPenney, Pure Beauty, Regis, Trade Secret, and ULTA, for $12.50 ($15.95 CAN) suggested retail for each color.

*Products in this review have been provided by the PR company or manufacturer for an honest opinion.*

6 responses

  1. beachgal12

    Agree with you…I liked the older DS’s. These new ones are just more glitter polishes and not at all what we came to know for the DS collection – esp when they first did them with diamond dust. I bought this one only on a color chip – picked this over the blue. Now really sorry I have it – only used it on a dot on a piece of paper as I don’t even want to think of putting all that rough stuff on my nails then trying to get it off! It’s going into my to be traded pile.

    October 19, 2011 at 2:26 AM

  2. Aw, too bad about Temptation. Bold is lovely and a dupe to Mrs. Claus.

    October 19, 2011 at 4:59 AM

  3. which one is this????? http://waitingonthememories.tumblr.com/post/15095346463

    January 1, 2012 at 9:18 PM

    • That’s definitely not OPI DS Bold. I *think* that’s DS original.

      January 4, 2012 at 7:44 PM

Leave a Reply

